What car would you buy if you earned 8k a month?

Carndablues

i intend to owe the bank a lot of money :D:D

is either they do broke or i go [laugh]

The bank won't go broke.

When the bank makes a lot of money,

they will give to shareholders.

When the banks lose a lot of money,

they will pump in tax holder's money.

Thats capitalism and thats how

the rich people like it!

whether a car is a liability or asset it all depend on how you write off the amount :D

there are people who actually make money when sold the car after taking into consideration depreciate etc ...

to me car ownership in singapore is no different from renting a car... just treat it as rental expenses... will feel better :D

imagine MNC are paying expat transport allowance of $8K per month to rent a Audi A8 or Lexus ... these amount can pay for the car ownership but instead it is given to the rental company

I dont think car can make money, unless you drive your car until 10 years, or like currently when the COE suddenly shoot up and you sell you car and dont buy any car. Maybe you can make some money.

Earn S$8K can drive S class and 7series?

bro, u serious? If can, i would have drove one long long ago.

Agree if 8k can, I would have been driving one in 1997. Instead I could only afford mz 323 for $110k that time.

Edited by Dumb

Agree if 8k can, I would have been driving one in 1997. Instead I could only afford mz 323 for $110k that time.

You da man!

in 1997 i was unemployed.....now i could be unemployed any day once they find a cheaper table wiper....*cry*

Earn S$8K can drive S class and 7series?

bro, u serious? If can, i would have drove one long long ago.

Possible if its a W140 S class. Real nice car still not withstanding the age.

Why Most Singaporeans Are in Debt

How Singaporeans get themselves in debt

Most Singaporeans will be in debt if they do the following:

1) Earn less than what they spend

2) Have no savings

3) Lose their jobs

4) Stay in a company for too long without promotion and their company pay them pathetic bonuses

5) Spend on liabilities

6) Do not delay gratification

7) Marries somebody that likes Cartier or Larry

O, now let me recall what i was driving when i was earning $8k pm.

i was driving a .....erm erm eh....ah...oooh...

damn it, this thread just made me realised that i have never earned $8k pm in my life before.

@#$^#%%^*%#!

damn it, this thread just made me realised that i have never earned $8k pm in my life before.

@#$^#%%^*%#!

eh eh.. i am earning.. 8... 800 hor.

I dont think car can make money, unless you drive your car until 10 years, or like currently when the COE suddenly shoot up and you sell you car and dont buy any car. Maybe you can make some money.

let's put it this way ...

you bought $100k car...every year you will lose 10K right ... at it 3 years by right you would have lost 30K and value of car should be only 70K but when you trade in or sold the car you got back 90K so in theory you have made 20K

tat;s why i said it depend on how you write off this asset... if you recognised the depreciation ...then the 20K is profit lor :)

of course one can say dun buy car ...= lose nohting lah :D:D

combined income of 9K can have 2 cars in the family so envious... you guys paid for the car in full with cash that's why no debt ?? so envious

not in full lah, but at least the debt not as much so still not so tied, i envious those who reali pay everything in full and has no debt [laugh]

During times of high inflation,

money loses its value very quickly

so people should hold hard assets

like cars and houses.

Its only during times of deflation

that people should hold cash

instead of assets as the price

of everything is falling fast.

Simple economics.

this is something new to me

car (as oppose to vintage and limited edition or high in demand but limited in supply) not an asset as such

but really a depreciating asset

let's put it this way ...

you bought $100k car...every year you will lose 10K right ... at it 3 years by right you would have lost 30K and value of car should be only 70K but when you trade in or sold the car you got back 90K so in theory you have made 20K

tat;s why i said it depend on how you write off this asset... if you recognised the depreciation ...then the 20K is profit lor :)

of course one can say dun buy car ...= lose nohting lah :D:D

that is not that accurate as it did not count wear n tear, petrol and accidents -_-, if you try to calculate all of these add together, your 20k cannot even cover how much you spent in 3 years, thus cannot be consider profit but can only be considered as compensation -_-

Edited by I-LOVE-CARS

@#$^#%%^*%#!

cheer up throttle, not everyone canearn 8k pm, i also earning only 5k +/- as a manager -_- always look at life on the bright side, at least you are employed and have a stable income [:)]

Edited by I-LOVE-CARS

cheer up throttle, not everyone canearn 8k pm, i also earning only 5k +/- as a manager -_- always look at life on the bright side, at least you are employed and have a stable income [:)]

he earn too much liao la... thats y no 8k a month... he sooot to 80k a month

that is not that accurate as it did not count wear n tear, petrol and accidents -_-, if you try to calculate all of these add together, your 20k cannot even cover how much you spent in 3 years, thus cannot be consider profit but can only be considered as compensation -_-

Wear and tear already built into the loss... Excluding modification :D As for accident already is unintentionally and unforeseen so can't put a value on it .. And that is something no one want ....As for running cost .. Well even if take public transport also got cost ... So the 20k to me is strictly from car cost alone not including running and modification cost