Mazdaowner Moderator January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 VS Tank and Heng Long both cost around $180? This is based on memory, I bought them many years ago. You might as well get one with RC features since the decent looking static display tanks aren't much cheaper. There are also ready built static display aircraft built by Dragon, Hobby Master, Franklin Mint and a few others. Price is from about $50 to a few hundred. The most tok kong is this 1/16 scale series of aircraft. The length is can be more than 50 cm. You can see them at the Vivocity shop or at Millenia Walk. Basket, he ask you simple question, you poison him. Wait he buy, ownself keep and do. [laugh] TS, "Welcome....to the DARK SIDE...." [laugh] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 VS Tank and Heng Long both cost around $180? This is based on memory, I bought them many years ago. You might as well get one with RC features since the decent looking static display tanks aren't much cheaper. There are also ready built static display aircraft built by Dragon, Hobby Master, Franklin Mint and a few others. Price is from about $50 to a few hundred. The most tok kong is this 1/16 scale series of aircraft. The length is can be more than 50 cm. You can see them at the Vivocity shop or at Millenia Walk. Basket, he ask you simple question, you poison him. Wait he buy, ownself keep and do. [laugh] TS, "Welcome....to the DARK SIDE...." [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 Anyone know wat is the price diff between a static display set (not assemble) and RC controlled (assemble or not assemble??) Tanks? Aircrafts? Which one? RC Tanks, $50 for 1/32 and $150+ for 1/16 Heng Long brand. Tamiya, mai kong, kong liow, sim tia. ($1000 is a modest figure ok?) Display, average say $50 to $100, roughly, depends on the scale and brand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 so far, i only fly nitro "prop" planes..I know Yc86 is pretty good in RC heli though.. I'm not in danger of starting my nonsense of getting into the hobby again. Heli nowadays quite cheap, there's a shop at Jalan Basah, they sell parts, controls, servos, etc... NO, NO, STOP! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 I only heard of Tamiya, AirFix and Hasegawa. Today, after 36 years, I learn another made - Heng Long. You forgot Revell, Heng Longis not a model kit brand, RC tanks only. David, see this: Click here also : BUY ME!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 Now, I see the price of a Tamiya 1/35 Tiger Tank, my jaw drop, how a modern kids (Primary/ Secondary) now afford the $ & time to play? unless with strong parents support. last time i always drool when i saw the model aircraft carrier in the showcase of my sec sch... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 so far, i only fly nitro "prop" planes..I know Yc86 is pretty good in RC heli though.. My time, no such thing, the in was "Glow" fuel. And it was blard expensive just for one small can. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 Orchard store date back to the early 60s. My Dad did models then as well and got it from them. Cars would line up like crazy as well, when Space 1991 was a hit and the Eagle Transporter model kit by Airfix was selling like hotcakes then. I think Orchard Store is on its final legs. Not trying to be insensitive but after the old man goes, don't know who will take over. Model building is not really dying, it's more like old time model shops never keep up with market trends. Nowadays, I think people rather go to Sunshine Plaza than those once famous dinosaurs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 I went on to do garage kits, vinyl kits, and resin kits. I stopped for many years now, concentrating on my vintage 1/6 action figures. My kids still do them, Gundam, aircrafts, tanks. Hey, have you tried the R/C "jet" F-18 Hornet yet? Where is Adrianli, that guy is also in Daddyhobby forum. yah man, this kind of topic must have Adrain he is the king of helicopter and boats Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 I think Orchard Store is on its final legs. Not trying to be insensitive but after the old man goes, don't know who will take over. Model building is not really dying, it's more like old time model shops never keep up with market trends. Nowadays, I think people rather go to Sunshine Plaza than those once famous dinosaurs. Yeah, I know what you mean, I believe the old man has left already. The bothers fall out with each other many years ago, with the younger one opening a outlet on his own His name is Mok) at Far East Plaza, of which he sold it off and migrated over to Australia. The old shop, is run by his elder brother, (Francis) I haven't been there for many, many years now. Their prices are high, without a doubt. And yes, I'd best be at Sunshine Plaza then there, paints wise, I used to get from a shop at Bras Basah, Gunza, that closed down, and I ordered directly from Japan. Much cheaper. I still have my two airbrushes, and three boxes of paints and thinners, sandpapers in my cupboard. Nowadays no time to do any model, but I still love the hobby, my youngest son wanted to do some planes, now he;'s working, also no time to sit down and do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 yah man, this kind of topic must have Adrain he is the king of helicopter and boats Yeah, I saw his boat video on Daddyhonny.com, self made, damn power. I prefer to buy ready made, cheaper, langa or crash, bo chap, play value only. Have you tried the micro chopper they sell in shopping centres? My son bought one, played indoors, not bad really. Laga into the back of my head, kana farked, because I was fixing something. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forhod Clutched January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 Hobby Point in Jurong closed down liao..in fact, the whole Jurong Entertainment Centre closed down.. Thanks for the head up! I only been to the Suntec, Tiong Bahru & Century Square branches before. Thanks ! At least that mystery has been solved; will try to visit them when I am around that area. Haha, that place really need to recce. I also couldn't find them when I go there for the first time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 Have you tried the micro chopper they sell in shopping centres? My son bought one, played indoors, not bad really. Laga into the back of my head, kana farked, because I was fixing something. You mean the Picco Z? I bought one a few years back and demonstrated it's prowess during a X'mas gathering. Heli flew too close to the aircon, lost control and plunged towards the sofa causing its occupants to dive for cover. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 You mean the Picco Z? I bought one a few years back and demonstrated it's prowess during a X'mas gathering. Heli flew too close to the aircon, lost control and plunged towards the sofa causing its occupants to dive for cover. Yeah, that's the one, got it also like 2 years back or less. Still on the table, every now and then it'll fly around to disturb my cats. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 last time i always drool when i saw the model aircraft carrier in the showcase of my sec sch... To think I used to scrimp and saved to buy models and paints. But the new kits nowadays are really Most likely I'll just buy and collect the kits. I have a small collection of F1 and car model kits in my study room, and a few out of production AirFix WW1 planes. But most likely I'll try to buy those really obscure and out of production stuff to collect. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 To think I used to scrimp and saved to buy models and paints. But the new kits nowadays are really Most likely I'll just buy and collect the kits. I have a small collection of F1 and car model kits in my study room, and a few out of production AirFix WW1 planes. But most likely I'll try to buy those really obscure and out of production stuff to collect. You remind of last time, when one small tin of Airfix paint cos S$1.20 and that was already bad enough, early 70s, $1 was big then. Yeah, like 4 bullock cart wheel. Buy the paint, have to tahan, then buy the small, glass bottle of thinner, siao man, but the time could get all the paints bought for the model, it was like already 4 months. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched January 21, 2009 Share January 21, 2009 You remind of last time, when one small tin of Airfix paint cos S$1.20 and that was already bad enough, early 70s, $1 was big then. Yeah, like 4 bullock cart wheel. Buy the paint, have to tahan, then buy the small, glass bottle of thinner, siao man, but the time could get all the paints bought for the model, it was like already 4 months. Yah... those were the days. The there was also Humbrol paint, their enamel paint really very power, very glossy. Then later we got Tamiya Acrylics, which changed everything. At first when I came out, I was elated at not needing thinner to wash the paint brush, as it's water soluble. I was quite lucky as I amassed a small inventory of paints. Usually I can't wait to finish the models in one weekend. If you knew me then could just borrow my paint, then dun have to wait so long... hehehe ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...