Tiny_planet Neutral Newbie October 31, 2008 Share October 31, 2008 Yup. Retrenchment has already started in some industry. But most will not be affected until around 2nd quarter of '09. Today's "TODAY" newspaper reported that IM Flash, the JV between Intel and Micron has decided to retrench all their staffs, so 500 of them still undergoing training in Utah, US ... The production plant in Senoko still yet to complete in the construction ... and I guess M+W Zander will be having a hard time to claim the project cost. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear October 31, 2008 Share October 31, 2008 Two months ago I visited show rooms and they told me loan rate of 2.35-2.38% is ending soon and with effect from Sep, the rates will be around 2.6%. So it did not go up at all? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged October 31, 2008 Share October 31, 2008 (edited) Ford current rate 2.33, valid until today. Nov rate dunno yet, but should be higher. Volvo told me the same thing. Common sense (but nothing is beyond many imagination) should tell us that during a bad economy, bank will give out less loans, charge higher interest if they do give out loans and give low interest for deposit. But for now, I guess many do not know what to expect...cos this is not the usual crisis. Banks here should till be aggressive in giving offers....for the next 6mths if their offers (competitive interest rate for between 6-12mths) on FD can be used a a gauge. Edited October 31, 2008 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamstart 1st Gear October 31, 2008 Share October 31, 2008 Japanese Yen went up mar, so the price of the car also go up lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverjoe Neutral Newbie October 31, 2008 Share October 31, 2008 Went last week, SE told me same thing... best time! Text him today to confirm pricing but, no response... was it due to new interest rate or revise car price? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged October 31, 2008 Share October 31, 2008 (edited) Most SE will tell you its 'best' time week in, week out. Best is to do your homework and decide when is the best time to buy. I feel the 'best' time (for this year at least), for those who have to off load a used car, was between Jul-Sep. It was a time where car sales was bad, but the world economy was still 'booming'. So you will get cheaper new car (bargain hard) cos of poor sale, higher used car value (cos there is still demand foe export cars) and low interest rate. Since Oct, I feel it's the good time for 1st time car buyer or those not bother about used car value. Car prices are low, interest rate remain low, etc. But will there be a better time to buy car in the near future? Probably yes....but no one can be sure. Edited October 31, 2008 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eric76 1st Gear October 31, 2008 Share October 31, 2008 (edited) Yalor, few days ago when to KM. THe SE told me now is the "best" time to buy cos of low COE and incresing Jp Yen. Its not to best time for me yet. If we believe in all those saleman's talking, we end up like those Lenman Brother minibond holders, waiting for the mercy from the banks Edited October 31, 2008 by Eric76 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear October 31, 2008 Share October 31, 2008 Two months ago I visited show rooms and they told me loan rate of 2.35-2.38% is ending soon and with effect from Sep, the rates will be around 2.6%. So it did not go up at all? It went up, then no one want to buy car, so they LL down to 2.3x again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear October 31, 2008 Share October 31, 2008 Yup. Retrenchment has already started in some industry. But most will not be affected until around 2nd quarter of '09. Today's "TODAY" newspaper reported that IM Flash, the JV between Intel and Micron has decided to retrench all their staffs, so 500 of them still undergoing training in Utah, US ... The production plant in Senoko still yet to complete in the construction ... and I guess M+W Zander will be having a hard time to claim the project cost. Looks like Semicoductor is badly hit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear October 31, 2008 Share October 31, 2008 Marginal effect only...would have been offset by the drop in COE..furthermore, with the bad sentiments abt economy, the AD shld reduce their profit margin to attract interest..so all in all, even with Yen going up, jap car price shld stay around the same at this moment or even drop by 1-2K..in such times of bad economy, ADs shld be realistic enough not to expect the same kind of margin they made when times are good.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mojoe Neutral Newbie October 31, 2008 Share October 31, 2008 Audi SE called me to ask if Iam interested in the A4 following my previous test drive 2 months ago..I told her not time for me to change yet and also not sure if job will be secure at this moment and would like to see how it would be next yr...then the SE replied "do you seriously think economy is going to be better next yr?" even if economy is not going to be better next yr, why shld I jump in with a super big committment at this point? strange reasoning she's got.. I went to Audi on Sunday... the Audi SE didn't call yet leh.. only the Saab . I think she feels that I won't buy already... complain about no handbrake, complain about cannot do aftermarket ICE because of the MMI (very good already... Audi system... ) You should tell your SE if economy bad next year, you can buy cheaper repo cars or owner on urgent sale cars which they bought from her now mah... But I doubt so lah, looking at the profile of those who went to the showroom ... can test drive RS6 somemore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged October 31, 2008 Share October 31, 2008 Agree. I doubt the strong Yen would have much effect on the car prices here in the current sentiment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged October 31, 2008 Share October 31, 2008 Have Audi prices dropped much? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mojoe Neutral Newbie October 31, 2008 Share October 31, 2008 (edited) best quote I got was 125k for the A4 Attraction last Sunday... Don't know how it was priced when launched. Looking at their showroom traffic, I don't think they are bothered yet. The new A4, A5 and S5 seem to be selling well... just launched that moving HDB flat as well... and the new A6 and A3 should also be launching soon. Edited October 31, 2008 by Mojoe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged October 31, 2008 Share October 31, 2008 (edited) I was looking at the A3 a few months ago. I find their mark up rather high. But I like their built quality...feel really good just sitting in it. Edited October 31, 2008 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mojoe Neutral Newbie October 31, 2008 Share October 31, 2008 (edited) yup markup high... went for test drive for fun since I asked for the brochure and they called me to try. I rather consider a 2nd hand one since there are quite a few in Sgcarmart. A few A3 Sportback in Sgcarmart as well... Looks good but I think the space is too small for me. Edited October 31, 2008 by Mojoe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged October 31, 2008 Share October 31, 2008 there is no best time. the best time for SE is always NOW/TODAY. they instill fear and strike your kiasu nature to sign the deal!! frankly, will SE ever tell you "dun buy now, next week COE will drop"?? SE always say things to make you sign the deal fast. Like no stock lah, price will increase lah, interest rate will increase lah, limited freebies lah, they keep rushing you to sign the deal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear October 31, 2008 Share October 31, 2008 It was priced at 139K for A4 Attraction when it was launched in April 08..when I last visited showroom in late Aug, it was still priced at 139K..they only adjust downwards to 125K few weeks ago...you can see for yourself how much they are making if they can reduce their price by a whopping 14K within such a short time when the OMV is pretty much the same.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...