Mazdaowner Moderator January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 Yah... those were the days. The there was also Humbrol paint, their enamel paint really very power, very glossy. Then later we got Tamiya Acrylics, which changed everything. At first when I came out, I was elated at not needing thinner to wash the paint brush, as it's water soluble. I was quite lucky as I amassed a small inventory of paints. Usually I can't wait to finish the models in one weekend. If you knew me then could just borrow my paint, then dun have to wait so long... hehehe You not that lau lah. Still younger then me. Yes, I remember Humbrol, Tamiya paints was like the in thing then, but still expensive. Last time, really man, do one model, have to go on pusar, to save money. Paints wise, I find Gunza to be the best, thinner wise, can use car paint thinner, so cheap for one really big tin. When paint drys up in teh bottle, just add thinner to re-activate it again, unlike some paints, Airfix one of them, how much thinner you add also useless. I donno if you remember, last time, no airbrush, to get that sort of effect, use toothbrush to spray paint on for that "dirty" look. whole table also kana. Then mother will kpkb. Tnen in the late 70s, (Malaysia cup time) they came out with seatbelts for aircrafts, and it was sooo cool then to have it installed into the cockpit of the plane, then came out miniature buckles and harness. wah, tweezers all come out, go pasar malam buy cheaper then getting Tamiya ones. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sofarsogood Clutched January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 there is one shop in vivocity on the 2nd floor a few shops to the right of the canon shop (the camera shop which only showcase canon products) it is near the cinema maybe i inject you with more poison mid $ range remote control model tanks: http://www.vstank.com/vspro/home/home.html Where in Singapore can find these tanks? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 To think I used to scrimp and saved to buy models and paints. But the new kits nowadays are really Most likely I'll just buy and collect the kits. I have a small collection of F1 and car model kits in my study room, and a few out of production AirFix WW1 planes. But most likely I'll try to buy those really obscure and out of production stuff to collect. When I was pre-secondary age, I have 2 vices - every week would go and buy a copy of Beano and built plastic models. So much so that when I was in Sec 2, got a telling off from parent then stopped. I built a airbase using plywood, dreaming Singapore will have this and that fighter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 Where in Singapore can find these tanks? Miniature Hobby at Vivocity and Marina Square (both near the cinema) sells WSN 1/16 Tanks - Sometimes have sometimes don't have. Time Machine Studios at Millenia Walk sells VS Tanks Suntec lvl 3 also got 1 toy shop selling VS Tanks Simei got one teenie weenie model shop at Eastpoint also selling VS Tank Action Toyz sells 1/16 Heng Long tanks at Harbourfront Lvl 1, Millenia Walk, Parkway Parade. I think Hitachi Towers also have. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 When I was pre-secondary age, I have 2 vices - every week would go and buy a copy of Beano and built plastic models. So much so that when I was in Sec 2, got a telling off from parent then stopped. I built a airbase using plywood, dreaming Singapore will have this and that fighter. Wah... you really hardcore! Can build using plywood! Nowadays kids just don't have our kind of imagination and creativity. All they seem to know is PSP nowadays. Compared to our generation, our vices were so much better. heheh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sofarsogood Clutched January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 Where to buy Tamiya RC tanks? The Stargek site only got Leopard and Tiger tanks. No Abrams or chieftain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 Where to buy Tamiya RC tanks? The Stargek site only got Leopard and Tiger tanks. No Abrams or chieftain. Those are the only two models they have on sale here. You'd have to look overseas to get the others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chaihot5 Neutral Newbie January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 Where to buy Tamiya RC tanks? The Stargek site only got Leopard and Tiger tanks. No Abrams or chieftain. As far as i know, Tamiya hasn't come out the Abrams or the Chieftain model yet. Now is juz WWII Tanks. :) Cheers Andrew Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 As far as i know, Tamiya hasn't come out the Abrams or the Chieftain model yet. Now is juz WWII Tanks. :) Cheers Andrew Sorry, thought he meant the model kit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 Where to buy Tamiya RC tanks? The Stargek site only got Leopard and Tiger tanks. No Abrams or chieftain. Tamiya have the following RC Tanks in 1/16 scale - Sherman - Pershing - Panther - Tiger - King Tiger - Pzr IV - Leopard 2A6 (Only modern tank) Stargek is the official distributor but they sell at an insanely expensive price. There is a RC shop on 2nd floor of Orchard Plaza (Next to Orchard OG) . They sell cheaper but waiting time is 2 weeks. Another alternative is to buy from those Hong Kong sellers on EBay. Even with shipping charges, it is still cheaper than the list price at Stargek. Since Tamiya is a big ticket item, shop around 1st and do your own homework. Please note that you