Blackaccent 3rd Gear October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 Dear all seniors, I had an internal enginge oil leaking problem on my 3 months old Starlet. Can see smoke and water coming out from the exhaust during warm up. I also understand that water and smoke coming out from the exhaust is normal but problem is.... During a hot day and after idling for 2 or 3 minutes (say waiting for traffic lights), I can see smoke coming out from my exhaust (Dunno white or blueish) when move off. I also can see slight engine oil coming out from my exhaust if I drive a little harder (not so visible if I drive like turtle) when I park my car. I know is not a good sign but haiz..... Check with mechanic Sa*er, he says still can 'Tahan' abit. Undercarraige also giveing funny 'Cloak, Cloak' sounds. Have not check what sound is that. Suspension also due for change liao. Sibei sianz..... Now I know why the car has changed so many hands. Now I dunno what to do.... Shall I get it repair or scrap and but another one? Which is more cost effective? If repair, is there a cheaper alternative rather than overhaul? My current COE till 8/2011 and dun intend to renew it. Please advise. Thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 the question is how much you paid for it, how much are the repairs etc. it's not expensive to replace the engine really. so really depends on how much you'll lose on selling your car compared to how much it'll cost to fix it. every Starlet is old by now. mostly would have seen a few owners. some of these cars would have a more "comfortable" life than others. some would have seen thorough abuse. so it's luck of the draw. unfortunately, your started to show problems only 3 months into ownership. don't be disheartened, major problems can be fix. small niggles like creaks and squeaks, very hard to fix la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chenoire Neutral Newbie October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 Hi Starlet brothers. On the topic of engine replacements, which is the most economical engine/transmission setup in terms of fuel consumption? I teach about global warming in school so must set example. Hehe. My COE till 2019 so still worth putting in investment for the long haul. Many thanks in advance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Niltrams 3rd Gear October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 Hi there, Setting a good example for Global Warming and driving a carburetted starlet is abit of an oxymoron.... unless your's is EFI-ed and has a catalytic converter installed. =P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeronleow Neutral Newbie October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 (edited) Hi Starlet brothers. On the topic of engine replacements, which is the most economical engine/transmission setup in terms of fuel consumption? I teach about global warming in school so must set example. Hehe. My COE till 2019 so still worth putting in investment for the long haul. Many thanks in advance. Yes you need an EFI engine and an air induction system that helps atomise the air intake into your car for higher fuel efficiency Edited October 5, 2009 by Jeronleow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackaccent 3rd Gear October 5, 2009 Author Share October 5, 2009 Hi Bro, I anticipate I would lose around 3K if I sell or scrape it cos I paid 6K for it 3 months ago. I dunno how much the repair will cost me cos when I went for the first servicing, the mech said still ok unless the smoke comes out like 'Genting Highlands'..... very foggy. Somtimes I do things very impulsive, just buy or change without any calculations. Come to think of it...... Buying another Starlet doesn't mean is problem free and it might be worse than what I am having now. To be honest, most people let go their beloved rides due to problems arising. After much thought and to maximise my current COE, I think I will drive the ride until cannot drive then scrape it. Just hope that it does not left me stranded on the road while driving. Hehehe. Yesterday I went to Giant and bought a bottle of STP Oil Treatment and Stop Smoke. Will add it it after my next servicing and hope that it will helps abit. Wondering will my pass inspection with a bit of smoke and spoilt suspension? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 could jus b a case of changing the top engine gasket and seals...that is small job n not too exp. suggest u try that first...old cars tend to leak oil..normal. now til aug 2011 stil a good 20mths, if the repair is less than 1k to get everything running, then i feel its worth it. getting another similar 18yo car doesnt guarantee it to be better condition than ur current one. :p Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 Hi Starlet brothers. On the topic of engine replacements, which is the most economical engine/transmission setup in terms of fuel consumption? I teach about global warming in school so must set example. Hehe. My COE till 2019 so still worth putting in investment for the long haul. Many thanks in advance. barking up the wrong tree. should have bought a bicycle instead or use public transport. most economical would be getting a 3E-E or 4E-E, but they are ILLEGAL. so i'm not sure how that'll fit into your moral high-ground... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ididbobe Neutral Newbie October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 Hmm have been toying with the idea of changing to 4E esp since Kyojin said it was not that ex...hehehe now perhaps can have quite a Novel Defence if kena caught, ie. for moral Environmental reasons, I had to change my polluting stock engine to a 4E-E engine! :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 Hmm have been toying with the idea of changing to 4E esp since Kyojin said it was not that ex...hehehe now perhaps can have quite a Novel Defence if kena caught, ie. for moral Environmental reasons, I had to change my polluting stock engine to a 4E-E engine! :) it's no defence, unfortunately. 