Ithunk 1st Gear July 12, 2009 Share July 12, 2009 With BBS rims, you're paying for quality and branding and design. But the only thing I DON'T associate with BBS rims is being light-weight --- yes, they can be lighter than stock steel rims but compared to other aftermarket rims, they are quite hefty -- stronger? dunno but certainly heavier. And for me, the deal breaker is the $$$$ price tag for BBS rims. well i think bbs rims are okay.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear July 12, 2009 Share July 12, 2009 at the end of the day racing is still dependent on the driver... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Billcoke 2nd Gear July 12, 2009 Author Share July 12, 2009 it's the same with why buy Conti or jap car when china made cars can bring you from point a to b. Such comparison never ends, Why Starbucks coffee when kopi-o cost only $0.90, why Omega when Casio tells the same time, the never ending why, why, why. But then what is the concern when the person can afford it??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear July 13, 2009 Share July 13, 2009 (edited) used to be stamford tyre the distrbutor here, but now never see anyone advertise. may be is a niche market and costly to carry them which not high demand here.\ you can see even Stamford also gave up so you can imaging how tought to be distributor haah coz i think they are concentrating on their own line of rim Edited July 13, 2009 by Sony Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear July 13, 2009 Share July 13, 2009 Somehow i feel that these high performance light-weight rims don look very nice. Either black of bronze or grey. Abit dull eh. some stuff have substances, not look. want look, then look at those taiwan cheap rims Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear July 13, 2009 Share July 13, 2009 Such comparison never ends, Why Starbucks coffee when kopi-o cost only $0.90, why Omega when Casio tells the same time, the never ending why, why, why. But then what is the concern when the person can afford it??? exactly the point I'm bringing across but if it's for discussion on the pro and con of rims, why not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jetabout777 1st Gear July 13, 2009 Share July 13, 2009 With BBS rims, you're paying for quality and branding and design. But the only thing I DON'T associate with BBS rims is being light-weight --- yes, they can be lighter than stock steel rims but compared to other aftermarket rims, they are quite hefty -- stronger? dunno but certainly heavier. And for me, the deal breaker is the $$$$ price tag for BBS rims. Agree on the weight. Was looking for 18" X 7.5 CK or CV. IIRC, both these weighed approx 15kg for each rim. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear July 13, 2009 Share July 13, 2009 May be you are right, I notice that my car roll further when I had my foot off the gas pedal, so I guess it has lesser rolling resistance than those stock rims. Saw BBS rims used by Ferraris in the F1 races, and they do have rims specially made for BMW and Ferrrai GT, check it out here: http://www.bbs.com/en/motorsports/motorsport-wheels.html Ferrari Formula One wheel type Ferrari GT BMW WTCC local rim maker Avanti also makes wheels for the Torro Rosso F1 team... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear July 16, 2009 Share July 16, 2009 why drive german cars and not jap, taiwan or china made cars? no offense to anyone, just using an analogy here. taiwan got make car??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear July 16, 2009 Share July 16, 2009 used to be stamford tyre the distrbutor here, but now never see anyone advertise. may be is a niche market and costly to carry them which not high demand here.\ you can see even Stamford also gave up so you can imaging how tought to be distributor haah SE tyres in Kaki Bukit brings in BBS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quickfusion Clutched June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 taiwan rims may look nice, may be cheap or alot cheaper. but their quality really cmi. initially i also changed to taiwan replicas from stock wheels thinking it the same thing, so many designs, so cheap. but after 2 months of usage, i felt vibration and wobble on my steering wheel, which led to the wheels not being balanced properly. bring back to place of purchase and do balancing, no improvement, go to another shop to balance, no improvement. changed tyres also no improvement. (the cheap rims came with cheap tyres so.... ) finally did high speed balancing for front 2 wheels and problem was minimized but still can feel my steering vibrate. fedup i changed to some proper conti rims and tada!!! problem solved... in the end, spent more than expected but was a safety issue so gotta spend. end of the day, see your luck, if you are willing to risk, then go ahead. you might get a good set of replica taiwan rims without any problems. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wallaw819 4th Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 (edited) Taiwan do make cars. Their Luxgen MPV and SUV are very nice. Look them up and hopefully can buy them soon when someone brings them in. Edited June 15, 2010 by Wallaw819 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 I can understand the benefit of using better tires for better grips, but why use expensive rims like BBS? what is the benefit? Because we live in a materialistic world.. that's why, especially for tangible stuff... that's interesting.... Just an analogy, for intangible stuff like food, people won't give 2 hoots about "branded" chicken rice (think Chatterbox ) vs "Kopitiam" chicken rice... because the "showing off" value preposition is lost once the food is consumed. But when it comes to tangible brands, consumers go gaga over brand names..... That's our world... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 u tio faked liao lol one year old thread u just replied to Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limiter Neutral Newbie June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 To TS, if you deem your question is not stupid. Then pls define poor man and rich man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 buying BBS is a bit like buying Luis Vuitton bags lor. Some buy bcos of show off, bcos the average BBS rim isnt that cheap. BBS do have very good n light rims, but they are far more costly than the equivalent JDM rims. U cant go wrong with BBS as some say, afterall they have been in motorsports for years, and are now supporting some of the best racing teams. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 Somehow i feel that these high performance light-weight rims don look very nice. Either black of bronze or grey. Abit dull eh. try these: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunnyr76 Neutral Newbie June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 to TS; u like ang moh blonde with brainless boobs, or japan kawaii race queens , or korean kimchi...? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...