Mcf777 Turbocharged December 4, 2008 Share December 4, 2008 KPE ---> From Lor Halus to Ford Road exit Camera Signboard 1 & 2 : Active Camera Signboard 3 & 4 : Cant see/find the camera. But dont dare to take chance. So far, i am travelling 80-90KPH when there isnt any camera signboard. Slow down to 70-75KPH when approaching the camera. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkblue 1st Gear December 4, 2008 Share December 4, 2008 Give and take... I am ok with the bumpy road and 70km/h (which is very reasonable speed) for the smooth traffic. Chin Swee tunnel ?? Come on, sometimes cannot even hit half the speed (35km/h) In fact, with KPE I am able to reach town faster... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged December 4, 2008 Share December 4, 2008 good luck to u Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kazuo Neutral Newbie December 4, 2008 Share December 4, 2008 you mean there's actually a sign telling you where the cameras are? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cwater Neutral Newbie December 4, 2008 Share December 4, 2008 Love KPE as well. Always get the cab driver to take KPE to northeast. At night very fast, and i see the cab drivers always going at 70+ km/h, inside tunnels got light, can do reading some more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged December 4, 2008 Share December 4, 2008 I wonder why all those people like to go so fast on KPE when the road is so bumpy, very easy to lose control at high speed over a series of slight bumps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear December 4, 2008 Share December 4, 2008 Imagine accident in tunnel, jam will be very bad, i rather travel at 70km/h and reach my destination smoothly den kena in jam cause by speeding accident... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asd78 Clutched December 4, 2008 Share December 4, 2008 Wats d prob...just follow the car in front can liao..everyone will be drving at tat speed or less... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ad23 Neutral Newbie December 4, 2008 Share December 4, 2008 I'll live with it since it gets me to my working place faster and it's a whole lot cheaper. I share the same grievances as you but well, what can we do? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ad23 Neutral Newbie December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 (edited) I always see 3 cameras each at each checkpoint. I noticed them only when I saw a car 'posing' for the camera. Edited December 5, 2008 by Ad23 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 (edited) you mean there's actually a sign telling you where the cameras are? You mean you cannot see them? That's strange. Drive so slowly @70km/hr also can't see? Even the ceiling have electronic display big big "SPEED CAMERA AHEAD". Cannot see also? Are you the one driving?? Edited December 5, 2008 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 I still don't understand why oh why there is no slip road to TPE for westbound route in PIE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limitedspeed Neutral Newbie December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 Be patient. One of the key virtues driving in Singapore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sillyme Neutral Newbie December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 I live in Potong Pasir. I go onto the eastbound PIE, I am unable to go up KPE because there are some barriers preventing me to enter KPE. From the map, I see I can only enter if I travel to Airport Road. If this is so, I think if I want to go to Sengkang or Punggol I'd rather go by Upper Serangoon liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 unfortunately KPE is a bane for motorcyclists; we feel ever bump on the road, the ventilation is poor because at times i almost feel like passing out as it can be very stuffy and hot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberet Neutral Newbie December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 yeah, i can't stand it when 3 vehicles driving side by side in a row blocking the whole expressway @ 70km/h and holding up so many vehicles behind and its at least 20 car length in front to the next vehicle Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 If not for convenient, non-stop travel from East to North-East, I would rather use the normal road to North-eastern area. There r so many camera in the tunnel. Yes, it's for safety reason and speed regulating reason as well. But it makes one too paranoid driving thru so many speed camera. u have to be concious of you speed at all times and that makes u feel sleepy. have to check speedometer all the time and that's taken so many seconds of ur attention off the road, doesn't that means road hazard? 70km/h is way to slow for an expressway...normal main road already designated 70km/h, so if this is an expressway, y classified its speed limit as a normal road? or rather dun call it KPE, might as well change it to KPR (Kallang- PayaLebar Road) At night, when traffic is lesser, I would much prefer traveling on a normal road (Fort Rd, mountbatten Rd, Sims Ave, PIE, Paya Lebar Rd, Airport Rd, Hougang Ave2, Tampines Road, TPE, Punggol) rather than driving in a "never ending" tunnel with full of conciousness on the speed cam all ard you. Having said that, this is my personal preference. Anyone share the same thought? Have to learn to love it if you want to use it......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 (edited) the speed limits are set to lower the risk of traffic accidents. The 70km/h speed limit is set for the KPE because at this speed, motorists can drive safely and traffic flow is still smooth. This will be especially important when the full tunnel totalling 9 km is open. Please note too that it is not an uncommon practice for speed limits to be lower in a long road tunnel as compared to the surface roads. In Europe, the Mont Blanc tunnel which spans across Alps, has a speed limit that ranges from 50km/h to 70km/h.[/size] It is the wrong perception that faster speed means dangerous and slower speed means safe. Risk of accidents depends on many other factors and not just speed alone. As an example, the Autobahn in Germany has no speed limit in most of its stretches. The autobahn took up 1/3 of all roads in Germany but surprisingly, the accident rate is only 6% of all accidents in Germany. If speed is really the main concern, then accident rate in the Autobahn would have been far higher. So this slower speed means must be safe perception in BS. It depends on the road layout, conditions, where it is located and more importantly, the skillset and discipline of the drivers in that country. Edited December 5, 2008 by Starry ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...