James911 Neutral Newbie December 21, 2008 Share December 21, 2008 Hi. Anyone got any active subwoofer to recommend? Just saw a 8" Target one. Good enough for me unless I am comparing to those normal box type subwoofer. Anyone bros got any good recommendation? SLT got few at 100+ only. Dun know how is the quality. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toalson 1st Gear December 28, 2008 Share December 28, 2008 Hi. Anyone got any active subwoofer to recommend? Just saw a 8" Target one. Good enough for me unless I am comparing to those normal box type subwoofer. Anyone bros got any good recommendation? SLT got few at 100+ only. Dun know how is the quality. I'm using steelemate and so far its good enuff as I am hard pressed for space. Being kicking my arse for a good while. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickensoup 1st Gear December 28, 2008 Share December 28, 2008 Hi. Anyone got any active subwoofer to recommend? Just saw a 8" Target one. Good enough for me unless I am comparing to those normal box type subwoofer. Anyone bros got any good recommendation? SLT got few at 100+ only. Dun know how is the quality. A little hollow sounding. Quite a few of these Taiwanese Brands around. Looks the same too. What you pay is what you get. If just want to up bass a little, can try lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davetan86 Neutral Newbie December 28, 2008 Share December 28, 2008 i just bought my sub woofer with box at SLT and running on passive setup in my ride. As long as it's America brand, its good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 28, 2008 Share December 28, 2008 (edited) Saw Autotrend has promotion for this active subwoofer: Alpine SWE-1000 $299 with installation. Edited December 28, 2008 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear December 28, 2008 Share December 28, 2008 people asking for active subwoofer and you posted subwoofer with box. a bit OT liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched December 28, 2008 Share December 28, 2008 I'm using steelemate and so far its good enuff as I am hard pressed for space. Being kicking my arse for a good while. Hmm me also quite keen in boosting my bass but no space except for passenger seat bottom (also limited due to some weird electronic switch there). Also, if you put it under the seat, and if the passenger adjusted the seat downwards, will it hit the woofer? Me a bit keen to use my old 8" speakers from my previous car where I used them as woofers. Thinking of DIYing a box and putting it below the passenger seat.....or perhaps paying $100 for someone to build a box for me. But $100 for a active sub under the seat? Seems to be a fuzz free solution? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahsiong Neutral Newbie December 28, 2008 Share December 28, 2008 Hi. Anyone got any active subwoofer to recommend? Just saw a 8" Target one. Good enough for me unless I am comparing to those normal box type subwoofer. Anyone bros got any good recommendation? SLT got few at 100+ only. Dun know how is the quality. so did you manage to install one from SLT? how is it? does it include installation? what is the exact price like? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear December 28, 2008 Share December 28, 2008 Hi. Anyone got any active subwoofer to recommend? Just saw a 8" Target one. Good enough for me unless I am comparing to those normal box type subwoofer. Anyone bros got any good recommendation? SLT got few at 100+ only. Dun know how is the quality. There's quite a few active sub in the market.. pioneer, alpine, steelmate, blaupunkt, etc.. Frankly, i would suggest getting one from audio workshop that does installation, unless u know how to DIY, then get from sim lim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear December 28, 2008 Share December 28, 2008 Hmm me also quite keen in boosting my bass but no space except for passenger seat bottom (also limited due to some weird electronic switch there). Also, if you put it under the seat, and if the passenger adjusted the seat downwards, will it hit the woofer? Me a bit keen to use my old 8" speakers from my previous car where I used them as woofers. Thinking of DIYing a box and putting it below the passenger seat.....or perhaps paying $100 for someone to build a box for me. But $100 for a active sub under the seat? Seems to be a fuzz free solution? must check the clearance of your seat at its lowest setting. then see if the height of the active sub can put in anot lor.. otherwise, get a flat one and mount it at the boot.. behind the seat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched December 28, 2008 Share December 28, 2008 I drive a Toyota Fielder. The back of my rear seat is a CNG tank hehee. There is a triangular shaped space there and I'm still thinking of putting it there but it's very very tight. And so far the installers all see liao and not so interested in doing coz it's not a conventional place to put given the CNG tank is obstructing. Infinite baffle also cannot coz there isn't really a covered boot space in a station wagon like this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear December 29, 2008 Share December 29, 2008 I drive a Toyota Fielder. The