I hate KPE

Bluepica

If not for convenient, non-stop travel from East to North-East, I would rather use the normal road to North-eastern area. There r so many camera in the tunnel. Yes, it's for safety reason and speed regulating reason as well. But it makes one too paranoid driving thru so many speed camera. u have to be concious of you speed at all times and that makes u feel sleepy.

have to check speedometer all the time and that's taken so many seconds of ur attention off the road, doesn't that means road hazard?

70km/h is way to slow for an expressway...normal main road already designated 70km/h, so if this is an expressway, y classified its speed limit as a normal road? or rather dun call it KPE, might as well change it to KPR (Kallang- PayaLebar Road)

At night, when traffic is lesser, I would much prefer traveling on a normal road (Fort Rd, mountbatten Rd, Sims Ave, PIE, Paya Lebar Rd, Airport Rd, Hougang Ave2, Tampines Road, TPE, Punggol) rather than driving in a "never ending" tunnel with full of conciousness on the speed cam all ard you.

Having said that, this is my personal preference.

Anyone share the same thought? [nod]

u should start identifying the speed cams, this will make u alot less paraniod

theres only 3 on each way, not tat hard to rememeber.

Lesser traffic yes. But if lesser traffic and yet NO speed camera and 90km/h speed limit, you can imagine the scenario of those speed racers cheonging thru' KPE.

Fine for me but car with cruise mode is the best. Anyway, due to this is long underground expressway, it's better to remain the safety speed limit. At least it is smooth, rather then having accident that cause long jam.

Live with it. [:)]

I love KPE, comfortable with the speed. u can always travel at about 80km/h if u dare. My fuel consumption for my vios actually increases from 14km to 16km/l. Traffic is light and most important no jams and accident free unlike CTE

If not for convenient, non-stop travel from East to North-East, I would rather use the normal road to North-eastern area. There r so many camera in the tunnel. Yes, it's for safety reason and speed regulating reason as well. But it makes one too paranoid driving thru so many speed camera. u have to be concious of you speed at all times and that makes u feel sleepy.

have to check speedometer all the time and that's taken so many seconds of ur attention off the road, doesn't that means road hazard?

70km/h is way to slow for an expressway...normal main road already designated 70km/h, so if this is an expressway, y classified its speed limit as a normal road? or rather dun call it KPE, might as well change it to KPR (Kallang- PayaLebar Road)

At night, when traffic is lesser, I would much prefer traveling on a normal road (Fort Rd, mountbatten Rd, Sims Ave, PIE, Paya Lebar Rd, Airport Rd, Hougang Ave2, Tampines Road, TPE, Punggol) rather than driving in a "never ending" tunnel with full of conciousness on the speed cam all ard you.

I agree with you .... but considering the saving of time and smoothness ..... I can still live with the restriction.

Look on the bright side lah .... [nod][nod]

oh. Why not we try, you go by your 'prefer' road, I go by 70km/h KPE.

See who reach Punggol first?

Edited by Mrlau

Don't really used it often but I find even at that speed my travelling time is shorter and my fc improved a lot. [laugh]

same.. FC improved alot!!

now my civic is abt 13 to 14km/l.. almost back to my 15+km/l for honda city previously.

=)

wha lan, KPE is the best road to travel and it is so comfortable with the bumpy feeling.

also a way to train your foot if you want to control your petrol expenses.

what i hate most is driver who knowing KPE is 70km/h, and still can hog lane 1 at 60km/h.

**hint hint.

i have tested out 74 to 76km/h is fine, probably my speedometer is not accurate after using a 17inch, but once awhile, dont accelerate, let the wheel slow down, then accelerate to 74km/h and u will very fast reach the other end.

78km/h is fine too.. haha..

i travel between 74 to 80 km/h..

though my colleague did tell me abt the 3 cameras only thingy.. he travels 110km/h everyday, slowing down at the 3 points where the cameras are..

I prefer my 74 to 80km/h though.. hahaha [laugh][laugh]

I like the KPE very much, it trims a great deal of time off my travelling, since i stay in the north-east. But i don't really like the 70km/h limit, it really is on the low side. By all means, keep the speed cameras there to deter speedsters, but raise the speed limit to 80km/h. My car struggles to maintain 70km/h in 5th gear since the rpms are so low, below 2k rpms, hence i am forced to use 4th gear instead of 5th. For cruising on an expressway, being unable to use the top gear makes it not so fuel economical.

A major gripe about the KPE is the number of heavy dump truck using the tunnel. Laden with gravel and sand, they use the tunnel and drop debris all over the place. I once saw a rock that was the size and shape of a rugby ball on the KPE, if i ran into it, there goes my oil sump! I always had the impression that heavy vehicles are not allowed to use the expressways when laden!

Even when empty,the heavy vehicles feel very intimidating due to the enclosed area of the tunnel. I tend to avoid driving next to heavy vehicles on the road due to a few heart-stopping encounters i had in the past. But due to the low speed limit, the dump trucks are able to travel at the same speed as my car. I can't avoid them, and they like to take up both the left and middle lane. Even if i am on the rightmost lane, i can only go just as fast as they do, and they will still be next to me... [:/]

KPE is a more relaxed drive compared to other highways....

at 70km/h, i can react better if any jokers cut my lane w/o checking blind spot....

Though more n more cars r using KPE now, the traffic is stil smooth even durng peak hrs...

At CTE, its forever jam during morning n evening peak hrs... if accident, lagi jam.....

Also need to be more alert while travelling CTE n other highways.. more traffic n more stress...... cars run faster oso...

Try the Snow mountain Tunnel near Taipei if you get the chance ... total tunnel length for the two main section is 12.9km + 10 km.... really can [sleeping][sleeping] .

Speed limit used to be 70kn/hr when it first open, but was recently raised to 80km/h. Speed limit on KPE will prob be revised once motorist are familiar with it.

Edited by Fondue

u should start identifying the speed cams, this will make u alot less paraniod

theres only 3 on each way, not tat hard to rememeber.

just to correct a bit, press released indicated there's total of 10 speed cam

Hi bro, after reading the posts, I realized why we need the 70kmph limit.

However just like you, I do not like to take the KPE due to its horrible road surface and crazy speed limit. It is as simple as I do not see the need for LTA to treat us adults like kids, the speed limit is as good as putting a toilet lock or stair gate on the highway. 70 is a little slow in my opinion, 80 may be a better choice.

Accidents happen for many reasons, impatient drivers, inconsiderate lane hoggers, and the list goes on. If we practice good driving behaviour, maybe accident frequency will reduce. Then again, it all goes down to the mentality of an individual.