Maid Issues Pls advise

Hiphiphoray

i wished you had told me this earlier so that i can convinced mrs to let yati stay. she was good in most area and honest too. i remember when i sent her to airport myself, alone with her, her luggage weight exceeded and so had to pay $200. i then asked if she really needed those clothing or not. then we both went to macdonalds and took out everything and threw them away. in the end at the boarding gate, we held our hands tightly and didnt want to let go. i still remember she told me, 'sir, thank you sir, for being a nice sir'. but when i tell mrs that i regretted sending her home, wifey still insist she would, because she had mixed her dress with other colour and spoil it. haiz.

Once my friend told me about his story which is similiar to your situation...he sigh : "Right maid, Wrong wife......." [shocked][lipsrsealed]

Other than those cikopeh, think usually sir is nicier than mdm....probably guyusually more flexible about expectation? Incidentally, those who always have problem with maid, will always had....think it all voice down to both parties.

Another friend of mine told me he would rather become maid himself cos his is very sure his OC will have problem with maid, he said: "one char bo in my house already so much problem, can't imagine if got two...." [sweatdrop]

Sad to see some treat their maid like slave, cannot share table, cannot eat together, cannot take afternoon nap (even no one at home) and many many more.....afterall, its just few hundred doallars yet so high expectation... [shakehead]

My ex-neighbour's maid going line dance together with his wife, happy "family" indeed [thumbsup]

[flowerface]

If I may chip in.... sometimes we underestimate the costs of hiring a maid... or even their actual gross salary.. or opportunity cost.

let's take those Foreign worker working as sales/admin/clerical jobs in Singapore..

They could probably earn ~$2000. Out of this $2K, they have to pay:

1. Room rents $800 per month

2. Transportation to work daily $250 per month including weekends outings

3. Their daily meals $300 including weekends

4. Their home groceries/dried goods/drinks/cooking gas/water/electricity/broadband... $150

5. Miscellanous expenses $100

Total Cost: $1750

What's left for them ? $2000-$1600 = $400 ( do they have cpf deductions? .. )

$400 for savings/send home/send parents...

Maids earnings $350-$400... other expenses bourne by us the employer.. so in terms of gross income.. they are earning $2000... say equal to those working as clerks/admin/sales staff.

She don't pay rent at our place to stay and no needs to buy her daily foods, electricy/water/misc bills.

They need to spend nothing while working at our place.. nothing..

So I kind of disagree that their pay is peanuts... it's just that we oversight the other expenses that they are not paying.....

Edited by Quirky_ster

quirkey has a good point there. it never seize to amaze me that there is always something we can learn from one another here.

Sorry I disagree. Would you rather earn S$2,000 gross or S$200 net? Foreign worker working as sales/admin/clerical jobs in Singapore have plenty of freedom. Can do whatever they like, eat whatever, sleep with whoever...etc..etc

Maids have to stay at home 24 hrs a day, no weekends off, no handphone, look after kids/old people, kena scolding from lady bosses almost every other day or even in worse cases, kena all sorts of physical/sexual abuse.

I think Quirky's maths is a little generous

I agree the room & board is worth something, more realistically:

food $10 x 30 days - $300

room - $400 (one room rental, HDB flat)

transport - $150

all other expenses are extra and are not neccesities if you are coming here to work and repatriate funds

So if you want to count gross salary - it is say $1200.

the maid works 30 days a month with 1 off day.

working on average from 6am to 10 pm - thats 16 hour days.

$1200 / 480 hours = $2.50 per hour.

and they are treated like slaves, no freedom, cannot go out, kena scolding

if it is such a good job paying $2k, lots of locals will be signing up to be maids

this is the same argument that SAF uses to justify their pathetic pay for 18 yr old NSF! they tell you free room and free food, free physical training, free gym, free uniform etc ... yet everyone can't wait to ROD

Sorry I disagree. Would you rather earn S$2,000 gross or S$200 net? Foreign worker working as sales/admin/clerical jobs in Singapore have plenty of freedom. Can do whatever they like, eat whatever, sleep with whoever...etc..etc

Maids have to stay at home 24 hrs a day, no weekends off, no handphone, look after kids/old people, kena scolding from lady bosses almost every other day or even in worse cases, kena all sorts of physical/sexual abuse.

