Any recommendations for reliable affordable car servicing?

Winniethepooh

I also felt that A-bacs mechanics are not too experienced. Since they are not a workshop for major repairs, just oil change type of service, the mechanics are usually the new guy on the trade type.

But when I ask for just oil change package, they just do what I ask for and never recommend me any other stuff.

Some motorist like workshop to check their car and inform them what needs to be changed. You had probably come across motorist who complain saying workshop only did what they are asked to do. Never inform them or check if other parts needs to change, bad service, blah blah blah..But others only like to change only what they asked for, just like me.

On the subject of plugs changed at 10k kms and etc....nowadays this is the way to make more money for the company. Even the main car agents are also doing this. MacDonalds also ask you to up size their meals laugh.gif

If you bother to check the owner's manual, normal plugs are good for at least 30K to 40K kms while the long life type is 100,000kms. In fact, manufacturers recommended change intervals are already built-in with some buffer, meaning to say the parts can actuially last longer than that.

i looking for a workshop to just do chge of engine oil/oil filter/gearoil - i've got my own oil, just need to save on the labour part....................

can try the upper thomson caltex.. labour for engine oil & filter change is $15.. not sure about gearoil tho..

Auto Tech Services Centre

* Address :

8, Penjuru Pl

Singapore, 608780

* Phone : 67954165

Fax : 67954166

i'd recommend this place.. always go there to service in between 10k regular servicing with my Agent.

Boss is honest, workers also honest... so far i don't see any of the chop carrot stunt from them yet

In terms of which workshop to service the ride that costs tens or hundreds of thousands, I always tell my friends that most importantly one should feel comfortable with whichever workshop they patronize, be it OMO workshop or sophisticated workshop like RV which has the necessary expertise and diagnostic tools to perform service/repair. At the end of the day, it is a willing service provider-willing customer market. We also ought to know all workshops are not charitable organizations. They run a business to make profits. In this trying climate, it will be interesting to see how many workshops will be wit out or continue to survive.

===================

I agree with u BUT no point having a ws with high tech diagnostic equipment when the mechs r chap-a-lang. Most dont even know how to use these equip properly as they r "under training". [speechless]

For me the most important thing is the person who touches my car is very experienced & knows what he is doing. Not just he TELL u he knows what he is doing. Many mechs wil con u by saying no problem to anything u ask them to do but actually take the opportunity to use your car as a training tool to learn how to do. [sweatdrop][bigcry]

I had many bad experiences with those big ws where most of the mech r just trainees only. Car come out worse than when it went in. [:(][bigcry] And when u go back & complain they never do a good job, they start to play tai-chi.

=============

Ya. For simple service I heard the guy at Caltex Upp Thomson is cheap & good. Several kaki here use him.

If u staying in Yishun, I can give u my mech at Yishun Indl Pk.A. I using him >10 years already to do everything. Elderly man who has given me good & honest work all along.

I mostly buy my own parts & get him to fix/install only cos he know I very fussy on the quality of what goes into my car. [drivingcar]

KOH pxx xxxg Pioneer Road North, Blk. 3.

Edited by Mazdaowner

Yes totally agreed, have to be comfortable with the workshop and their service.

I had a friend who thinks all workshops are the same. So he just pop in to a workshop at AMK autopt to service his Corolla. He brings his oil. He left the car there. Shortly, he received a call from the workshop telling him that the radiator fan is not working and needs to change, $200. Not really expensive if the fan is truely not working. There was no overheating before he went into the workshop and mileage is around 60K kms.

Can only suspect that workshop pull a fast one.

=====================

This is a very common problem with "walk in customer" at many dishonest ws here. [speechless][knife][pirate]

I also kenna b4 when I was a newbie. [bigcry][bigcry][bigcry]

just send my altis to autosaver for servicing for the first time, cost me $700+.

- the 50K servicing cost me abt $129

- suspension spoilt cos they say leak so change all 4 cost abt $500

- battery weak so change one cost abt $100

dun know my AD never check suspension spoil or act blur... warranty just expire so now choice... frown.gif

==================

Ahhhh.....The joys of being a newbie car owner in SG. [dizzy][grin]

I have been servicing with RV for more than 5 years and I find them very reliable and cheaper than agent. I guess each individual's definition of affordable varies. If you are looking for $10 or $15 labor charge, then I guess RV is not meant for you.

