Testa_ross4 Clutched September 23, 2008 Share September 23, 2008 Dunno don't anyhow say. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Julio369 Neutral Newbie September 23, 2008 Share September 23, 2008 AH Huat is the man! He will show you where is the fault, demo in front of you ...not pour water on compressor hor. He will troubleshoot & quote, let you decide if you want to do it or not, no obligaion. somemore i think they give 3 month warranty for repair job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 23, 2008 Share September 23, 2008 Yes. That is why I like him. He explain to you the problem clearly. He even give u alternatives according to your budget if possible. He wil give u an estimated price to repair & after job complete, his estimate is very close. NO BULL5HIT GUY. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limitedspeed Neutral Newbie September 23, 2008 Share September 23, 2008 Actually, based on the age of your vehicle and the problem that you are currently encountering, you should be doing an aircon overhaul. Well, some mechanics are very smart caused when they sensed that a customer is budget conscious, they tend to trouble shoot for them on a piece-meal basis i.e. to find something wrong & immediately pinpoint it to that item hence you may have to go thru' many processes with them and several visits too! If you had kept faith with the mechanic, you will find in time you would have gone thru' an aircon overhaul with him at a much longer time & thru' many visits. Or, in the process of going thru' several mechanics to do an aircon overhaul any which way too. Well, the choice is yours to choose how you wish to spend your money Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doosan 1st Gear September 23, 2008 Share September 23, 2008 yar bro,its not so simple. since they claimed cud not find old gas,hv recommended 4u 2change fr old gas r12 to new gas r127a,n tis cud prove disastrous 2ur aircon system cos ur ride is coe extnd. more than 95% of automobile aircon compressors are of rotary compressors,high % of parts r assembled by machineries. oilseals/oil rings r extensively/vastly used to prevent gas leaking in compressors n systems. oilseals/rings r applied in along connectors in condenser/gas filter drier/expansion valve/scirosco fan 2blow cool air fr evaporator to passengers inside cabin. if u changed fr old gas r12 to r127a then u hv to change ALL the rubber seals/rings to special type to suit the new gas r127a,or else r127a shall leaks slowly/quietly via old seals/rings. U need special oilselas/rings for new gas r127a.further more,r127a is very2 sensitive to temp changes. U also got 2get CORRECT volume of r127a 2b charged into system. U also got 2change fan infront of condenser 2atleast 5O% more fan blades compare 2current fan 4cooling purposes. remember,the BEST current flushing system cud perform up to65%-7O%,n old gas is infinitive(ark kah liew)wit mineral base oil for the compressor. whereas new gas is infinitive wit syntechtic base oil,tis is yet another problem u may face. rather to spend time n $ trying errors jz visit tat bro in wdland 4 a chk-up n repair. whereas i go to jb,top-up tank,repair aircond in a shop tat been serviced me 4the last 1.5decades wit reasonable price.but quality of work is chantek2,tis r points i learn fr him through the yrs ha........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged September 23, 2008 Share September 23, 2008 Any green liquid leaking from below the car? Just had mine repaired. Found a very small puddle under the car and aircon wasn't cold even at minimum setting . Turned out something called the high-pressure return pipe (reinforced rubber hose with aluminium fittings at both ends) was leaking. The refrigerant itself is colourless but a green dye is added to it to make detection easier. The dye responds to UV light so if you have a UV touch, shine away and se if anything glows. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magiclamp Neutral Newbie September 23, 2008 Author Share September 23, 2008 Yes, I agree on that. But swee swee for 5 years... Lets hope so lah well, spend $200 have doubts, spend $300 to new gas, hopefully include everything i've stated. change filter, change expansiion valve, empty, vacuum and recharge line. it will b swee swee for at least 5 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magiclamp Neutral Newbie September 23, 2008 Author Share September 23, 2008 Can I do those test/checks myself? I guess I should visit Ah Huat soon. Just very busy lately, so no time to drop by yet... What you can do: Check if your aircon piping is leaking Check if your aircon compressor is working properly - the pressure test when your car is running and aircon is working and compressor has kicked in Check if your cooling coil is leaking Check if your condensor is leaking Check if your aircon valve is working - whether or not its blocked/choked Not sure if the dryer can be checked A reputable aircon shop to send your car to would be M@rkcool @ woodlands. p.s. I used to drive a toyota corolla 1.3xli EE101. And i had aircon problems too for the 4years i had the car. Almost every year. and always during chinese new year when I most needed the aircon I couldn't blame M@rkcool for the re-occuring problems i had because back then i was on a budget and i replaced the aircon system parts, part by part. And also, i used reconditioned parts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magiclamp Neutral Newbie September 23, 2008 Author Share September 23, 2008 Will do that soon Ah so u already know Markcool/Ah Huat. He used to do my COE Corona & the AC was never a problem to me. Cost was always reasonable & work done was always good. So just go & see him lah. Maybe u can consider topping-up your gas in JB. They still have it there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 23, 2008 Share September 23, 2008 no worries, 5 yr sud b abt rite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magiclamp Neutral Newbie September 23, 2008 Author Share September 23, 2008 So far no leak leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magiclamp Neutral Newbie September 23, 2008 Author Share September 23, 2008 Does Ah Huat or his people work on Sunday? Maybe the earliest I can go down is this Saturday. Yes. That is why I like him. He explain to you the problem clearly. He even give u alternatives according to your budget if possible. He wil give u an estimated price to repair & after job complete, his estimate is very close. NO BULL5HIT GUY. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 25, 2008 Share September 25, 2008 No. They close on Sun. Call them & check. Sat they work but I think it's not a full day for them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear September 25, 2008 Share September 25, 2008 sounds to me like it is still leaking gas. else the level shouldnt drop. anyway is ur compressor still kicking when turn on? As recommended, visit ah huat at markcool. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magiclamp Neutral Newbie September 26, 2008 Author Share September 26, 2008 Went to visit Ah Huat just now. As usual, a nice guy. He did a quick diagnose and sum up the following: Compressor weak Condensor leaking Some other pipe or valve also leaking Fan coil ok Was quoted $455 for a change of the whole system, including labour (except fan coil), provided if he can find the condensor, if not will be anothe 100 plus more.... Wow, real big time for me... So now my pocket going to burnt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear September 26, 2008 Share September 26, 2008 A/C damage is more expensive than any other component damage. Cost of keeping human driver and passengers happy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 26, 2008 Share September 26, 2008 as suspected... tat's why i say $300 no nid consider, go immediately. nvm.. try to contact this shop precision air-conditioning at leber 1 sing min autocare, see if they can do a swap with recon unit and make sure he also do full cleaning of condenser, replace filter, expansion valve recharge gas. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magiclamp Neutral Newbie September 26, 2008 Author Share September 26, 2008 Too late, I have already asked Ah Huat to do the job. Thanks bro. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...