Newbie_driver Neutral Newbie March 19, 2009 Author Share March 19, 2009 me too driving altis, personally find there is a little diff from 95 to 98, feel engine more smoother wit 98, 95 more rough. Power don't expect too much becos it is altis. Now using caltex platinum 98, got 16% discount. Now lagi smoother haha seems like quite a no. of pple support caltex 98 but than too bad, no caltex near my house and not worth for me to travel so far just to pump petrol, irregardless how gd the petrol is.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbie_driver Neutral Newbie March 19, 2009 Author Share March 19, 2009 Not unless the petrol has a special additive eg. V-power. Thus thats y some pple claim they feel more power when using it. Its the additive in the petrol that cause u to feel the difference most of the time. Not the RON level. Unless you are using a RON level lower than specified for your car, then the ignition will be retarded and result in sluggish engine performance. oh... does shell 98 has that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carlover76 Neutral Newbie March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 oh... does shell 98 has that? Each brand of petrol uses different type of additive and for Shell, they add in additive which you should have at least extra 50km per tank compared to any other brand of petrol you use. But overall, I find the petrol like no power when I step on accelerator compared to Caltex petrol as the Ron is higher than its own grade like RON98, the actual Ron is 99, not sure how true it is though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carlover76 Neutral Newbie March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 For those who pump their Caltex at the Braddell branch, you can collect the petrol receipt and exchange a goodie bag of drinks if you accumulate up to $340. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gizmo Clutched March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 For those who pump their Caltex at the Braddell branch, you can collect the petrol receipt and exchange a goodie bag of drinks if you accumulate up to $340. I'm starting to fill up at Braddel after my route travels there. Is the goodie bags change often? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carlover76 Neutral Newbie March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 I'm starting to fill up at Braddel after my route travels there. Is the goodie bags change often? Not sure leh, so far most goodie bags are filled with can drinks like Pokka Green Tea or White Chrysanthemum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 Now using caltex platinum 98, got 16% discount. Now lagi smoother haha How do u get 16% discount? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 Sengkang,woodlands no caltex! Think Caltex is sleeping Woodlands have lah.......... Along woodlands road....... Recalled 1 farnie incident........ Was gg to JB with 2 other frens in my car, but before that, had to fetch 1 of them from Sembawang then go topup to 3/4 tank. Went to the one at Woodlands Rd and felt strange that there was a long q. Time was around 11+ pm. Upon closer look, they were queuing for car wash instead. And the petrol station was closed!!! We were like WTF??!!! Aren't they supposed to be 24hrs??? Then went to the next closest one at Mandai Rd......... Same scenario again!!!! In the end, went to AMK to topup before gg in............. wasted so much time and petrol just to topup!!! And toopid 3/4 tank rule too! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 Woodlands have lah.......... Along woodlands road....... Recalled 1 farnie incident........ Was gg to JB with 2 other frens in my car, but before that, had to fetch 1 of them from Sembawang then go topup to 3/4 tank. Went to the one at Woodlands Rd and felt strange that there was a long q. Time was around 11+ pm. Upon closer look, they were queuing for car wash instead. And the petrol station was closed!!! We were like WTF??!!! Aren't they supposed to be 24hrs??? Then went to the next closest one at Mandai Rd......... Same scenario again!!!! In the end, went to AMK to topup before gg in............. wasted so much time and petrol just to topup!!! And toopid 3/4 tank rule too! You neber read my previous post ah Over there is like old JB station! I dun consider as Woodlands town,more for CCK north ppl. I dont like going there! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edmokh Neutral Newbie March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 I have both shell and caltex and here are my findings. Shell gives me 9.75% discount and shell points. It gives me better power and fc. can clock abt 550km per tank. Caltex gives me 16% and loyalty points. However, it only gives me about 500km. Currently on shell cos of the ongoing lucky draw. When it's over will go back to caltex. Caltex confirms makes the engine cleaner and makes the engine noise quieter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dennisk Clutched March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 yup...more discussion on Caltex Discount... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 absolutely right!...The grey one...I just renewed my Safra membership...now they issue new card, black n glossy one, quite nice. and yah 12% from Safra card and 5% cash rebate from Citi Dividend so total 17%...gd deal! woah not bad. in total 17% SAFRA card issit the grey colour 1 which saf gives? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 Bro, u mean Caltex claimed their ron 98 is equivalent to platinum grade now? or are they charging Platinum grade at ron98's price? yes... try caltex..98 not bad... their platinum (premium grade) is now 98... which means u are paying 98 grade pricing for platinum This is what they have declared... :) so its consider a good deal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear March 19, 2009 Share March 19, 2009 Now i get it liao....from Caltex.... Previous Name New Name New Prices (Effective from 7:00 am, 16/3/09) Nett Price After 5% Discount N/A Regular 92 with Techron S$1.536 S$1.459 Silver with Techron Premium 95 with Techron S$1.566 S$1.488 Gold with Techron N/A N/A N/A Platinum with Techron Platinum 98 with Techron S$1.670 (- $0.176) S$1.587 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic March 20, 2009 Share March 20, 2009 yes... try caltex..98 not bad... their platinum (premium grade) is now 98... which means u are paying 98 grade pricing for platinum This is what they have declared... :) so its consider a good deal It has a lot to do with marketing and making the public willing to pay a premium. So now, we found out that platinum is just 98, perhaps with a bit more cleaning additive. One day, you're going to find out the vpower is also nothing more than 98 with a wee bit more cleaning additive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngaiky83 Clutched March 20, 2009 Share March 20, 2009 absolutely right!...The grey one...I just renewed my Safra membership...now they issue new card, black n glossy one, quite nice. and yah 12% from Safra card and 5% cash rebate from Citi Dividend so total 17%...gd deal! Safra 12.1% + Citi Dividend [(100%-12.1%)x5%)]=4.395% Total = 16.495% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear March 20, 2009 Share March 20, 2009 One day, you're going to find out the vpower is also nothing more than 98 with a wee bit more cleaning additive. Don't forget the colouring. Shell 98 is green while V Power is blue. You will know if you ride motorbikes... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear March 20, 2009 Share March 20, 2009 Safra 12.1% + Citi Dividend [(100%-12.1%)x5%)]=4.395% Total = 16.495% Wahh !!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...