Nutty 4th Gear November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 Ya... as simple as that. I guess all of us can be LTA scholar. They should hire us instead. We can give them reports in 5 mins. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 of course COE idea is to make money, you thought your govt so kindly to control vehicle population, make you travel smoothly, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Samshio 2nd Gear November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 if you have money to burn why not ? but these cars will have $0 scrap value. Wonder how the insurance will compensate the owner of such cars where market value < repair cost. ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 go n buy QQ la.i read from the other thread the agent is quoted as saying the slashed the price to 23k i tink.minus 17k for OPC...only cost 6k!!!...cheaper den a 125cc bike.go get a QQ now!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thypig33 Neutral Newbie November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 hope market flooded with cheap cars, then when resale no value i can buy haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 Not QQ lah, the quality is not my cup of tea. LTA should implement a new rule... If at the last 5mins of closing the COE price is less than 50% of previous round, then the time will be entended another 30mins! I was thinking...IF this round of Open Cat will not likely be used to register CatA cars, then there will be 'OVERSUPPLY' of big cars COE! Meaning that the next round will be CAT-B to be $2??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walterkoh Neutral Newbie November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 wat to study? already the so-called scholars everyday do nothing but implement some isiotic ideas to suck money from citizen n they get paid fat fat bonus even when the rest of us suffer so much as economy goes down n down? when coe was 110k, did they say wanna study? if they did, was to study how to make it go to 200k, rite? even a k2 child will know, demand n supply. they think coe at $2 super low, cant be, then y they shoot at their own legs n hands to say they set a limit to increase or decrease coe quota by 30%? who r they to set it at 30%? when we expected the increase to be 50%, they increase only 20+%. this time in sept, we expected to cut >30%, yet they capped it at 30% or less, worse, cat b no reduction at all!!!! none of the scholars notice the economy crisis coming? then still call themselves scholars??? wat a joke!!!! get the banks to approve loans easily, else who can afford to change or buy cars? get the coe to go up, else who can afford to change cars as 2nd hand cars become no value? get their ass up n wake up their ideas that open or close coe bid, the coe system is still a flaw!!!! if the system works, u mean other countries duno how to implement to control their traffic jams??? they more stupid??? sigh!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amazon777 3rd Gear November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 (edited) Well said, good analysis Edited November 20, 2008 by Amazon777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Will_I_Am 2nd Gear November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 I can tell you they will now impose a minimum sum like $1000, just like car plate number bidding. Opps ... have I just given those LTA scholars some ideas? Of course must study....they can't let the fat cow go so easily. They tweaked the system right after the last crash to make sure it doe not happen again.....i'm sure they are keen to do the same this time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knht Neutral Newbie November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 why they never "study" when last time COE shoots up high high ????? that time boh eng, busy counting dollars..... now COE revenue short by S$18mil against budget, what happened if the next few biddings till 31 Dec also short, LTA cannot meet the 2008 revenue budget, how?? some heads will roll especially PAP gaberment need to beef up its coffers to tide through the bad times and recoup investment losses by Temasek....so, now the LTA heads very the kan cheong liao, have to think of strategy to meet budget and recover the deficit...so, must study study, in very detail somemore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peqasus 1st Gear November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 These guys have so much time to waste on irrelevant `studies'. A simple supply and demand also dunno, esp when its already an open system. What's there to `study'? if they indeed waste time and money to conduct such a study and then reports it in public, the person who sanction the study should be retrenched for being too free. More likely than not some fellow is jumping up and down for `losing' $18mio for this bidding cycle and `studying' how to avoid these kind of incidents from happening again. Seriously, since this is a true supply/ demand situation, no action should be taken. aiya, after spending $XXXX and XXX manhours, they hv concluded, due to weakening market conditions and prudence on buyers part and tighter credit situation, COE crash. Tat's wat gahmen likes to do to cover ass mah. Think Marina Bay renaming. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_dude Neutral Newbie November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 property sales lousy, they stop land sales car sales lousy, they can lower coe supply if they do so, current drivers will face less jam unlike coe which is effective dd (demand which is back up by cash or approved loans) and ss, erp appears to be less affected How abt Singaporean no work to do..they cut FT ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 simple, just cut off COE quota 30% immediately and COE bid start from $5000 instead of $1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ff2004 Neutral Newbie November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 Come to think about it, I suppose this round of financial crisis is quite bad. Nobody dare to buy car at this moment. Everybody 'wait and see now'... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 lets face it lah....dun u think the whole $2 is a setup...looks like all car dealers and authorities gang up to bring down COE, then to create the demand and COE will rise again...this is a "foreplay" before it reach the climax.... if someone can tap or sniff the telecomms btw the car dealers and authorities, i am sure can find something out of there..."CONSPIRACY THEORY" now used car sellers wayang, LTA wayang, apparently everyone knows and agrees what to do the next day after COE announced. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 why "wait n see now"...should "forgo"...from now till 1st Q of next yr, it is going to be a roller coaster ride for everyone... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liuz0004 Clutched November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 lets face it lah....dun u think the whole $2 is a setup...looks like all car dealers and authorities gang up to bring down COE, then to create the demand and COE will rise again...this is a "foreplay" before it reach the climax.... wa lao sure not. forgo $18.5 million just to reach climax? haha. you tink too much la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Honsan Neutral Newbie November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 Think LTA first pripority to study the incident is how to make sure they make back the revenue "lost"... Expect more ERPs, more summons and more craps ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...