Silver arowana

Ceratoisthebest

for arowana, it is always good to start with a tank as big as possible, at least 5x2.5ft tank.

this will save ur problem of transfering into a bigger tank in future. believe me, BIG BIG HEADACHE...

dont frighten them lar

I feel got 5 2 2 one arowana should be enough.

lol..thaxs for the replies...hmm...i bought liao...at batok blk 154 market.....200bucks....its a red tail gold....10inches long....25cm.....however before that i went to climenti...the shop sells alot aros...but all like injured due to mixed together one....not very impressive....sian....the price oso seems anyhow name one....aros over 1k in price also mixed wif other arowanas and the aros bite each other till injuried and some even dying...=.= is that how they sell people the aros for 1k each??.... wierd....lol

Silver not bad. I like it when it grows big, look prehistoric. Anyway, RTG is still a better choice coz no point spending so much time and effort on a simple breed like those silver, pearl, black or green unless you favour them.

RTG is good enough for dragon fish hobbyist if budget is tight. Good choice and some RTG is nice.

[flowerface]

thaxs guys for all the replies!!!!!!!! ^^ yes....mine got no cert or tag....haha...i hope my choice is right =) a happy owner now....yea...i gone to sum other shop n see....hard to get my 10inch long RTG for 200 bucks...most of them selling at 300plus to over 400....lol....

as long as you are happy bro.

enjoy aro keeping [flowerface]

For arrowana, minimum is RTG. Anything less is waste of time.

Time & cost of keeping the fish the same for all breed, better keep something that look good/have value when they are fully grown.

The lesser breed looks nice when young but looks awful when fully grown (no or very light color).

These are my personal opinion.

mind trying to do a planted tank...very challengine..but shiok when everything turns out right..esp when your plants start bubbling O2 during photosynthesis..then add in prawns/fish..and watch them BREED!!!

dont let AVA know u keeping an untagged arowana, which is illegal [lipsrsealed]

Time & cost of keeping the fish the same for all breed, better keep something that look good/have value when they are fully grown.

The lesser breed looks nice when young but looks awful when fully grown (no or very light color).

keeping a red arowana is more challenging... xback and rtg, no fun and no challenge.

haha....feels so comfort to hear this =X opppss....at first i was tinking of silver...lol

mind trying to do a planted tank...very challengine..but shiok when everything turns out right..esp when your plants start bubbling O2 during photosynthesis..then add in prawns/fish..and watch them BREED!!!

i not pro level yet....yea..its nice...i got neighbours one like dis de....but i heard from fish shop owner and aro forum ppl....they say aros are better in a clean tank with nothing to obstruct them either to cramp up the place or even worse rocks and sand can injured them.....tats y maybe i dun wan to risk or tink of it ba....

I am no expert but I've kept arrowanas for quite a few years.

I started out with YTG (translated from hokkien), then 1.5 then RTG then quite a few reds (different variants). I've seen most of the breeds when they reach adulthood so I can tell you anything less than RTG really CMI.

Mature RTG is actually very nice, the scale resemble those old chinese coins.

Red is my favorite esp the purple base one [thumbsup] .

I am no expert but I've kept arrowanas for quite a few years.

I started out with YTG (translated from hokkien), then 1.5 then RTG then quite a few reds (different variants). I've seen most of the breeds when they reach adulthood so I can tell you anything less than RTG really CMI.

Mature RTG is actually very nice, the scale resemble those old chinese coins.

Red is my favorite esp the purple base one [thumbsup] .

yea...i saw red with purple base on online before....very nice...but the price tag....sure is....haiz....lol..dun dare to start off with exp fish....if it die...i die oso... haha

i not pro level yet....yea..its nice...i got neighbours one like dis de....but i heard from fish shop owner and aro forum ppl....they say aros are better in a clean tank with nothing to obstruct them either to cramp up the place or even worse rocks and sand can injured them.....tats y maybe i dun wan to risk or tink of it ba....

easier to clean too..... requirements for plants and aros are different... must strike a fine balance to ensure plants and aro grow healthly. not easy

i tink its never easy....considering my busy lifestyle will make it even harder....haha