still need a 4 channel RC controller, battery and model building supplies to make the tank operational. Set aside at least 1 week of building time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 Tamiya have the following RC Tanks in 1/16 scale - Sherman - Pershing - Panther - Tiger - King Tiger - Pzr IV - Leopard 2A6 (Only modern tank) Stargek is the official distributor but they sell at an insanely expensive price. There is a RC shop on 2nd floor of Orchard Plaza (Next to Orchard OG) . They sell cheaper but waiting time is 2 weeks. Another alternative is to buy from those Hong Kong sellers on EBay. Even with shipping charges, it is still cheaper than the list price at Stargek. Since Tamiya is a big ticket item, shop around 1st and do your own homework. Please note that you still need a 4 channel RC controller, battery and model building supplies to make the tank operational. Set aside at least 1 week of building time. That's why I went for Heng Long, finish building, dowan and dare not bring out to play. 4 channel and tank plus painting and all, chow chow also 1k plus. Tamiya is power no doubt, local agent here is high priced, unlike the old dealer, Tai Seng at Jalan Sultan. They had a clearing sale when the dealership was taken form them, some of the kits were going for 50% or more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 That's why I went for Heng Long, finish building, dowan and dare not bring out to play. 4 channel and tank plus painting and all, chow chow also 1k plus. Tamiya is power no doubt, local agent here is high priced, unlike the old dealer, Tai Seng at Jalan Sultan. They had a clearing sale when the dealership was taken form them, some of the kits were going for 50% or more. I play with my Tamiyas outdoors. When properly built, they are quite sturdy. But of course I won't use them to ram trees or fly off ramps. The main threats come from dogs and little children. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 I play with my Tamiyas outdoors. When properly built, they are quite sturdy. But of course I won't use them to ram trees or fly off ramps. The main threats come from dogs and little children. I don't know if you heard of Tokyo Marui? Their product lines are very good quality, even, sorry to say, Tamiya has a hard time keeping up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 VS Tank is based on Tokyo Marui right? Both 1/24? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 (edited) VS Tank is based on Tokyo Marui right? Both 1/24? I don't really know about that, but if you check out Tokyo Marui products, their quality is really top notch. I have a few of their products, one being a RC Godzilla which was manufactured in the early 90s, walks, turns, growls, 6 channel control, realistic that you can use as a movie prop. My only beef with it is that the RC control unit's buttons all disintegrated after so many years, still can control, only you have to push your finger into the recess to press the internal button, but besides that, great quality. BTW, if in Japan or Hong Kong check out their Airsoft 1/1 scale weapons, powered by a 7.2volt battery, you can't even tell the difference from a real one. Not allowed here of course. So don't have thoughts of bringing one back. Edited January 21, 2009 by Mazdaowner Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackmore 1st Gear January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 Tamiya is power no doubt, local agent here is high priced, unlike the old dealer, Tai Seng at Jalan Sultan. They had a clearing sale when the dealership was taken form them, some of the kits were going for 50% or more. Dealership taken away ? I thought it was a break away from Tai Sheng. I still see the same old man there in Stargek from Tai Sheng. Some of the kits still goes for 50% on sales period. Usually, these are dead kits which nobody wants. I would go there especially on festive or gazetted school holidays where the sales promo would cover a good range. Well, its been a long presence for Tamiya in Singapore from Hua Hua days to Tai Sheng and now to Stargek. Tamiya sure never compromise about the quality of its kits except its high pricing issue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sofarsogood Clutched January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 Thank you all. Looks like got to hunt around. Don't really like WWII tanks leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 Dealership taken away ? I thought it was a break away from Tai Sheng. I still see the same old man there in Stargek from Tai Sheng. Some of the kits still goes for 50% on sales period. Usually, these are dead kits which nobody wants. I would go there especially on festive or gazetted school holidays where the sales promo would cover a good range. Well, its been a long presence for Tamiya in Singapore from Hua Hua days to Tai Sheng and now to Stargek. Tamiya sure never compromise about the quality of its kits except its high pricing issue. Was it a break away? Not what I heard from Tai Seng. I don't know which old guy you're talking about, I normally deal with the lady in the department, she's still around in Tai Seng, donno about the dead kits or what, but Tai Seng was clearing stock when they stated the dealership was no longer theirs. Long time back, Tamiya kits were still ok, and had brands like Hasegawa fighting for market share, the dealer was at Seletar,at that time. (early 80s) Have you noticed that the kits now seem simpler? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...