Blackaccent 3rd Gear October 28, 2009 Author Share October 28, 2009 Hmmmm bro my mech recomended me the STP stuff also.. apprently it worked on my engine.. Used to have visiable smoke while driving or at stand still... but now the smoke has reduced to abt 80% i would say.. but the catch is that the STP will start working arnd 2 to 3 days later.. it needs time to settle in... Anyway im also running 1E.. my 2 cent worth.. cheers all!! Thanks bro. I have poured in the STP Stuffs more than 2 weeks already still no improvement. Yesterday while gooing up the Sheares Bridge on third gear speed about 60km, I can see quite abit of smoke coming out from the back thru rear view mirror. Do you have engine oil coming out from your exhaust after driving? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackaccent 3rd Gear October 28, 2009 Author Share October 28, 2009 those crap don't work. if they do, mechs will go out of job. it'll probably be a quick fix for very minor problems. and i mean VERY. i've heard the conrod bearing problem before. seems like everyone has conrod bearing problems. probably not that serious and it's not that easy to have a conrod bearing problem to be honest. unless someone's been revving the engine till 8000 RPM day in and out. do this test: MAKE SURE YOUR ENGINE AND RADIATOR ARE COOL/COLD. MAKE SURE YOUR ENGINE AND RADIATOR ARE COOL/COLD. MAKE SURE YOUR ENGINE AND RADIATOR ARE COOL/COLD. Ok with that out of the way... Open your radiator cap. make sure you have water till the bottom of the filler neck. ok, turn your engine on for a few minutes. Note if there is bubbling coming up from the bottom - as if there was a fish tank air pump inside. Don't confuse this for water movement where the water is flowing like a river. also is your coolant brown or foamy? If there is bubbling, you probably have a blown head gasket. another test, which you probably can't do it yourself is to do a compression test. this is to check if any of your cylinders has a leak - meaning the piston ring is burnt or gone. this test can also see if your valve seals are worn. either will cause oil consumption check each spark plug, you may find one that is particularly more coated with oil than the others. oil fouling is a "wet look" black coat. too rich fuel mixture is a dry/matt coat. I agree on the STP Stuffs can only fix very minor problem. So I can ignore the conrod bearings problem for the time being? I dun drive hard and seldom hit 3k rpm. My RPM also not accurate.... Just gauging from engine sound. I observed that my radiator cap and inside are rusty but water is clean. Will check to see if there is any bubbles and update accordingly later. So far no overheating issues. *Touch Wood* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nazimudeen Neutral Newbie October 28, 2009 Share October 28, 2009 Thanks bro. I have poured in the STP Stuffs more than 2 weeks already still no improvement. Yesterday while gooing up the Sheares Bridge on third gear speed about 60km, I can see quite abit of smoke coming out from the back thru rear view mirror. Do you have engine oil coming out from your exhaust after driving? i used to see smoke on my mirror also.. but after getting my mech to service and add in the stp thingy smoke have reduced.. but YES there is oil on my exos tip.. so its def engine oil.. gd luck with ur engine bro.. cheers... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear October 30, 2009 Share October 30, 2009 pour wat oil also pointless. i think ur oil seals up lorry liao. needs to go overhaul. no choice lah. 18 yr old car wif 250k km on it is like tat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackaccent 3rd Gear October 30, 2009 Author Share October 30, 2009 pour wat oil also pointless. i think ur oil seals up lorry liao. needs to go overhaul. no choice lah. 18 yr old car wif 250k km on it is like tat Haiz..... True also.... 18 years old car cannot expect to be in tip top condition. 1E overhual like not worth it leh. The milage now is 295K liao lo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear October 30, 2009 Share October 30, 2009 well..u got 4 ways. 1. just bear wif the smoke and topup engine oil. but inspection u sure headache 2. overhaul the 1e 3. overhaul 1e++ 4. change new car wif less then 2 years to go, u should make a decision which is more cost effective. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackaccent 3rd Gear October 30, 2009 Author Share October 30, 2009 Bro, white smoke cannot pass inspection? Cos need to go inspection by dec. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chenoire Neutral Newbie October 30, 2009 Share October 30, 2009 another test, which you probably can't do it yourself is to do a compression test. this is to check if any of your cylinders has a leak - meaning the piston ring is burnt or gone. this test can also see if your valve seals are worn. either will cause oil consumption Bro Blackaccent, I may be able to help you by lending you a compression gauge. I used to have it to check my Mini. It's in my storeroom somewhere, so let metry and find it. Will PM you if and when I do. In the meantime, all the best in solving the problems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kazuo Neutral Newbie October 30, 2009 Share October 30, 2009 Mine 400k... