PSB Vs MDIS

Typhoonz

nod.gif...and we actualli cover more modules at PSB then MDIS sweatdrop.gif

that is for my course i mean tongue.gif....

but at a price sweatdrop.gif..which some agree might be worth it sweatdrop.giftongue.gif

Dun give up! Complete the course! [thumbsup]

My friend took almost 3 years to complete the PSB dip, I am glad she din give up half way else all the money and efforts have gone down the drain.. [sweatdrop]

I'm thinking about taking up a Diploma in InfoComm Technology but divided between the 2 institutions. Anyone has taken up a course or currently studying there please offer your advise.

Kam siah lipsrsealed.gif...

Thank you...

MDIS has offer to students of Millennia Insitute in part-time Diploma Courses and should be reconised by the Gov. If not the school would not allow them to come in and conduct such diploma courses.

My daughter currently studying at MI but she choose Newcastle Uni part-time course instead in Hotel Management....... sly.gifsly.gif

wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif

next time she work in hotel we OT gang got special discount bo?sly.gif

I was reading through the MDIS webby and conclude that they are like what you said commercialised and they have quite a large number of foreign students as compared to PSB...

The course duration for both institution also differs... MDIS is 1 year and PSB is 18 months...

Curriculum wise both are about the same...

1 yr or 18 months, onle diff 6 months, maybe the same but teaching and hours are different, doesn;t matter actually...18 months may be a little longer, but you may get a clearer picture than the 1 yr course.

if you can follow up fast and hard work, then go for the shorter duration one.

Good Luck! [thumbsup]

I'm thinking about taking up a Diploma in InfoComm Technology but divided between the 2 institutions. Anyone has taken up a course or currently studying there please offer your advise.

Thank you...

MDIS has offer to students of Millennia Insitute in part-time Diploma Courses and should be reconised by the Gov. If not the school would not allow them to come in and conduct such diploma courses.

My daughter currently studying at MI but she choose Newcastle Uni part-time course instead in Hotel Management....... [sly][sly]

[;)][;)][;)]

kids toa liao.... for me, as long as they feel what best for them, the parents can only support as much as possible...

Edited by Wish1719

[reply]

I am indeed keen if u can provide me with the names of your friends and also the ministry that they belong too. Case in point is my wife. She is with MOE. Nope, they do not recognize the Bradford degree. It has been a good 6 years of slogging with Diploma payscale. Hope u can furnish me with the data. I will be taking this up with the relevant authorities again.

[reply]

See this:

http://www.psd.gov.sg/AboutUs/Faqs/#04 [/size]

[/url]4. How can I find out if my degree is recognised by the Singapore Civil Service?

The Civil Service recruits people based on the principles of meritocracy, impartiality and incorruptibility. We do this through open competition, regardless of race, religion, age, and gender. With these principles, each Ministry decides on its criteria for recruitment based on the organisation's needs. The hiring department looks at more than the academic qualifications. Other important considerations include relevant experience, past track record and personal qualities such as leadership. The candidate with the best overall fit to the requirements of the job and the culture of the organisation will be appointed.

Generally, a degree is recognised if the institution or university is accredited by the government of the country where it is located. This applies to degrees obtained via full-time or part-time studies as well as distance learning or twinning programmes. For professional qualifications such as law, accountancy and engineering, the foreign degrees must also be recognised by the relevant professional bodies in Singapore.

Students should check a university's accreditation status if they wish to join the Civil Service upon graduation. They can check the status in guidebooks such as the Commonwealth Universities Yearbook. The universities and professional bodies will also be able to advise on the status. A list of guidebooks, education centres and professional bodies is available at http://www.vog.gov.sg/data/StaticContent/WhatYouShouldKnow-accreditation.htm "

I cannot remember if Bradford is the list of Commonwealth Universities. You need to check it out. Another thing is, recognition is one thing and acceptance is another. 1 ministry may accept a candidate with external learning degree but another may not. It also depends on the post applied.

As for recognition of the degree within one's own organisation, the following is based on my own knowledge:

a. If the GPA meets the ministry's requirement (means if the results are good).

b. If the person is performing up to the required standard (potential and performance grading)

c. Interview? (for conversion to another scheme)

There may be other requirement(s).

Your wife can try to find out the reason why she was rejected but it depends if the ministry is allowed/wants to tell the reason.

BTW, my UOL external degree which was done with SIM is recognised and accepted by my previous ministry.

Good luck.

i'm saying tat the management is equally as f***-up as unisim's... i nv say they are the same...almost most of the students currently in unisim regret joining in the 1st place... they r driving a bit more for me to reach a limit of petitions and shoot straight up to MOE...

UniSIM also jialat meh???

me hittin the books next Jan after a 12 years gap.... will be going to UniSIM worsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

anyway, the 40% subsidy by Govt for the 4 Unis (NTU/NUS/SMU/SIM) is wat prompt me to go back for studies.cool.gif

Thank you...

My daughter currently studying at MI but she choose Newcastle Uni part-time course instead in Hotel Management....... sly.gifsly.gif

wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif

next time she work in hotel we OT gang got special discount bo?sly.gif

No problem..... which country one u want ...... [sly][sly] , I reserve for you.....

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

12 year gap? Just curious wat course you'll be taking at UniSIM... Well, let us know your experience there. [sly]

Edited by Sosaria