Axela72 5th Gear October 14, 2008 Author Share October 14, 2008 (edited) seem like there are 2 schools of thought. There is 1 time where my car is due for servicing (6 mth), but my mileage is only 8k. The authorised workshop tell me that i can wait until 10k for another 1 to 2 mths then servicing. Not concerns with them. However, due to my present low usage, office bond now, my previous usage has been reduced by more than 50%. So 1 to 2 mths late for servicing is Ok but not sure additional 6 mths late for servi9cing can be still acceptable. Edited October 14, 2008 by Axela72 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear October 14, 2008 Share October 14, 2008 read the qualification properly: 10k or 6mths WHICHEVER COMES FIRST. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken_leong 2nd Gear October 14, 2008 Share October 14, 2008 Better not lah. Can't save money where engine is concerned. I having same situation as you. Car 1 year 2 months liao and now 12k+ mileage and my 10k service was done in July/August. Don't think I will wait till I hit 20km then service. I will send it for servicing in Dec/Jan. Some money can't save one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear October 14, 2008 Share October 14, 2008 then I must change my car as well, coz I lose to a malaysian tour bus on the expressway back in 90's, I still strong headed mah I almost change into a Lancia Delta HF turbo back but find that the rear seat is a smaller than the Alfa 33. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear October 14, 2008 Share October 14, 2008 Bro, if you wait for your mileage to hit 10K then it would once an oil change for every year 1 year 1 oil change is too long liao IMHO once a year is ok if you are using Fully Syn oil I remember back in 92', I use M1 fully syn for a full 2yr on my previous Alfa 33 1.7QV and clock 24k km =========================== Ever since I started using synthetic oils(almost 15 years already), I followed the 10K km or 1 year service schedule. So far I have no problems with premature wear to moving parts. For timing belt, I just follow the mileage recommendation as mostly never notice any time frame for timing-belt. same here, ever since my 1st car in 89', I used Mobil 1 because it can last 10k km but now Mobil 1 prices are too ex liao, that's why switch to the cheapest fully syn I can find Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 14, 2008 Share October 14, 2008 (edited) Ever since I started using synthetic oils(almost 15 years already), I followed the 10K km or 1 year service schedule. So far I have no problems with premature wear to moving parts. For timing belt, I just follow the mileage recommendation as mostly never notice any time frame for timing-belt. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- same here, ever since my 1st car in 89', I used Mobil 1 because it can last 10k km but now Mobil 1 prices are too ex liao, that's why switch to the cheapest fully syn I can find ====================== If I remember correctly, I started with Castrol Syntron. Did Mobil 1 come out b4 Syntron? Later I switched to Mobil 1. Then I switched to RP when they started to market here. I'm still using RP but am thinking of switching cos their prices keep going up. I tried C Lube 40 weight synthetic once & might consider going for it cos of the price. Maybe do the OC every 5K km even. Which is e "cheapest fully syn" u using? Edited October 14, 2008 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear October 14, 2008 Share October 14, 2008 so u move from hot head to no hair on the head now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear October 14, 2008 Share October 14, 2008 if only we can find Mobil 1 extended life.. can go up to 15k.. but if too many start stop, it's better to go back to 10k.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear October 14, 2008 Share October 14, 2008 Posted that its 10k km or 6 months....whichever comes first. It means that you hit 10k km first, you service OR you hit 6 months without reaching 10k km you also service. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear October 14, 2008 Share October 14, 2008 Well if the authorised workshop is willing to back it up with warranty....then listen to them lor. The purpose of the engine oil is to lubricate and clean and acts as a medium to carry the containments away from the engine. There is no harm in stretching the servicing schedule a bit but if you are on such a low cycle....I would change the oil for a peace of mind....you ain't gonna save much money by stretching that little bit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 ====================== If I remember correctly, I started with Castrol Syntron. Did Mobil 1 come out b4 Syntron? Later I switched to Mobil 1. Then I switched to RP when they started to market here. I'm still using RP but am thinking of switching cos their prices keep going up. I tried C Lube 40 weight synthetic once & might consider going for it cos of the price. Maybe do the OC every 5K km even. Which is e "cheapest fully syn" u using? I not too sure about Castrol Syntron but I remember Mobil 1 is alreadty available by the time I started to owned my 1st car in 89'. I now uses C Lube Fully Syn 5w-30 Longlife, have done 13k km on my 1st try on this oil, now will be trying for 15k km Bought 3 bottles during offer in NTUC AMK Hub Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 you got it right man, all my hair got "burned" out during those "hot headed" time lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 This is my 2nd time on C lube 5w-30 fully syn longlife (bought during promo period), the 1st time I change at 13k km, this time will go for 15k km Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 eh.. C lube is castrol or soemthing else? where u buy har? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 not Castrol but the "famous" C*rlube lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan96935sg Neutral Newbie October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 (edited) Car *lube i think Edited October 15, 2008 by Ivan96935sg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear October 16, 2008 Share October 16, 2008 oh... okie okie.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear October 16, 2008 Share October 16, 2008 ok.. noted.. very the obvious already ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...