4E is 1.3L, your starlet is registered as 1L and you pay 1L road tax. they will probably confiscate your car and say that it's more environmentally friendly for you not to have a car... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chenoire Neutral Newbie October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 That's why I'm asking bro. Guess I'll just have to find a good bicycle - or change the lousy syllabus . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chenoire Neutral Newbie October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 barking up the wrong tree. should have bought a bicycle instead or use public transport. most economical would be getting a 3E-E or 4E-E, but they are ILLEGAL. so i'm not sure how that'll fit into your moral high-ground... Don't have a moral high ground. Just one of those occupational hazards where smart Alec students why you teach something and do something else. Come to think of it, it's a lose lose situation. If I change to and EFIed 4E, it'll be illegal andI can't tell the students anyway, so I'm better off with the stock engine. Saw a cool bike on ebay the other day. Maybe I should check it out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackaccent 3rd Gear October 5, 2009 Author Share October 5, 2009 could jus b a case of changing the top engine gasket and seals...that is small job n not too exp. suggest u try that first...old cars tend to leak oil..normal. now til aug 2011 stil a good 20mths, if the repair is less than 1k to get everything running, then i feel its worth it. getting another similar 18yo car doesnt guarantee it to be better condition than ur current one. :p Oh, is it? I thought having White or Blue smoke needs top overhaul? But my engine definitely 'eats' engine oil. Thanks. This is what I am telling myself also. Ditched away my 18yo Starlet and buy another one doesn't mean it would be a better one. Dun judge a book by its cover. Hahaha! That's why, I decided to try out the STP stuffs first just to see if it helps. Got this idea from overseas forum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 u might wanna consider an overhaul. i think ard $1k should do the trick. replacement of an engine will set u back ard 2-3k. downtime abt 3 days to a week. which E is ur car running on? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackaccent 3rd Gear October 5, 2009 Author Share October 5, 2009 u might wanna consider an overhaul. i think ard $1k should do the trick. replacement of an engine will set u back ard 2-3k. downtime abt 3 days to a week. which E is ur car running on? Pai say.... Still on 1E .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackaccent 3rd Gear October 27, 2009 Author Share October 27, 2009 Just an update, the STP stuff that I bought doesn't help. Still can see engine oil and white smoke from exhaust. After the recent meet up, another senior point out to me that my conrod bearings are giving problems liao cos can hear the sound. How will it affect he engine in long run if I dun get it repaired? If must repair, what is the estimate cost I am looking at? Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nazimudeen Neutral Newbie October 27, 2009 Share October 27, 2009 Just an update, the STP stuff that I bought doesn't help. Still can see engine oil and white smoke from exhaust. After the recent meet up, another senior point out to me that my conrod bearings are giving problems liao cos can hear the sound. How will it affect he engine in long run if I dun get it repaired? If must repair, what is the estimate cost I am looking at? Thanks. Hmmmm bro my mech recomended me the STP stuff also.. apprently it worked on my engine.. Used to have visiable smoke while driving or at stand still... but now the smoke has reduced to abt 80% i would say.. but the catch is that the STP will start working arnd 2 to 3 days later.. it needs time to settle in... Anyway im also running 1E.. my 2 cent worth.. cheers all!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear October 27, 2009 Share October 27, 2009 Just an update, the STP stuff that I bought doesn't help. Still can see engine oil and white smoke from exhaust. After the recent meet up, another senior point out to me that my conrod bearings are giving problems liao cos can hear the sound. How will it affect he engine in long run if I dun get it repaired? If must repair, what is the estimate cost I am looking at? Thanks. those crap don't work. if they do, mechs will go out of job. it'll probably be a quick fix for very minor problems. and i mean VERY. i've heard the conrod bearing problem before. seems like everyone has conrod bearing problems. probably not that serious and it's not that easy to have a conrod bearing problem to be honest. unless someone's been revving the engine till 8000 RPM day in and out. do this test: MAKE SURE YOUR ENGINE AND RADIATOR ARE COOL/COLD. MAKE SURE YOUR ENGINE AND RADIATOR ARE COOL/COLD. MAKE SURE YOUR ENGINE AND RADIATOR ARE COOL/COLD. Ok with that out of the way... Open your radiator cap. make sure you have water till the bottom of the filler neck. ok, turn your engine on for a few minutes. Note if there is bubbling coming up from the bottom - as if there was a fish tank air pump inside. Don't confuse this for water movement where the water is flowing like a river. also is your coolant brown or foamy? If there is bubbling, you probably have a blown head gasket. another test, which you probably can't do it yourself is to do a compression test. this is to check if any of your cylinders has a leak - meaning the piston ring is burnt or gone. this test can also see if your valve seals are worn. either will cause oil consumption check each spark plug, you may find one that is particularly more coated with oil than the others. oil fouling is a "wet look" black coat. too rich fuel mixture is a dry/matt coat. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...