Talk about aircon

Turbonetics

hi,iam looking for aircon for my house and need to know more about it.

we all know that the inverter aircon can help to save our electricity bill,but is it really efficient?

i asked around and was told that if i only use the aircon at night for sleeping,inverter is not really necessary as it does not saves alot of electricity.

i was told it is only efficient if i ON it for more than 12 hours.

any expert can help me?

the price difference between inverter and non-inverter is about $1k.

should i save up the $1k?

thanks.

smile.gif

invertor is for people who use the air con more intensively.

However, you must also take note that invertor can reach higher BTU than non-invertor.

If you intend to air con you whole house. You might want to get invertor air-con.

Also look at the efficiency rating. The more ticks, the better it is.

I suggest mitsubishi electric, toshiba or daikin air con. Just bought a toshiba non-invertor system 2. Found it to be good.

Heard also that invertor air con need regular servicing if not its efficiency will fall at a much faster speed than non-invertor air con.

Edited by Detion

Right from the horses mouth ( boss of a aircon biz). Inverter only works and saves more for office or places that on the aircon non-stop. HDB houses, not so.....more like marketing gimmicks he said.

Well, i trust him.

[:)]

The 1K can be easily save back from your utilities bills.

I was using those old aircon (bought brand new in 96) and used for 10yrs...

Switch to the new inverter aircon and my monthly bills (electric/water/gas) is down by almost 50% !! Not much diff in lifestyle usage. Aircon 5 room flat. Every night the aircon is switch on for 2 rooms from 10pm to morning 8am. Hall and study room seldom use...on average twice a month for the whole afternoon usually from 11am till 9pm.

IMHO....get the inverter.

Use non stop then got save? wat if use for quite some hours in a day but is those start stop start stop type of usage? say from 2pm-5pm then stop. on from 7-9pm again...then finally from 11pm til next day 10am...will it help to save significantly?

it actually depends on usage. i have a friend who is heavy duty user, she on her aircon practically overnight, everyday. Her bills less than mine [:/] while i only only like 2-3 times a week, only till 3-4am. Hers a inverter while mine is a normal type.

no need inverter..unless u on all ur all ur aircon everyday one..

inverter work in constant increasing load when the compressor kick in to full load

normal aircon work in full load when compressor kick in and gradual decline back

so if u use normal aircon temperature set at 24-25 which also "standard temperature" for office,compressor wont kick in as much as u set at 18-20 which our local temperature quite hard to acheive at home and maintain constantly througout

the keypoint is dont let ur compressor always load in can liao...

as recommendation,dun buy the elites brand also...alot problem i encountered in these 2 brands...sensor spoil la,compressor spoil la,blower spoil la when 1st came.Quality is not there anymore...production shifted to other countries

Edited by Freestylers09

Diff between inverter & non-inverter:

Inverter system: The compressor's rpm will speed up or slow down according to temperature. Once the room has reached desired temp. compressor's rpm will run at constant speed.

Non-inverter system: The compressor run at full speed when switched on, when reached desired temp. compressor will stop. Temp. goes up, compressor on. In other words it goes on and off. Like car in city driving, consumes energy.

So in car terms [laugh] , inverter is like highway driving, non-inverter is like city driving. Easy to understand.

Inverter temp control very stable. Temp range very tight. non inverter big range between cold and hot.

Inverter is quieter, dun have kick in kick out sound.

Inverter main benefit is a variable compressor speed. If room is cold enough, compressor simply slows down, and if need more cooling will speed up. Thus no starting current spike issue, which is the main source of high energy consumption.

Non inverter is either full on or full off. when not cold, will on full blast, and when too cold will shut down. Incur high starting current.

Inverter benefits is under partial load. If set at 18deg, both technology.. will be blasting full power, so no saving either way. But under partial load.. like using 1 unit only of a system 3, then.. the kick in kick out scenario will take place and savings achieved.

Inverter has lower power requirement, and the BTU per watt is higher. so for flats with power limitation, inverter is best.. can give more bang from the limited power supply.

If we are talking about a single split unit to one compressor, the difference in energy saving is insignificant whether it's inverter or not.

If we are talking about a multiple(let's say 3way) split units to one compressor, the difference in energy saving is no doubt better if it's a inverter system.

If u have 2~3 rooms running a/c at night, I think the inverter system will be more ideal.

it actually depends on usage. i have a friend who is heavy duty user, she on her aircon practically overnight, everyday. Her bills less than mine unsure.gif while i only only like 2-3 times a week, only till 3-4am. Hers a inverter while mine is a normal type.

maybe she use other electrical stuffs lesser than you?

no need inverter..unless u on all ur all ur aircon everyday one..

inverter work in constant increasing load when the compressor kick in to full load

normal aircon work in full load when compressor kick in and gradual decline back

so if u use normal aircon temperature set at 24-25 which also "standard temperature" for office,compressor wont kick in as much as u set at 18-20 which our local temperature quite hard to acheive at home and maintain constantly througout

the keypoint is dont let ur compressor always load in can liao...

as recommendation,dun buy the elites brand also...alot problem i encountered in these 2 brands...sensor spoil la,compressor spoil la,blower spoil la when 1st came.Quality is not there anymore...production shifted to other countries

If only on 1 aircon in the house everyday for abt 10-11 hours and another 1 aircon for a few hours not everyday but once every 2-3 days, do you think the inverter will help? thanks [;)]

I would prefer Mitsubishi...think its more realiable...

Side track abit...if not necessary to have aircon, fan will do as it will save u more $$$