Novena Church Case - Whooooooo!

Yes...I know where you coming from.

But don't forget also that the church goers are supposed to understand the meaning of forgive, forget and help those who are sinful and in trouble.

As a christian myself, if the priest come forward and says that part of the money I give every week will be used to help this folly woman, I would understand. I may be upset, but I will understand why the church does that. But I would expect that the woman be penalised in some other ways, like helping in some of the church community services.

To me, this is better than using the money to build a super church like the ones we know. At least the church shows its Christianity teachings and use the money to save and turn a person into good.

So does it mean that a person who committed a murder, before sentencing to death can be redeemed by repenting...then...whats the purpose of letting him 'feel' the pain to fully understand whats going behind the scene?

The sinner sld be made to understand there is a consequence for every action and that only when u face the consequence sld u be able to repent...

I think a person who committed a crime sld go through a punishment before he can redeem himself.

Even God is not all forgiving if u read the bible...I remembered God cursed and dammed as mentioned in bible too. ;p

Edited by Babyt

In the first place if she didn't have the intent, there wouldn't be all this writing off debt in the first place.

Of all places to con, a church. Am ubber glad that the church won. Kudos to a good legal team and the strong backing of supporters.

She reminds me of a Pharisee who failed to bring down Jesus. LOL.

At last , Justice is served...... She is a pro CON and she has done it before using the same ruse . I feel that the Church should get every penny it has been awarded and that she should bear all the cost of trying to cheat innocent people.

So does it mean that a person who committed a murder, before sentencing to death can be redeemed by repenting...then...whats the purpose of letting him 'feel' the pain to fully understand whats going behind the scene?

The sinner sld be made to understand there is a consequence for every action and that only when u face the consequence sld u be able to repent...

I think a person who committed a crime sld go through a punishment before he can redeem himself.

Even God is not all forgiving if u read the bible...I remembered God cursed and dammed as mentioned in bible too. ;p

Punishment in terms of community services can? [rolleyes]

Anyway I am just speaking from the christianity teachings point of view. Christians can be quite a weird bunch. Few years back, can't remember the priest name, but there was this priest who swindle 5.1 million off the church. I was cursing but more than half of the church goers say "forgive him"....

if a priest can swindle off 5.1 million dollars and yet can be "forgiven", then the church should show more forgiveness to this common sister.

Edited by Starry

Anyway I am just speaking from the christianity teachings point of view. Christians can be quite a weird bunch. Few years back, can't remember the priest name, but there was this priest who swindle 5.1 million off the church. I was cursing but more than half of the church goers say "forgive him"....

if a priest can swindle off 5.1 million dollars and yet can be "forgiven", then the church should show more forgiveness to this common sister.

I'm sure what he 'owed' he still owed, and not written off, as what you suggested for the con woman at 1st as a sign of forgiveness. In this con woman case, it's similar, what she owed , she still has to pay imo.

But I'm sure the church will not alienate both of them and would welcome them back if they happen to choose catholicism as their faith in future. That imo is forgiveness enough..

if this is going to drive the woman bankrupt, I feel the church should have come forward and totally waive off all their cost and fees if any.

Afterall, the church and the priest should forgive and forget and help those in trouble.

Always remember these sayings, regardless of what or who is involved;

Play with fire, get burn by fire. Live by the sword, die by it.

And anyway, this woman's brain needs exercising - not exorcism.

She needs a good hard lesson, in GREED.

I think she can write a book on this and earn some money to pay everyone cos I dun think geylang will take her. [lipsrsealed]

She can't afford to pay the printers, and her book may not even sell......

Yes...I know where you coming from.

But don't forget also that the church goers are supposed to understand the meaning of forgive, forget and help those who are sinful and in trouble.

As a christian myself, if the priest come forward and says that part of the money I give every week will be used to help this folly woman, I would understand. I may be upset, but I will understand why the church does that. But I would expect that the woman be penalised in some other ways, like helping in some of the church community services.

To me, this is better than using the money to build a super church like the ones we know. At least the church shows its Christianity teachings and use the money to save and turn a person into good.

In this case, it's not that the church seeking to penalise her for bringing a wrongful trial against them.

They incurred a lot of time and costs to defend themselves, had they not defended themselves vigorously, they would had to pay the plaintiff untold damages which is really not worthwhile. So it is not a matter of forgive and forget. Neither is this a case of punishing them for wrongful accusations. It's just a reap what you sow kind of thing.