back of my rear seat is a CNG tank hehee. There is a triangular shaped space there and I'm still thinking of putting it there but it's very very tight. And so far the installers all see liao and not so interested in doing coz it's not a conventional place to put given the CNG tank is obstructing. Infinite baffle also cannot coz there isn't really a covered boot space in a station wagon like this. Seems like your choice is quite limited. Pioneer is good but rather fat, so more suitable for the rear boot but doesn't take up too much space.. if you are looking for a flat one, then alpine or steelmate.. anyway, go to any audio shop and I'm sure they can advise you better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jktt Neutral Newbie December 29, 2008 Share December 29, 2008 I'm using steelemate and so far its good enuff as I am hard pressed for space. Being kicking my arse for a good while. Yes, i had just installed a set of Steelmate SW826 under the passenger seat, Sound Great. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched December 29, 2008 Share December 29, 2008 Seems like your choice is quite limited. Pioneer is good but rather fat, so more suitable for the rear boot but doesn't take up too much space.. if you are looking for a flat one, then alpine or steelmate.. anyway, go to any audio shop and I'm sure they can advise you better Actually I've been to installers and many said the same thing lor. 1 place I suggested to them (instead) is to place it right above my spare tyre without permanently securing it so that I still can use my spare tyre. But then I need to customise a rather thin box, infact just enough for the height of my 8" woofers. Or I use some of the active subs but I'm more inclined towards using my old 8" woofers as they are good. Does anyone know where to get cheap MDF boards if I want to DIY? Maybe use a handsaw and DIY. Even thinking of buying those solid wood shelfs from IKEA and modifying it hehee. But normally ppl use MDF, not solid wood. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toalson 1st Gear December 29, 2008 Share December 29, 2008 Hmm me also quite keen in boosting my bass but no space except for passenger seat bottom (also limited due to some weird electronic switch there). Also, if you put it under the seat, and if the passenger adjusted the seat downwards, will it hit the woofer? Me a bit keen to use my old 8" speakers from my previous car where I used them as woofers. Thinking of DIYing a box and putting it below the passenger seat.....or perhaps paying $100 for someone to build a box for me. But $100 for a active sub under the seat? Seems to be a fuzz free solution? U'll have to check the clearance before installing. I got a active sub under my arse and a amp under the passenger arse. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear December 29, 2008 Share December 29, 2008 Actually I've been to installers and many said the same thing lor. 1 place I suggested to them (instead) is to place it right above my spare tyre without permanently securing it so that I still can use my spare tyre. But then I need to customise a rather thin box, infact just enough for the height of my 8" woofers. Or I use some of the active subs but I'm more inclined towards using my old 8" woofers as they are good. Does anyone know where to get cheap MDF boards if I want to DIY? Maybe use a handsaw and DIY. Even thinking of buying those solid wood shelfs from IKEA and modifying it hehee. But normally ppl use MDF, not solid wood. MDF tends to abosrb vibration better compared to solid wood.. I'm sure you are not so keen on rattling noise when you wanted more bass.. try kranji area or those photo framing shops.. but those are thinner.. or use solid wood but wrap it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
James911 Neutral Newbie December 31, 2008 Author Share December 31, 2008 Hmm me also quite keen in boosting my bass but no space except for passenger seat bottom (also limited due to some weird electronic switch there). Also, if you put it under the seat, and if the passenger adjusted the seat downwards, will it hit the woofer? Me a bit keen to use my old 8" speakers from my previous car where I used them as woofers. Thinking of DIYing a box and putting it below the passenger seat.....or perhaps paying $100 for someone to build a box for me. But $100 for a active sub under the seat? Seems to be a fuzz free solution? Yeah. An active sub is good as it save space. I had heard a few demos. The bass cant be compared to the normal sub. Another thing I am afraid of is that if I am gonna drive a long legged guy behind, will he kick my active sub? Will he damage it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
James911 Neutral Newbie December 31, 2008 Author Share December 31, 2008 There's quite a few active sub in the market.. pioneer, alpine, steelmate, blaupunkt, etc.. Frankly, i would suggest getting one from audio workshop that does installation, unless u know how to DIY, then get from sim lim I heard SLT top floor carpark got a few ICE installers. The shops recommend me to let them install as they know each other. They can be liable if there is any problem. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...