Driving up to Malacca! :)

Makinen85

Hellos butties! :)

Me and a couple of my friends are driving up to Malacca on the 29th of Dec. Planning to stay there for a couple of nights until New Year's Eve before heading back to celebrate the New Year on home soil. hah.

So was wondering if the kind souls of MCF can help us 3 1st-timers with some answers to our doubts and also tips/tricks/advices. :)

First up, regarding tolls, I've read that the total charges for 2-way, amounts up to 60RM, that was around 1yr ago, is it still accurate now?

Secondly, as mentioned, this being our first time, we're naturally quite fearful about the notorious car-jacks and robberies. So if our car breaks down in the highway/roads, what should we do and how should we react?

Basically this 2 questions are the ones i can think of now. Anyone with any suggestions as to what we should be more savvy about?

Also! Feel free to suggest the must-dos, must-knows and must-eats of Malacca!

Sorry for the long post, lol. Just quite nervous about this trip. THANKS ALL!!! [wave][wave]

Consider this $60 offer on 30 Dec 2008.

S$60 for Check IN for ONE Night on 30 Dec 2008 . 1 Units of 2 Bedroom Suite @ Century Mahkota Malacca. Fixed Date For Check In. No Change Allowed !!

SMS : 93808600.

No Breakfast & confirmed CHECK IN DATE : Tuesday 30 Dec 2008 for Check-In

only @ Century Mahkota Hotel in Malacca.

Date Change not allowed!

Just a 2 - 3 hours driving to reach resort from S'pore & right in the History Town of Malacca. For Sightsee, Fun, Food & Shopping.

Unit come with 2 Aircon room. Both with attached Bath, Dining, Living & a Balcony.

Can put up to 4 Adults on Bed & 4 Kids can sleep on carpeted floor.

In the most happening place of the city is Mahkota Hotel Malacca, offering the best in comfort and hospitality to all visitors onboard. The hotel is within a stone's throw away from major sight-seeing and historical attractions of Malacca.

Mahkota Hotel Malacca is situated on the waterfront and is just next to Malacca's new commercial hub at Melaka Raya. Directly across the road is the Mahkota Parade, Malacca's award winning shopping and leisure complex that caters to your every need for fun, food and fashion.

Mahkota Hotel Melaka has 617 guest rooms and suites configured as 1,2,3 bedroom apartments, Executive and Presidential Suites. !

FACILITIES

Bath with showers in all suites

Car rental

Coffee and tea-making facilities

Individually controlled air-conditioning

Mini bar in Century Club Suites

Personal safe in Century Club Suites

Remote controlled TV with cable TV

Voice mail

DINING & ENTERTAINMENT

Bay Lounge & Terrace - cocktail & snacks

Cafe Mahkota - international and local fare

Pizza Terrace - home-made pizza fresh from the oven

Pool Bar - poolside drinks and snacks

Spices - authentic Asian specialities

The balcony - piano bar

SPORTS & LEISURE

2 large swimming pools and kids pool with waterslide

Activities centre

Children's playground

Fitness Centre and Sauna

Games rooms

Mini golf

Tennis and Squash courts

Enjoy a refreshing dip in the pool or have a sip of cocktail at the poolside bar

BUSINESS

9 meeting rooms with total flexibility for small meetings to large conferences and functions

Business centre with well-equipped office facilities

Complimentary use of Dolphin & Hibiscus swimming pools

Complimentary car parking at hotel

LOCATION MAP

Mahkota Hotel is at located at Jalan Merdeka, behind Mahkota Parade Shopping complex and just 5 minutes walk away from the A'Famosa fort & historical sites.

Edited by Newsman

wad car r u driving, if u r driving a car which is of high target, cars like harrier, CRV, wish etc etc... u hafta be careful as ur car might be in the eyes of thieves.

if u r driving merc, beemer, be careful of robbers who might be armed to rob u...

however, wad i see is malacca is safer than JB, where we usually heard that crime rate is bad.

if u r scared that ur car might breakdown, send ur car for a servicing n checks for potential faults which might arise in short term. check ur tyres too for puncture n air pressure.

if u r nt familiar with roads around the city n where to park ur car, i suggest u park ur car in the hotel, n take cab out. Invest in a steering wheel lock, which deters car thieves a little bit. if u r driving a FWD car, park head in and tilt ur steering wheel to one side.

as for must know n must eat, i believe u will hear the famous chicken rice, which i dun think is v v v fantastic, plus its pricey too.

ever been to those old SAF chalet? before the renovation type.. whole place seems mouldy, smelly and rundown...

that's how bad mahkota hotel is man!! despite what advertorial you see on the web or newspaper, the place isn't fit for tourist at all! maybe more fitting for backpackers...

just came back from melaka. stayed at Equatorial. RM 345 per night but can sleep 4 if you ask for 2 beds--no breakfast though. very crowded, very full of singaporeans. close to the shopping center. and the new Newton hawker center. expensive. got one behind this new one more affordable.

got one hotel i saw along melaka raya jln 4 "hotel 96" rm 96 per night and got breakfast some more !! their website is hotel 96 something...

ok becareful of polis speed trap along the way. if u are new to drive the NS. keep within the speed limit or you will be donating to the malaysian govt.

use 2nd link for ease of migrating into NSH.

After msia custom , you can first have some makan at gelan patah rnr .After that just follow road sign that point you to the direction of KUL .

After that it's all the way until Ayer Keroh exit.

Along the way do note that some of the rest stop are really just 'rest' 'stop' , no hawkers or anything , just toilets.So look out for the big road panel that show you what facility it offer.

As it's your first venture up north , take your time , savour in the view and try visiting a few rest stop .

Keep those big notes away from the prying eyes of the msia TP , most time they just wanna have money for lunch and dinner , so just put a couple of loose notes in your wallet .Std mkt rate is RM50 and below .

Always lock your car immediately whenever you get out to pump oil , be street smart at all time .

Lastly , remember to bring your car log card , insurance and driving license along ,and make sure your ride is in tip top condition before it go on a long distance drive , which in my opinion , cure a lot of problem which is attributed by our driving condition here.

do bring ur car for a servicing.

change engine oil, please oso flush ur coolant to prevent ur engine from overheating due to prolong driving.

tyre pressure checked oso.

other than tt, there shld be no issue.

Most hotel carpark are free and how safe it is all depend on the hotel also, I have been to Malacca lots of time for me I stay at aldy hotel very central location but don expect too much of this so call boutique hotel as it can be noisy in the night due to live band singing. Due to the central location of this hotel I can reach to all nearby shopping and tourist attraction easily. rate for a room start from RM148 to RM 300++.

do bring ur car for a servicing.

change engine oil, please oso flush ur coolant to prevent ur engine from overheating due to prolong driving.

tyre pressure checked oso.

other than tt, there shld be no issue.