Hi bros...

could I check what cause my PC to keep re-booting? [bigcry]

Any experts out there can advise.... [blush]

Hi bros...

There's a virus / worm that's infecting many computers nowadays - I think it's called Conficker worm.

What you might want to do is download the removal /diagnostic tool into a thumb drive, boot up into Safe Mode, and then run the diagnostic tool. Typicall such things you can get from Symantec website.

Oh....errrr.... visit any prawn sites lately???? [grin]

My PC also went dead yesterday. Monitor keeps on going blank.

Sent down to Sim L S, saw the guy kept on pressing "ESC" and click something like "restore". 5mins later, PC came back to life. S$25 for the magic touch. Heng ma....dont need to buy need PC

could be due to virus infection.

if you have anti-virus install and is regulary updated (note: since your PC keeps on rebooting, there is a possibility the AV is not updated to the latest definition, then you may have to use the existing), then i suggest you power down the pc, then power up again...before it goes to the normal OS startup, press F8 to enter safe mode, activate your AV to scan the whole machine.

The problem is every monring when I switched on the PC, everything is ok but after a while (say less a few minutes) it suddently re-booted....and keep on re-booting.

So I switch off the PC and wait for a while and switch on again.

At time it is ok....no more re-booting....but sometimes it will re-boot in the afternoon or anytime in the days as when it feel like.

Care to advise what cause it?

I'm using Norton 360 with auto updates.

No surf prawn site at all.

Every morning can boot to windows....but after a while re-boot liao.

The problem is every monring when I switched on the PC, everything is ok but after a while (say less a few minutes) it suddently re-booted....and keep on re-booting.

At time it is ok....no more re-booting....but sometimes it will re-boot in the afternoon or anytime in the days as when it feel like.

umm... sounds like an overheating issue here........ or dying ram...... [sweatdrop]

Overhead more like cause the display to go wierd first, then things hang.

Sound more like virus....

If yours is a desktop, check the cooling fan. Had exactly this problem some time last year. Feared the worst (virus or hardware problem), but my regular computer technician found that the fan wasn't working, possibly causing the computer to reboot by itself to protect against overheating (that's what he explained to me, I would think that it would shut down completely, but it just rebooted every now and then. I'm a total idiot when it comes to anything computer-related, so I'll leave it at that). Anyway, changed the fan and the problem never came back.

Hi bros...

There are many possibilities for pc rebooting.

If it reboots while in windows (normal use), high possibility it is hardware problem. Encountered once, more than 3/4 the capacitors on my motherboard were "bloated". DIY to replace them and the rebooting stops. System works fine till now.

If not, try formatting ur harddisk and reinstalling your windows, see if it helps.

Other components may also be faulty, best to reinstall windows to rid of any hardware setting conflicts and viruses before moving on to hardware troubleshooting.

dun be fool by the fact the PC in aircon room will not overheat....check the capacitors for any bloatness, it happened to me b4, company PC keeps on rebooting, DELL technican came down, inspect mother board, saw few capacitors bloated, changed to new motherboard and it works fine.

hmm...will take note thks...will start with safe mode and scan for viruses...

visual check....fans are working fine.

Edited by Tricor

no virus detected after virus scan in safe mode....

wonder what causes it to re-boot every morning [confused]

There's a virus / worm that's infecting many computers nowadays - I think it's called Conficker worm.

What you might want to do is download the removal /diagnostic tool into a thumb drive, boot up into Safe Mode, and then run the diagnostic tool. Typicall such things you can get from Symantec website.

Oh....errrr.... visit any prawn sites lately???? [grin]

Buy prawns online? Now so advanced arhh?

Must have kena virus liao, if everything else cannot work may have to reformat HD [sweatdrop]

Got it once . . . aHEM. [lipsrsealed]