Watwheels Supersonic December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 (edited) Be it whatever factor, the faster the speed the lesser your reaction time and lesser time for you to make a decision if required. And sh*t happens on the roads which no one can predict. I think many ppl freezes up or panick, dunno what to do in some situations and different individuals have different reflexes. You may have super reflexes but some ppl just open their eyes and mouth wide wide and froze. The autobahns in Germany are wide and long, drivers have plenty of road space to correct their error. U look at SG expressway, short and narrow, hardly got any room for errors. Edited December 5, 2008 by Watwheels ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 (edited) But don't forget also that the faster you go, you tend to be more focus and the slower you go, you tend to lose concentration. The Autobahn stats showed it. Faster does not equal to more accident rates. This perception is the same as Body Mass Index (BMI). High BMI to most, must be because that person is fat or obese. Hell, even the health organisations say so. But do you know that all national bodybuilders fail their BMI? Are they fat and obese? You judge Edited December 5, 2008 by Starry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 (edited) The autobahns in Germany are wide and long, drivers have plenty of road space to correct their error. U look at SG expressway, short and narrow, hardly got any room for errors. Actually the width is the same as our expressways, but the design and condition of the road is far better. And that makes my point. Accident rate does not depend on speed alone. But the authorities love to conveniently blame it on speed so that they can cover up their flaws in the design and construction of the road. Instead of saying "to reduce accident rate, we will design our roads better with improved education of our drivers", they choose to lower speed limit. My guess is that speed is easy to blame, and you can collect fine out of it as well, so why not? And there starts the whole game of road hogging, sudden braking when seeing cameras and panic drivers who instead of looking at the roads, start looking at overhead bridges instead. I see more accident arise due to all these "I must be slow" patterns then fast cars. Edited December 5, 2008 by Starry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mydotcom 1st Gear December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 How to take candid photos of soo many cars if speed limit is higher than 70km/h? KPE got no toll charges leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 I only know that Sg is not like Germany. In SG some drivers go on average speed also will get into accident. In NS I see many healthy individuals doing RT also but Mindef insist otherwise. What to do? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Irene Neutral Newbie December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 Use KPe must pay a dollar right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacf Neutral Newbie December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 If not for convenient, non-stop travel from East to North-East, I would rather use the normal road to North-eastern area. There r so many camera in the tunnel. Yes, it's for safety reason and speed regulating reason as well. But it makes one too paranoid driving thru so many speed camera. u have to be concious of you speed at all times and that makes u feel sleepy. have to check speedometer all the time and that's taken so many seconds of ur attention off the road, doesn't that means road hazard? 70km/h is way to slow for an expressway...normal main road already designated 70km/h, so if this is an expressway, y classified its speed limit as a normal road? or rather dun call it KPE, might as well change it to KPR (Kallang- PayaLebar Road) At night, when traffic is lesser, I would much prefer traveling on a normal road (Fort Rd, mountbatten Rd, Sims Ave, PIE, Paya Lebar Rd, Airport Rd, Hougang Ave2, Tampines Road, TPE, Punggol) rather than driving in a "never ending" tunnel with full of conciousness on the speed cam all ard you. Having said that, this is my personal preference. Anyone share the same thought? although KPE got speed limit of 70kmh, but it's basically non-stop without any traffic lights alont the way.. whereas the 'normal' route u mentioned-(Fort Rd, mountbatten Rd, Sims Ave, PIE, Paya Lebar Rd, Airport Rd, Hougang Ave2, Tampines Road, TPE, Punggol).. should have many traffic lights along the way, and not forgetting heavy traffic too..unless u travelling after 12am, then maybe not much traffic at that time! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jc777 Neutral Newbie December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 just wondering, from boon keng, how do you get to changi village via KPE? what road/exit did you take? is taking PIE to TPE exit pasir ris slower than KPE? Even though it has tis stupid spd limit, i still save time driving from Upper Boon Keng Rd to Changi Village for nasi lemak. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ev0lutionz Clutched December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 KPE the max u can hit is 80.. Anything above, u tio already. Because one, if everyone is travelling at 70, how to overtake? At least if they set the threshold of the camera to 80kmh, cars can still overtake safely. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Safetyleo Neutral Newbie December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 That is the reason, they don't want driver to overtake each other, just travel at 70km/hr all the way.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 call me old school, but I have never go find out where is KPE, how to get into KPE or where KPE leads to. As such, KPE never comes into consideration whenever I do my route planning because I don't even know where the hell it is except that it is well known to have many cameras, need to pay ERP and got a ridiculous speed limit. Doesn't sound appealing to try anyway. Sometimes, ignorance is bliss. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crooner Neutral Newbie December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 Correct me if i'm wrong, but i'm quite certain that the KPE has lesser accidents per vehicle than the CTE. If safety comes first, then i certainly think the speed cameras have done its job. If the CTE had that many cameras too, i'm certain the CTE will have less jams caused by accidents. That's because the usage KPE is extremely low compared to CTE. You should compare the no. of accidents with the traffic volume Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cs3004 1st Gear December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 I think you are right, 70km/h is too slow. I just have a nice photo taking at KPE last week when I was talking with my wife in the car.Speed at 80. I think it is dangerous to keep looking at the speedo meter to maintain the speed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forummer Neutral Newbie December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 (edited) I feel tt the KPE is good as far as time for travel is shortened. I used it at least twice a week. The only complain I have is the road condition. Too bumpy. My car is hard suspension. Can feel every hump. Edited December 5, 2008 by Forummer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 KPE..one end to the other at 70km/hr cause you approx 8 mins...your way....don't think 8 mins is sufficient...and the numerous traffic lights...KPE for me anytime... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sigstore 1st Gear December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 Diffcult to compare volume as vol of KPE will unlikely reach the vol of CTE. But does low traffic volume mean less accidents?... i don't think so. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akula Turbocharged December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 Use KPe must pay a dollar right? Currently still no need to........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CarNSpa Neutral Newbie December 5, 2008 Share December 5, 2008 althought it slow in speed but it really cut dnw a lot of travel distance as it really cut across the island ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...