Jump Start For Other

Jaason

I was at the receiving end of numerous jump start when i change car. My old Honda have a recurring buzzer if i leave my lights on when i off engine, while my Hyundai car only sound twice. Forget to off the lights in the initial months that follows resulting in numerous plead calls for rescue. So far no damage to anything. Once i even called the Hyundai 24 hour service for rescue

I understand that AA provide jump start service for free to its members though i have not try it yet.

Servicing & Selling to the Auto Service industry since 1972 and still doing it at a very slow relax pace [sunny]

[thumbsup] nice work, i have noticed your postings ever since i joined the forum. it is good to know that you are helpful and generous with your informative replies, to the benefit of everybody else. [flowerface]

That's what forums should be - to discuss and share knowledge for the good of everyone. Hope you have benefited technically by joining this forum.

Just watch the cables and dun connect wrongly. Last time, it is also common to push the car real fast and try to start the engine.. no one really do it nowadays.

When connecting jumper cables, you are actually connecting two similar voltage batteries together in a parallel connection - this means the voltage remain the same for both batteries. Start with the positive cable ( red) , clamp onto the assist car battery positive terminal. Do the same to the other car.

Connect the negative cable to the assist car battery terminal and do the same to the other.

Electrical current will always take the flow path with the least resistance therefore it is good to always connect the negative direct to battery terminal. Pl always check that both batteries cell caps are screw down properly because any arcing caused by connecting the cables or bad connections , and if any arcing spark happen to land in any one cell, an explosion cannot be rule out.

PS Connecting the negative cable to car chassis will only reduce the assist car battery voltage - in mechanic's trade term , it is know as voltage drop

So the correct sequence is :

switch off all appliances (HU ,headlight etc and unplugged stuff from cigarette lighter , if any)

1) Red(donor) to red (dead battery)

2) Black(donor) to black(dead battery)

Must I start the donor car ?

After 'dead' car started , do I remove cable in reverse order ?

So the correct sequence is :

switch off all appliances (HU ,headlight etc and unplugged stuff from cigarette lighter , if any)

1) Red(donor) to red (dead battery)

2) Black(donor) to black(dead battery)

Must I start the donor car ?

After 'dead' car started , do I remove cable in reverse order ?

No don't have to start the donor car, my advice and experience (check with others too) says its safer to not have the donor car running. The surge might otherwise cause damage to electronic components.

-laughs- you can remove the cables in whichever order (as long as you remove them!), it doesn't matter at that point.

Have fun jump-starting!

Helping others to jump start is always most welcome - by car owners whose batteries had gone flat.

No it will not damage your engine. Best is to get those who had just arrived with the battery fully charged. If a car is left overnight and you ask to tap the battery power, most of the time the jump start doesn't work. (From own experience, stand corrected though.)

Yes, please help those who are in need.

Personally, I had helped strangers, and likewise, one stranger had helped me before.

However, I recalled once when my car battery was flat at the Kallang Mac, and came a Vios. Asked the driver to spare me a couple of minutes for me to jump start, but before I could complete my sentence, he waved and said "no, no, I am am not free" and walked straight into the Mac without even looking at me. I was holding the jumper cable and looked rather stupid or should I say, comical. So much about helping fellow drivers. Hahhaa

Finally my neighbor came to my rescue - he drove from Geylang to Kallang (short distance lah, he said).

where can I get a good jump start cable ?I have never have one . [smash]

I've seen those in carrefour and they look rather 'cheap and fatique' to me with very questionable workmanship . <_<

u remind me in mid-7O, drove an embassy registered left-hand drive VW, fr bolehland to their shipping agent here, for it 2be delivered to their indon embassy.

it was running by a 6v battery, with such huge head lights slanding along the front fender/mudguards.

when u switch on the head lights at nite, u find 2little candles burning inside [sweatdrop] KNN..........

the rear screen is like shape of an eye.

u hv 2prepare spare gasoline cos tat beetle didnt hv a fuel indicator [furious]

u remind me in mid-7O, drove an embassy registered left-hand drive VW, fr bolehland to their shipping agent here, for it 2be delivered to their indon embassy.

it was running by a 6v battery, with such huge head lights slanding along the front fender/mudguards.

when u switch on the head lights at nite, u find 2little candles burning inside [sweatdrop] KNN..........

the rear screen is like shape of an eye.

u hv 2prepare spare gasoline cos tat beetle didnt hv a fuel indicator [furious]

Yes first thing modern day classic VW Beetle owners rush to do is to rewire their car to a 12V system! -laughs- that 6V thing was killing me for awhile, the idea of a car stereo was to literally have a portable boombox powered by batteries in the backseat.

However, that little car always have a special place in my heart - it was the definition of a fun drive, road trip cruising @ 160 down the M1 coastal highway with the wind in your hair, and singing stupid songs with the rest of your friends.

P.S Headlamps are awesome big, and the throw is quite nice! Damn I feel like importing my darling to Singapore now.

P.P.S There is a fuel indicator on my '63 1300 VW Beetle, which year's was yours? It's crazy not to have one!!

beetle-dashboard.jpg

fuel tank indicator

beetle-front.jpg

beetle porn 01

beetle-parked.jpg

beetle porn 02

Last time when I used to have AAS member for past 7-8years, I almost never used it so I cancelled my AAS. Then got once...my batt flat. I was like....alamak. Luckily I managed to jump start it as it was a manual car. Now, when I bought this new car that has a auto gear box, I paid for the AAS membership immediately but rarely use it again.

AAS is like insurance....