Scratches on windscreen...

Anakusop

is there any way to remove fine scratches on windscreens?

scratches were due to useless wipers i recently bought...

can definitely see it wen the sun or headlights shines on it...

Difficult lah. I ever ask the person who repair a coin size crack on my windscreen before. He said small chips and fine scratches cannot repair. Or if you dun mind the trouble you can claim the windscreen from your insurance. Either you pay $107 or no need to pay depending on your car insurance.

Woah. How do you repair a crack on a windscreen?

If you claim from your car insurance, will they increase the premium the next year?

usually, very small holes like few mm can be still repair but long cracks and scatches no possible.

Depending on your insurance coy u r in, usually for windscreen claim will not affect ur NCD.

but i heard from somewhere before can be removed by machine polish or wat if the scratch is thin leh.....

haiyah...... very irritating wen driving at night wen cars headlamp shine on the windscreen..... [shakehead]

I drive a 10 years old car and my windscreen also suffers same issue - scratches

I have tried many methods, but only one helps to reduce it, i.e. :

1) Polish my windscreen with M#105 ( Ultra Cut Compound ) by hand, until clean clean. So, the reflection is reduced. Meguiar's forum suggested M#04 ( Heavy Cut Cleaner ).

2) Some advised me to use rain-x to "protect" it after the effort, but I didn't as I am using silicon wipers.

So, you might want to try...

thnx bro!! will try this guy....

reasonable pricing i hope...

hahaahaar since u driving porsche don noe ur reasonable n my reasonable same or not..... [drivingcar]

I believe Hypercoat sell Meguiar's product. You can google and call them.

But M#105 merely cleans the scratches so that they are not that obvious. It does not "flatten" the glass to become smooth.

is there any way to remove fine scratches on windscreens?

scratches were due to useless wipers i recently bought...

can definitely see it wen the sun or headlights shines on it...

Bro, I also had a long scratch on my windscreen after an idiot from a gas station cleaned my windscreen with a wiper. I found a guy who repaired such scratches - good workmanship and reasonable price. I'm not sure if it's the same guy as bro "legendary" has recommended you. If you need, PM me and I'll give you the contact. [thumbsup]

some scratches will compromise structural integrity of windscreen, such that at high speed or when normal speed+rain, the windscreen suddenly shatter when driving.

pls be careful and check

haha, dun worry, definitely reasonable price for the effort he put in...

My scratch was caused by my own wiper - i think a small stone fell on the wiper and i swiped my windscreen without knowing, thus causing the scratch...

Anyway, the guy shared with me that what he was actually doing was making the scratch BIGGER by polishing i.e. make it thicker! the reason why you can see the scratch is coz it's too fine! Strange but true... haha...

I know the feeling.

Your windscreen is your view all the time, once you step into the car.

The more $$$ you have paid for the car, the more heart pain you will get.

sometimes its quite distracting for me wen driving....

tend to concentrate on the scratches..... something wrong in my head lar..... [sweatdrop][drivingcar]