Familymanz 3rd Gear December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 2 is more than enough.... thought the nite market @ Brinchang is a plus.... I would go on a weekday instead for my next trip. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenneve888 4th Gear December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 Yep.. was at Strawberry Park in Mar this year. Stayed at the 3bedrm apt. I doubt I will stay there again for the following reasons. due to raining season, tons of clouds. when wake up, whole apt was wet from dew. Imagine.. timber floor wake up is soaked, and whole day is perpetually damp, like after wet mop. This also means towels do not dry even after 1 day! Apt fittings is like those in the 70s, and no reno since. Wood framed windows that dun shut tight. Is so ulu on top of a mountain, unless drive down, got nothing much to see and do. So far been to Equatorial and Strawberry Park, both no aircon. Really need the AC to bring down the humidity. Went there and stayed at the 3-rm apartment 3 years back. Booked for 3 days, after 1 day quickly packed up and cheong to KL instead. Strawberry Aprt cannot make it - moldy smell throughout. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twnll 1st Gear December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 Strawberry Park had its day when there are not too many hotels in Cameron. Its my favourite destination for a short break. Just the place to relax and unwind, not a place for happenings. The place is too big to hike better to drive around. Take the new route off Ipoh rather than the old road. Safer I think. Equatorial restaurants are expensive, better to drive down to town and eat there. Many new outlets. There is one at Brinchang serving strawberry everything - cakes, ice creams, etc.. can't remember the name of the place but got big signage outside police station. We had an enjoyable lunch there. Best place we stayed so far is Casa de la Rosa. Good for family. I think we paid 400+Rm for a family room. I was told off season as low as 260RM which is quite a bargain for a family room. Bed are good and the place dun have damp feeling especially the last trip about 3 weeks back was raining everyday! Not a very big hotel though. Lately seems like Cameron not very popular destination as it is quite eays to get a room. Maybe many hotels compare to the past. Still we enjoyed the trip. No money for Japan or Korea lah, so Cameron like going to plac with winter! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic December 21, 2008 Share December 21, 2008 We just got back from Cameron Highlands. Stayed 3 nights at Century Pines as we could not secure our preferred rooms at Casa La Rosa. Overall a relaxing trip as we refrained from visiting many of the places of interest. Our focus this time round was on the tea plantation, the drive up Gunung Brincang (fun but challenging drive due to the steep climb, narrow roads and heavy traffic but well worth the effort, a 4x4 would be nice), night market and the many makan sessions at T-cafe, Highlands Restaurant, etc. CH is a lot more crowded this year round with most of the strawberry farms reportedly out of strawberries for picking. Love the weather. Guess Equatorial is a lot more floggy and colder (right?) than Century Pines due to the latter location in Tanah Rata, which is in a valley-like location. Equatorial is build like Genting, taking on all the mountain winds, fogs and dews.... Guess that is why we found it to be less than "cozy" the last time round. CH is not for thrill-seekers but more for those looking for a place to relax and rot and do nothing. We enjoyed the trip more than the last time as we were not expecting to do much in the first place. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paithorn Clutched December 29, 2008 Share December 29, 2008 (edited) Thanks for the update... just wondering how you guys book the hotels? Since Casa La Rosa is good, I would like to book it for a trip during CNY for my family.... Edited December 29, 2008 by Paithorn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 29, 2008 Share December 29, 2008 The previous time i went in Dec last year. I booked my hotel only when i am there. alot of rooms available. about 25% cheaper than their online rate and 40% cheaper than tour. But for CNY, i don't know will have rooms anot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sir8 Neutral Newbie December 29, 2008 Share December 29, 2008 CNY time is the worst time to go. Be prepared for congestions. Thanks for the update... just wondering how you guys book the hotels? Since Casa La Rosa is good, I would like to book it for a trip during CNY for my family.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic December 29, 2008 Share December 29, 2008 Thanks for the update... just wondering how you guys book the hotels? Since Casa La Rosa is good, I would like to book it for a trip during CNY for my family.... Casa La Rosa is situated right by the main road linking Tanah Rata and Brincang. A golf view room is reportedly noisy at night, the garden view rooms are preferred. Due to the limited number of rooms, they are expensive, imo, and may be more difficult to book during the peak CNY period. You can try http://www.cuti.com.my. I tried calling them to book directly but pricing was not as competitive. If you are going in a big group, can consider renting a 3 bedroom apartment but most are rather run-down, so beware. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paithorn Clutched December 29, 2008 Share December 29, 2008 thanks so much for the quick replies!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zizou 2nd Gear December 31, 2008 Share December 31, 2008 Just got back from cameron highlands yesterday. Stayed at equitorial. (It was mentioned as one of the newer hotels but didn't seem like it. 5 star also more like 3 star though the buffet spread was super ). Went up by the new Pulai route which I highly recommend for safety and comfort rather than the old Tapah one although on a good day Tapah route saves you an hour. And when the sign says "KURANGKAN LAJU" you better reduce speed OR YOU DIE. Anyway the view was great but a big concern were the jams. Did any of you encounter it? The jams were at the peak of the mountain and were really really bad. Driving from equitorial to brinchang (a distance of 3km) took 2 HOURS!!! locals said it was due to the weekend markets, but the same route back from the markets at brinchang to equitorial took 1 and a half hours. My clutch must have overheated as engine juddered at 1st gear and smell of molten plastic/rubber filled the air. So do the needful before the climb and manual drivers practise using h-brake more often than half-clutch. Also, sad to see rubbish everywhere and all over the beautiful environment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Car_guru Neutral Newbie December 31, 2008 Share December 31, 2008 Went up to Cameron a few weeks ago. The jams at Cameron are quite bad, mainly 'cos the roads are narrow and many cars are parked along the road. Got stuck for a long time 'cos the big buses were finding it hard to navigate through the narrow streets. Best not to go during weekends. Other than that, it's quite a relaxing place to go, with the cool air a bonus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear December 31, 2008 Share December 31, 2008 the problem is always clustered around the boh tea farm area , damn korean and china tourists mostly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear January 11, 2009 Share January 11, 2009 Huh? I thought there are tea plantations in China already and they want to go Cameron to see tea plantations?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear January 11, 2009 Share January 11, 2009 the grass is greener on the other side china got man, but those chickens still come here for prey Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paithorn Clutched January 12, 2009 Share January 12, 2009 now i dunno where to head for during CNY liao....sigh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sir8 Neutral Newbie January 12, 2009 Share January 12, 2009 Go Thailand. now i dunno where to head for during CNY liao....sigh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...