I serviced with RV before for my previous ride.

Their prices are not cheaper than other ws. just very market standard price.

i find that some mechanics are better than others. so u see yr luck on tat day lor. unless u request the "old birds" to do yr car.

The RV owner really can talk c*ck alot.

Well, it all boils down on individual on whether u like them or not....

For me, i rather go elsewhere....

Well Autobacs is easy to recommend to forumers here. Their shop easy to find and also looks genuine on their listed service packages. Moreover if you opt for the syn oil package, it is only $78. What's good, they dont keep asking you to change this and change that.

RV is not "branded" in a sense. I have not been there so I cant comment. I believe most workshops dont list out their service package on banners, so you may run the risks of high prices after the job is done. And again many workshops tend to ask you to change many things after taking your car in. Then your final bill is not what you want to see or budgeted for.

Parts from Autobacs not cheap lah....

if u bring your own parts, then their labour is not cheap.

so in the end, its not cheap.

again, their mechs are quite newbies. i see them, i dun feel safe....

Any recom work shop near tampines area for labour only for engine oil change

engine oil & filter i byo ^_^

Many thanks in advance [flowerface][:)]

I can see the diff... I brought my own oil & filter. Didn't get their package. Maybe tat's why kena chop carrot! [knife]

Same experience too

===================

I agree with u BUT no point having a ws with high tech diagnostic equipment when the mechs r chap-a-lang. Most dont even know how to use these equip properly as they r "under training". [speechless]

For me the most important thing is the person who touches my car is very experienced & knows what he is doing. Not just he TELL u he knows what he is doing. Many mechs wil con u by saying no problem to anything u ask them to do but actually take the opportunity to use your car as a training tool to learn how to do. [sweatdrop][bigcry]

I had many bad experiences with those big ws where most of the mech r just trainees only. Car come out worse than when it went in. [:(][bigcry] And when u go back & complain they never do a good job, they start to play tai-chi.

If you expect all mechanics in a ws to know how to operate high tech diagnostic equipment, surely the overheads would be very high and this kind of business model would result in customers having to bear the overheads by paying dearly for the diagnostic service.

For RV, I know there are 3 experienced and highly skilled mechanics that operate the diagnostic equipment. The fact that other ws could not solve their car problem and send to RV to have the problem resolved is a testimony of how strong RV is. I have seen them stripping a BMW, Mercs and Honda to the bare bone and re-assembling it back when solving teething problem. I have also seen the customers picking up their cars and how happy they are with the problem solved along with the substantial savings that they get by choosing RV instead of agent. I also know that all repair jobs done by RV comes with warranty and there is no tai-chi if there is any follow up for rectification, which is very rare as far as I know.

Have you tried RV's service before? If not, give it a try and provide a FR and let us know if they are like any of those big ws that you have had bad experience. Perhaps you may learn to appreciate their service after trying.

If you expect all mechanics in a ws to know how to operate high tech diagnostic equipment, surely the overheads would be very high and this kind of business model would result in customers having to bear the overheads by paying dearly for the diagnostic service.

For RV, I know there are 3 experienced and highly skilled mechanics that operate the diagnostic equipment. The fact that other ws could not solve their car problem and send to RV to have the problem resolved is a testimony of how strong RV is. I have seen them stripping a BMW, Mercs and Honda to the bare bone and re-assembling it back when solving teething problem. I have also seen the customers picking up their cars and how happy they are with the problem solved along with the substantial savings that they get by choosing RV instead of agent. I also know that all repair jobs done by RV comes with warranty and there is no tai-chi if there is any follow up for rectification, which is very rare as far as I know.

Have you tried RV's service before? If not, give it a try and provide a FR and let us know if they are like any of those big ws that you have had bad experience. Perhaps you may learn to appreciate their service after trying.

No doubt RV is good, but for simple servicing their price seems kinda... anyway to each his own [flowerface] anyone use ah lim motor before also at amk autopoint?

ever tried the free lance mech from mxxxxxxxg. only available on sundays.

jus change my engine oil + filter $12, gear oil $12. Can talk c*rk, etc. hee hee.. nice and friendly guy i felt...

jemjem