Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 (edited) Have some questions on getting a maid, hope bros/sis here can advise. Im looking for a maid to take care of my kids, a 2yr old staying at home all the time and 6yrs old, need to bring to/fro K2. Next year starting Primary 1. Have to cook meals for kids. House chords no need to do all, we can crip in to help. Prority is taking care my kids. Most probably a indo maid. Browse through the internet and found Natxxx website looks most decent. Can do a maid search and see the maid's details. Drop by the outlet with a shortlist of maids and to enquire further. Found out the agency cant guarrentee the accuracy of the details. And also there seems to be several options to get the maid. 1) those without passports - waiting time 6-8 weeks. 2) those with passport - waiting time 3-4 weeks. 3) those sitting around at the outlet - paper work takes 7 days. Can interview on the spot, but most of them cant understand english, can only nod the head when asked questions(in english). Have anyone got a maid through this agency before ? The average $350 to $400 mthly pay for a experience Indo maid seems rather expensive. Is it ok to just go to any neighbour maid agency ? Transfer maid is consider problematic ones ? New maid will teach until vomit blood ? In short, any matters related to maid, kindly highlight it here. Cos I dont even know what kind of maid questions to ask. Only know both me or wify is not the stay at home permanently type of peson. So pls guide me if possible. If too sensitive, can PM me. Many Many Thanks in advance. Edited April 22, 2009 by Hiphiphoray ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iziz Clutched April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 To cut a long story short, despite all e efforts u put in, it is still like buying lottery... A good maid can turn bad in a instant when things happen (got bf, kena dump, family at home got tai chi, etc) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 Pay abit more to get experience maid lor. Choosing maids depends on ur luck. Sitting ard outlets not necessary bad ones. The pay for maids are ard tat price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 language barrier is always a torny issue, so that makes the indon maid less ideal, while the philipino maids who can speak good english are ideal in this sense. but philipino maids tend to be more proud and they tend to be more assertive and translate to less obedient since they have a mind of their own. My own experience with Indon maid is they are not smart and hence learn things slow, but they tend to be more obedient. You can read about maids from forums like www.idobaby.com and others. myself, I read a lot liao then started to have phobia after reading about a lot of bad maids. i think it really boils down to luck when choosing a maid. get a good one and you are luck. get a evil one and you have real nightmares. good luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 maybe can try your luck at cold storage message board, some experience maids waiting to be 'take over', but not sure this is possible (I never had a maid before!) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 assuming u r a boss, u pay peanuts u get monkey. also heng suay.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerms Clutched April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 i used to have a maid which i used for 2 years that is very bad... she talks on the HP all the time.. cooking also can chat.. 1 hand hold hp 1 hand cook. areas that we dun see she dun clean.. our clothes always fly away coz she nv clip properly... everyday there are leftover clothes to iron and we dun even have old ppl or other things for her to do other than cleaning and cooking meals. recently changes a new indo 1 who used to work in HK for 2 years.. so far so good. speaks to everyone in cantonese, works very well.. cooks well, even ask my mum if she could get some stuff from the market to make deserts for us. she also saves $$ for the family.. like not cooking too much food and making sure the rice is just nice or finished everyday. Maids are like 4D.. buy alot.. hard to tio.. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pcslim Neutral Newbie April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 Whichever maid you decide to employ, for the sake of your 2-yr old who will be spending most time with the maid, suggest to spotcheck personally or get some one to do so every now and then. Just to send a message to the maid not to mess around when u are not around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pcslim Neutral Newbie April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 Pay abit more to get experience maid lor. Choosing maids depends on ur luck. Sitting ard outlets not necessary bad ones. The pay for maids are ard tat price. Yeah. Sometimes experience ones may not be good also. They may have problems else where and then kena sent back. Based on my past expereience (nightmare, rather) of having a maid, the agency is not honest to give past history (esp bad ones) of the maids they have. So its back to heng suay. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 since we're on the topic of maids.... anyone can advise where can i source for part time cleaners? Basically, i just need somebody to come once every week for around 3-4 hours to do some basic cleaning and ironing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 Yeah. Sometimes experience ones may not be good also. They may have problems else where and then kena sent back. Based on my past expereience (nightmare, rather) of having a maid, the agency is not honest to give past history (esp bad ones) of the maids they have. So its back to heng suay. Best is not to have maid. Unless no choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 here's what you need to do. 1. Lower your expectation tremendously or should i say to zero. 2. bear in mind what they are trained to do may not be what you want them to do 3, Teach the maid everything & I mean everything including the bare basic. Assume you are teaching someone completely with no knowledge. 4. Be patient with them for 3-6 months. train them to have initiative & your priority. why I said this? for e.g. I just change to a new one and after ironing, while the iron is still hot, she wrap the cord around it. the 2 maids I have used their bare hands to wash knife when they first came. had to tell them to use scrubber. ask them don't climb to wipe windows they still do it . the 2 maids both started like robots, take instructions, execute. After some months, have more initiative. At the end of her term, Very good in managing the household. Too bad she's can't renew. Now have to train another. Some say look for Ex-Sing maids, they may be better train but no guarantee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 22, 2009 Author Share April 22, 2009 To cut a long story short, despite all e efforts u put in, it is still like buying lottery... A good maid can turn bad in a instant when things happen (got bf, kena dump, family at home got tai chi, etc) Ya i know how far they can go. My sisters' maid after finish contract, secretly cut thier clothes, pour powder into rice basket, hide broken plates in cupboards..............before leaving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 22, 2009 Author Share April 22, 2009 Pay abit more to get experience maid lor. Choosing maids depends on ur luck. Sitting ard outlets not necessary bad ones. The pay for maids are ard tat price. At the Natxxx outlet, they let us interview all the maids there. All indo maids. Chicken-Duck talk, damn stressfull. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 22, 2009 Author Share April 22, 2009 www.idobaby.com Shall read over it tonight. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shitcar Neutral Newbie April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 Maids can never be trusted... I swear!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 All by luck one, just dun choose one that is potential bangadesh magnet.... Good agency has better service I guess....I recommend Jack Focus. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carndablues Clutched April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 Since she will be taking care of your kids, remember to install a spy cam before she comes. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...