HUD Speedometer

Macross1

Just an update, after comparing local options it is cheaper to get from Taiwan. Local options are all C&C which brings me to say this, the issue now is to find a shop that knows how to or can install this. I mean no point buying if it cannot be installed right?

I'm thinking since this HUD requires connection to the ECU to tap those information, probably those shops that install sport gauges (like Defi for example) should know how to do the connections and wiring? If anyone has a workshop that can do the shop to recommend send me a pm. If anyone knows the boss (Gary) of Gary's Engineering can help to ask too since he got it in his ride.

I might bring in 1 set from Taiwan to try it out first to see if can get it installed and working. If it works then maybe do a MO. Price for 1 set shipped to me is about $170-180 so should be less than that if MO.

Just an update, after comparing local options it is cheaper to get from Taiwan. Local options are all C&C which brings me to say this, the issue now is to find a shop that knows how to or can install this. I mean no point buying if it cannot be installed right?

I'm thinking since this HUD requires connection to the ECU to tap those information, probably those shops that install sport gauges (like Defi for example) should know how to do the connections and wiring? If anyone has a workshop that can do the shop to recommend send me a pm. If anyone knows the boss (Gary) of Gary's Engineering can help to ask too since he got it in his ride.

I might bring in 1 set from Taiwan to try it out first to see if can get it installed and working. If it works then maybe do a MO. Price for 1 set shipped to me is about $170-180 so should be less than that if MO.

thanks bro! there's another one called scan gauge II which gives gd info and much more too. Only that the display is not as impressive as the Taiwan one. See here http://www.geardiary.com/2007/06/10/the-li...auge-ii-review/

pls update us when u testing out... then we can come out la kopi and admire the work when it's installed. kin kin hor. kam sia

Hey bro thanks. My main reason to get HUD is because of the speed and rpm projection, so happens that model also comes with voltage and water temp readings so those are just extra for me. I wasn't looking for a device that can give me as much engine details as possible, I'm don't go tracking so I've no use for all these information. :D

I wanted the speed and rpm projection so I can just look on the road and still know those information without having to look down. That's the main thing. I don't want something like the scan guage where you still have to look down at the device while driving to see those information and it defeats the purpose of safer driving and convenience. Of course another reason is the cool graphics sure to impress people! Hahaha...

So it all depends on your requirements :D

Hey bro thanks. My main reason to get HUD is because of the speed and rpm projection, so happens that model also comes with voltage and water temp readings so those are just extra for me. I wasn't looking for a device that can give me as much engine details as possible, I'm don't go tracking so I've no use for all these information. :D

I wanted the speed and rpm projection so I can just look on the road and still know those information without having to look down. That's the main thing. I don't want something like the scan guage where you still have to look down at the device while driving to see those information and it defeats the purpose of safer driving and convenience. Of course another reason is the cool graphics sure to impress people! Hahaha...

So it all depends on your requirements :D

hey I agree... I am anxious to get the HUD that u recommended too. It looks gd and more impt displays essential info. Afterall, speed and RPM are most impt during driving... Thx a lot for the hardwork and rem to update asap. Thanks!

Ok I need to get some feedback, I found a local source (requested not to reveal in public) which sell and install the HUD. However the GB price I manage to negotiate is $280, maybe lesser if response is good. The usual price is somewhere near $400 and so the shop requested not to be named because the price they offer is considered low (as they claimed) and will only be offering this as one off thing. So my question is... what you think of the price?

I did ask if they willing to do installation if I didn't buy the HUD from them and bought from my own source and they said it's ok, labour/installation charge about $70. Everyone's expectations are different, for me I think $280 still a bit steep but I hope with large enough demand can negotiate lower. I probably be comfortable at $250, since they already been selling and doing installation they know what they are doing. Compared to say looking for another workshop which they might be able to do and maybe lower installation fee but still new to the device after all.

Let me know what you guys think.

great bro!

if we buy from taiwan, we can probably bargain down to about 150 then plus 70 for installation, it'll be abt 220. But if got defect pieces then troublesome. plus the whole hassle of arranging overseas delivery.

I agree with you 280 is a bit ex. If we can get to 250, it'll be ideal. Although lower still will be even better :)

bro Noelleon69, thanks a lot for ur effort. seriously, when we all go fix together, I buy u Kopi ok. ha. kam sia

1 more thing to note. Upon reading carefully, I realised that there are 3 models:

1) standard (lighting color is green)

2) fashionable (lighting color is white)

3) professional (lighting color is white, can display water temp n voltage)

Which model is the local shop giving us? Personally I just need number 2. Coz green lighting a bit obiang, ha. Of course it's best if we can have 3

http://tw.page.bid.yahoo.com/tw/auction/d37896701

Edited by Tubecreamer

The price listed in the auction is about SGD180... mayb plus shipping is about SGD30 more..

your source too ex liao.

if is about SGD 150 i am interested too.

The price listed in the auction is about SGD180... mayb plus shipping is about SGD30 more..

your source too ex liao.

if is about SGD 150 i am interested too.

hi muz be a bit realistic.

if u win auction plus shipping, it's $210. Plus local installation at $70. Total is $280. Plus no warranty against product defect.

Ok I need to get some feedback, I found a local source (requested not to reveal in public) which sell and install the HUD. However the GB price I manage to negotiate is $280, maybe lesser if response is good. The usual price is somewhere near $400 and so the shop requested not to be named because the price they offer is considered low (as they claimed) and will only be offering this as one off thing. So my question is... what you think of the price?

I did ask if they willing to do installation if I didn't buy the HUD from them and bought from my own source and they said it's ok, labour/installation charge about $70. Everyone's expectations are different, for me I think $280 still a bit steep but I hope with large enough demand can negotiate lower. I probably be comfortable at $250, since they already been selling and doing installation they know what they are doing. Compared to say looking for another workshop which they might be able to do and maybe lower installation fee but still new to the device after all.

bro,

the price of 280 is with installation? also one of the bro here mention that they are three models so which model are they selling?

bro can show a pic of a sample?

get a few pics of it in action then it'll be good