Jascyt Neutral Newbie December 12, 2008 Share December 12, 2008 U can opt for the AMG styling kit if u want a sportier look and feel to the C180. Comes with 3 spoke steering rather than the 4 spoke, AMG rims and bodykit and chrome exhaust finish. Maybe some other stuff but I can't recall offhand. Don't worry bout the ahpek image cause for this new C class, they are marketing it more for the younger crowd, especially when kitted, looks sporty and fierce. My dad just signed on the dotted line for this car, and scrapping his old E200. Says he wanna feel younger I suspect I will be borrowing the car more often keke.. I think for MB, no need to look at PI. If u wanna close the deal within this year, think u can get some great discounts as workyear is ending. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear December 13, 2008 Share December 13, 2008 E-class-older image C-class-younger image Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dennisk Clutched December 13, 2008 Share December 13, 2008 my friend is getting about 8km/l... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged December 13, 2008 Share December 13, 2008 Volvo S60 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vios73 1st Gear December 13, 2008 Author Share December 13, 2008 I am happy with the VW Jetta performance and good FC. But i also like the comfort of Volvo S60. But the FC of S60 starts worrying me....8-10km/l vs Jetta 13-16km/l....road tax of the two also a big gap. Hmm.....but at the end of the day, i shall buy based on my heart feel.....actually the C180 also not bad.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hp93868686 Clutched December 13, 2008 Share December 13, 2008 Try Saab 93 , below $100k . Exec look Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear December 13, 2008 Share December 13, 2008 Jetta's real life FC really so good? If badge and looks are impt, dun get the jetta. Actually the S40 seems not bad also, interior space not that much diff from S60, and it's a newer model. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear December 13, 2008 Share December 13, 2008 Jetta has easily the best performance and consumption of the three, but the interior and exterior design is very boring. S60 has very high fuel consumption and high maintenance costs. 320i is a safe choice although the base model is very bare, not even digital air-con. Overall I'd go for the Jetta given that it's so much cheaper than the others. the base model 320 is bare but given the kind of OMV (39K) and the price they selling at after discount, its a really good buy and esp so if you consider the superior resale value of BMW against the other two.. jetta is fast and their best advantage ahead of the other two is the road tax...paying road tax for a small car (1.4cc) but get performance like a 2L car... overall I would exclude the S60 in this shortlist if i was the one buying.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 S60 FC bad meh.. how come paper says it can give 19+km/l after testing on singapore roads huh.. I think before you decide, do give the C class and IS250 a try. (no harm right..) And how can I miss ALFA 159.. You may just get poisoned.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route Clutched December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 i agree... alfa looks the best Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 maybe if you list down your concerns from most to least e.g. engine performance, interior comfort, etc. It will be easier for the bros here to give you pointers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archon 2nd Gear December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 I have narrow down to the below 3 rides as my next new ride. Would like to gather some comments from bros here on my choice before i sign on the dotted line. Thanks in advance. 1. Volvo S60 - $125,000 (before $10k discount) 2. BMW 320i (basic model) - $131,800 (before $8k-$11k discount) 3. VW Jetta 1.4A TSI - $89,300 (before $4k-$5k discount) I am looking at both safety and performance for the sedan range. Based on look, BMW 320i win hands down. Based on dollar value, i think Jetta is about $20k++ cheaper. Volvo S60 is an old model but evergreen design. I think you can get a VW passat too. 1.8T. 100% make in Germany. Around your budget. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncss Clutched December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 (edited) Jetta has easily the best performance and consumption of the three, but the interior and exterior design is very boring. S60 has very high fuel consumption and high maintenance costs. 320i is a safe choice although the base model is very bare, not even digital air-con. Overall I'd go for the Jetta given that it's so much cheaper than the others. I didn't know the S60 fuel consumption is very high....i was quoted 10.5km/lts from the SE. High maintenance cost....i suppose the cost is high but first 3 yrs servicing is free for all Volvo models. Guess this will off-set the cost a little bit. I agreed the 320i is very very basic. I guess the Jetta could be my choice.....thanks for the comment. Just sold a S60, quite powerful... first 3 years servicing is totally free & fc is about 9.2~10km/L. Disadvantage is the model has been around quite long liao... Edited December 14, 2008 by Ncss ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...