Sec Hand Versus New

Jakku

My take home would be $3120. All petrol cost fully covered.

for 2nd hand car, Mazda 3 seems like the best choice among the 3... Lancer is most reliable but v v old. Altis u will have better FC and performance but thai made. With Mazda, u get ok FC but u will enjoy the cabin and drive more (less the pickup).

I beg to defer on altis having better FC. the current made in Thai FC sucks alot. my boss can only manage 13Ltr/km my lancer GLX can already reach 13/14km /ltr. but those made in jap will be good. my suggestion is if you want to go for a 2nd hand or coe car that cost you 20 to 30K for 5~7 years, might as well get a lancer GLX. quite affordable for a MIJ. instalment will be roughly the same i guess given the limited year to pay back on the installment for 2nd hand

I am considering that as well.. My take home is around 3k only and I dun wish to spend to much money on transport( planning to get married) btw, is insurance really so ex, I am going to be 26 next year

my advice is get married 1st, then start to plan to buy car.... u nid at least 20k for marriage nowadays.... giving angbao on marriage day is oredi a big headache liao.... then oso need to buy this buy that, take photo etc......

Thanks for e advice.. Slowly saving up for marriage as well.. Anyone got comments on sec hand fiat grande punto? My gf is kinda hooked by the look

Jakku,

You can use the tool for financial cost of ownership for used car on my blog to understand the depreciation. You can then compare the estimated cost for 4-5 years of a new car.

You will also need to consider if your gf will be your wife by then .... My advice is to buy what you need, not what your gf like. [drivingcar]

I go for second hand car (less than 3 years) when market is bad i.e. Dec 2008 to May 2009 period.

I still holding on my 2005 second hand car. Decided not to buy an Altis during above period and channel my cash into property and equities instead....

Edited by NormalGuy

3 k per month...

abit tough..

maybe can consider 2nd hand jazz as its quite fuel efficient

get ready to spend more on ur insurance as u are quite a young driver

my lst sales job, i was getting also 3 k per month

my car expenses was as follows;

700 monthly installment (7 year loan)

500 to 600 for petrol

90 for monthly HDB cp

50 for cash card

30 for coupons

every 2 to 3 months, 150 to 250 for maintenance...

every year, 1.5k to 2 k for road tax and insurance

Add all these amount up..u can see, quite siong to survive on 3k alone...

moreover, ur 3 k is cpf deductable and the expenses will only be reimburse to u at the end of the month..

meaning u will be paying up front in advance using ur own money...then if any late reimbursment, ur money is going to be delayed...

abit bo hua..sorry if u dont mind..

cos i been in that pay range before, so i can tell u its quite tight...

then in my case, i tend to run out of cash by the 3rd week of the month..

this type of feeling very pathetic one..si beh cham lah

so must learn to manage ur finances wisely...

Edited by Byond

sorry, i have a question here. I've just bought a second hand car for 43k, intend to put 20k downpayment and loan 23k from bank. Dealer just called me that i can collect the car next week and bank loan has been approved. However, he told me that on the day of collection, i have to pay him the 20k down payment, transfer fee and 1st installment, is it true that i have to pay him the 1st installment? im quite confused as im getting a loan from bank how come i have to pay him the 1st installment? any 1 care to shed some light? thanks!

Yes. It is true that you have to pay those 3 payments. How abt the insurance? Did u get it from the dealer? If yes, then u also need to add that in.

For insurance wise, im looking on my own as the quotations from them are more expensive. Hmm, therefore i only need to pay them the down payment, transfer fee and 1st installment on day of collection?

HiHI,

I think i will settle on a lancer glx

anyone got any comments on the following cars? The price for the first link seems lower than the sec. I couldnt fig out the reason except for the lower mileage for the sec car

Edited by Jakku

the link not working... i am also tinking of getting lancer but dunno how e fc and hear say hear say the gear box very easy to spoilt..but i quite like the space and the price most importantly haha

mazda is very reliable too...

btw i found that lancer 05 n lancer 06 price diff is bout 5k plus. is there alot of diff if i will to drive n sell in 2 3 yr time?