I almost never scold my maid.

Once my friend told me about his story which is similiar to your situation...he sigh : "Right maid, Wrong wife......." [shocked][lipsrsealed]

Other than those cikopeh, think usually sir is nicier than mdm....probably guyusually more flexible about expectation? Incidentally, those who always have problem with maid, will always had....think it all voice down to both parties.

Another friend of mine told me he would rather become maid himself cos his is very sure his OC will have problem with maid, he said: "one char bo in my house already so much problem, can't imagine if got two...." [sweatdrop]

Sad to see some treat their maid like slave, cannot share table, cannot eat together, cannot take afternoon nap (even no one at home) and many many more.....afterall, its just few hundred doallars yet so high expectation... [shakehead]

My ex-neighbour's maid going line dance together with his wife, happy "family" indeed [thumbsup]

[flowerface]

i agree the Men are usually the more flexible one....at least in my household. I always have to remind my OC not to take things for granted. When i order the maid to get something from the kitchen, i end the request with a "please". when she pass it to me, i end it with a "thanks". But once, i guess i carry things a bit too far when i called her "hey sister,...."...to me...calling sis is just like calling "Bro". OC was so angry man. So i am more careful these days.

I think Quirky's maths is a little generous

I agree the room & board is worth something, more realistically:

food $10 x 30 days - $300

room - $400 (one room rental, HDB flat)

transport - $150

all other expenses are extra and are not neccesities if you are coming here to work and repatriate funds

So if you want to count gross salary - it is say $1200.

the maid works 30 days a month with 1 off day.

working on average from 6am to 10 pm - thats 16 hour days.

$1200 / 480 hours = $2.50 per hour.

and they are treated like slaves, no freedom, cannot go out, kena scolding

if it is such a good job paying $2k, lots of locals will be signing up to be maids

this is the same argument that SAF uses to justify their pathetic pay for 18 yr old NSF! they tell you free room and free food, free physical training, free gym, free uniform etc ... yet everyone can't wait to ROD

It's ok to agree to disagree...

now I heard the transport company also offered the same thing to Mainland ppl to work as bus driver.. They paid like less than $1K but given all the perks.. lodging/transport/uniform... while local gets like $2.5K with no such benefits.. Am sure the local prefer the latter.

Like early years of police quarters... no doubt they have more things but lesser pay, ppl still prefer lesser dispossable income but bigger gross with more freedom. Because freedom is priceless.

My point is.... be it gross large amount or nett nett small amount, the difference is not much in terms of nett nett disposable income. Of course one works longer hours than the others. That's simply because one have better education opportunities than the other. But it's not like those better educated ones are earning 400% more than the maid here.

I agree the pay is not much but they are reasonable in context that's what I am driving at.

It will be a lose lose situations if we pay the maid $1400 and they don't stay with us and take lunch outside.. it just does not work out.

For TS,

my best advice is get someone who are experience, though you have to pay more, you get things done and most importantly some peace of mind. Give them the freedom of off day but set strict guidelines as what is your expectations by giving them these freedom. Remember that they don't think as logical as us, so go real slowly.. throw your expectations out of the window.. then you will be ok..

i heard that pinoy maids have this compulsory sunday-off privilege. any bros can confirm this?

as according to MOM guideline, they mat be granted 1 days off. But is up to the emploter/employee to enter into aggeement pay in liew of the days off. It must be agreed and stapulated in the employment agreement.

If u do not, the maid can bring up to the MOM to say that u din allow them off.

Have some questions on getting a maid, hope bros/sis here can advise.