If she had to be bankrupted and lost everything, then be it. Did she every think about how bring this wrongful suit against people might have also exposed them to potential financial ruin as well?

In this case, it's not that the church seeking to penalise her for bringing a wrongful trial against them.

They incurred a lot of time and costs to defend themselves, had they not defended themselves vigorously, they would had to pay the plaintiff untold damages which is really not worthwhile. So it is not a matter of forgive and forget. Neither is this a case of punishing them for wrongful accusations. It's just a reap what you sow kind of thing.

If she had to be bankrupted and lost everything, then be it. Did she every think about how bring this wrongful suit against people might have also exposed them to potential financial ruin as well?

her GREED and the family as well clouded her mind...and she bloody reaped what she deserved [furious]

forgiveness does not mean that one can get away scot free, without having to face any consequences. so do you NEVER punish your kids? spare the rod lah [rolleyes]

another practical reason mentioned by many others is that it sets a precedent. the priest u mentioned, i dunno the case, but he must be made to pay back the money. if he was sued bankrupt that would be good.

if elite can get away with their nonsense, does that mean common folk also can get away? there are double standards la. church is also a humanly-run organisation. so dun compare the priest with this biatch.

March 16, 2009

Novena 'exorcism' case

Ordered to pay $372,000

By Khushwant Singh

Madam Amutha Valli Krishnan had unsuccessfully sued the church, two priests and six church goers for psychiatric ailments resulting from what she claimed was an exorcism ritual. -- ST PHOTO: ALBERT SIM

MADAM Amutha Valli Krishnan, 53, the woman who lost her suit in the 'exorcism case', has to pay costs of more than $372,000 for taking on the Novena Church.

She had unsuccessfully sued the church, two priests and six church goers for psychiatric ailments resulting from what she claimed was an exorcism ritual.

She may have to pay a further $92,600 in disbursements if the Supreme Court registrar orders her to.

After meeting her lawyer, Mr R.S. Bajwa, as well as the lawyers for the defendants in chambers on Monday, Justice Lee Seiu Kin ordered Madam Valli to pay the six church goers $300,000 in costs and disbursements, which include court filing fees and other paperwork.

She also has to pay $67,700 for disbursements to the church and Father Simon Tan, and another $5,000 for disbursements to Father Jacob Ong.

Other disbursements, amounting to $34,600 for the church and Father Simon, and $58,000 for Father Jacob, comprising largely of costs in getting psychiatrists to testify for the defence, were referred to the Supreme Court registrar to decide if the amount is fair and should be paid by Madam Valli.

Senior Counsel Jimmy Yim, who acted for Father Simon and Mr Tito Issac for the church and Father Jacob had not asked for their fees to be included in the costs.

This could probably amount to $1 million for the 32-day trial for the two teams of lawyers. 'If the lawyer does not charge his client fees, then he is not entitled to the costs' said Mr Bajwa.

MORAL OF THE STORY - DUN TAKE ON THE HIGHEST COURT, AKA HEAVEN! Serves them bloody right

Hahah that is the greatest joke ever. See her pathetic face you know she's not right in the mind....

This one is a real case of little black bird never die before.

Now backrupt her entire family ..

Anyone knows where she stays?

I wanna drive by and say OBIGUAT ..Neh Neh Neh Neh Neh... Poo poo...

you wan to have meetup there bo??? [bounce1][bounce1]

Anyone knows where she stays?

I wanna drive by and say OBIGUAT ..Neh Neh Neh Neh Neh... Poo poo...

she stays in ang mo kio..my bro in law ever seen her walking around bishan park.

Anyway, from today's New Paper, she said she has an apartment in Melbourne..so I think she can easily afford to pay off the cost...!!

At the onset of the trail, she was suing the church for $1,000,000.00. Had she won and depend on how much the court would direct, she would be very rich.

But now that she had lost, and she has to pay only $300,000.00. The church lawyers is waiving the charges. These $300,000.00 does not go to the 2 Fathers. They are not allowed to pocket anything. Minus whatever is due to the other defendants, the rest would have to be surrendered to the Archdiosese of Singapore, I believed. So the benefits would go to helping many who may seek the church for help or the church may use it to help others like some old folks' home.

you wan to have meetup there bo??? [bounce1][bounce1]

Why not?

ahahah

I think she needs to consult Linda Blair on how to do a good act...

and make up do play a part too,,,

ev_exorcist_070507_mn.jpg