Im looking for a maid to take care of my kids, a 2yr old staying at home all the time and 6yrs old, need to bring to/fro K2. Next year starting Primary 1. Have to cook meals for kids. House chords no need to do all, we can crip in to help. Prority is taking care my kids. Most probably a indo maid.

Browse through the internet and found Natxxx website looks most decent. Can do a maid search and see the maid's details. Drop by the outlet with a shortlist of maids and to enquire further. Found out the agency cant guarrentee the accuracy of the details. [dizzy] And also there seems to be several options to get the maid.

1) those without passports - waiting time 6-8 weeks.

2) those with passport - waiting time 3-4 weeks.

3) those sitting around at the outlet - paper work takes 7 days. Can interview on the spot, but most of them cant understand english, can only nod the head when asked questions(in english). [crazy]

Have anyone got a maid through this agency before ? The average $350 to $400 mthly pay for a experience Indo maid seems rather expensive. Is it ok to just go to any neighbour maid agency ? Transfer maid is consider problematic ones ? New maid will teach until vomit blood ?

In short, any matters related to maid, kindly highlight it here. Cos I dont even know what kind of maid questions to ask. Only know both me or wify is not the stay at home permanently type of peson. [laugh] So pls guide me if possible. If too sensitive, can PM me. Many Many Thanks in advance. [grouphug]

my advise..if u are new and no experience with maid...get a new wan...else the experience maid will manage u. u will pick along the way..

new and old may will make u vomit blood...

my belief,,,how you review the biodata(all the same), how you select,,goood or bad...IT IS ALL YOU LUCK...and good luck.

Im looking for a maid to take care of my kids, a 2yr old staying at home all the time and 6yrs old, need to bring to/fro K2. Next year starting Primary 1. Have to cook meals for kids. House chords no need to do all, we can crip in to help. Prority is taking care my kids. Most probably a indo maid.

Browse through the internet and found Natxxx website looks most decent. Can do a maid search and see the maid's details. Drop by the outlet with a shortlist of maids and to enquire further. Found out the agency cant guarrentee the accuracy of the details. [dizzy] And also there seems to be several options to get the maid.

3) those sitting around at the outlet - paper work takes 7 days. Can interview on the spot, but most of them cant understand english, can only nod the head when asked questions(in english). [crazy]

Have anyone got a maid through this agency before ? The average $350 to $400 mthly pay for a experience Indo maid seems rather expensive. Is it ok to just go to any neighbour maid agency ? Transfer maid is consider problematic ones ? New maid will teach until vomit blood ?

In short, any matters related to maid, kindly highlight it here. Cos I dont even know what kind of maid questions to ask. Only know both me or wify is not the stay at home permanently type of peson. [laugh] So pls guide me if possible. If too sensitive, can PM me. Many Many Thanks in advance. [grouphug]

my advise..if u are new and no experience with maid...get a new wan...else the experience maid will manage u. u will pick along the way..

my belief,,,how you review the biodata(all the same), how you select,,goood or bad...IT IS ALL YOU LUCK...and good luck.

Hi there, recently I met up with this Philipino girl. Whoever interested can contact her directly - her name is Beth 94689275. She looks after 3 young kids for her expat madam. The family are leaving town in 2 weeks time & this girl is desperately looking for new employer. She seems nice & gentle. Interview her yourself to see if she suits you.

Ever heard of maids slowly poisoning the babies?

some add stuff into food e.g. used sanitary napkins

Why don't wife does all works? Hire a maid, need to pay this and that, unless one of you is getting high pay, then you could say its worth. But don't forget, your kid(s) or family member is on other hands...safe?

getting a good maid is like buying lottery, good agency doesn't mean good maid, cheapo agency doesn't mean bad maid. We got maid since 95 till today, initially is to take car of my dad (passed away 3yrs ago) who suffer from stroke and now to look after my mum and also kids at home.

Kanna 2 times, maid run away and disappear for a few days and later ended up in Indonesia Embassy, got to cancel their permit and send them back. So far only encounter 3 maids (including the current one) that is ok with kids and able to