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dezouk Clutched October 30, 2009 Share October 30, 2009 hijack abit, kyojin bro, i ask you ah, does overheating result in hunting idle and rpm falls dam low when brakes applied? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackaccent 3rd Gear October 30, 2009 Author Share October 30, 2009 Another test, which you probably can't do it yourself is to do a compression test. this is to check if any of your cylinders has a leak - meaning the piston ring is burnt or gone. this test can also see if your valve seals are worn. either will cause oil consumption Bro Blackaccent, I may be able to help you by lending you a compression gauge. I used to have it to check my Mini. It's in my storeroom somewhere, so let metry and find it. Will PM you if and when I do. In the meantime, all the best in solving the problems. Thanks bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackaccent 3rd Gear October 30, 2009 Author Share October 30, 2009 (edited) Thank you all bros for the advise and replies. Actually, I dun really expect the car to be in tip top condition. I just hope the car can last till the COE ends without much problems (on the engine). Oh, anyone can advise me if white smoke (Slight if ram hard or idle for 2-3minutes) can pass inspection? Thanks. Edited October 30, 2009 by Blackaccent Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Niltrams 3rd Gear October 30, 2009 Share October 30, 2009 hijack abit, kyojin bro, i ask you ah, does overheating result in hunting idle and rpm falls dam low when brakes applied? You need your harnesses and proper sensors... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear October 30, 2009 Share October 30, 2009 You need your harnesses and proper sensors... simi harness and sensors? Starlet where got sensors? i've never overheated because i monitor my temp gauges carefully. but hunting idle and rpm falling when brakes applied sounds more like a vacuum issue to me. probably a vacuum hose needs to be changed somewhere. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wayhow Neutral Newbie January 16, 2010 Share January 16, 2010 (edited) Now I dunno what to do.... Shall I get it repair or scrap and but another one? Which is more cost effective? If repair, is there a cheaper alternative rather than overhaul? My current COE till 8/2011 and dun intend to renew it. i used to have white smoke at idling. and that is after the engine has warmed up. very serious engine oil depreciation, until finally one of the pistons jammed. simply put, you're exchanging money for peace of mind. either you spend $1k for an overhaul, which works out to about $50/month and leaves you open to a COE extenion in 2011, or don't do anything and scrap if it breaks down. will you be ok with the $3k loss and the sudden loss of transport if that happens? that's your decision to make. IMO, if you choose not to fix the engine, it should still be able to last if you religiously check your engine oil levels every morning before you start the car and have a bottle of engine oil handy to top it up. when it's time for inspection, pass it to Saber for some last minute tweaks. good luck with your ride. mine is already 23 years old and it has its issues, but it really is a charming little car. love it. Edited January 16, 2010 by Wayhow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wayhow Neutral Newbie January 16, 2010 Share January 16, 2010 Hi Starlet brothers. On the topic of engine replacements, which is the most economical engine/transmission setup in terms of fuel consumption? I teach about global warming in school so must set example. Hehe. stock 1E is really not bad for fuel economy. then you can give your students the "it's more eco-friendly to drive an existing car than to build a brand new one at a high-tech factory and ship it from overseas" line. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackaccent 3rd Gear January 17, 2010 Author Share January 17, 2010 i used to have white smoke at idling. and that is after the engine has warmed up. very serious engine oil depreciation, until finally one of the pistons jammed. simply put, you're exchanging money for peace of mind. either you spend $1k for an overhaul, which works out to about $50/month and leaves you open to a COE extenion in 2011, or don't do anything and scrap if it breaks down. will you be ok with the $3k loss and the sudden loss of transport if that happens? that's your decision to make. IMO, if you choose not to fix the engine, it should still be able to last if you religiously check your engine oil levels every morning before you start the car and have a bottle of engine oil handy to top it up. when it's time for inspection, pass it to Saber for some last minute tweaks. good luck with your ride. mine is already 23 years old and it has its issues, but it really is a charming little car. love it. Hi Bro, Thanks for your advise, my engine problem has been solved. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chenoire Neutral Newbie January 17, 2010 Share January 17, 2010 stock 1E is really not bad for fuel economy. then you can give your students the "it's more eco-friendly to drive an existing car than to build a brand new one at a high-tech factory and ship it from overseas" line. Will try that, but unfortunately my ride is a 2E with Weber, so not exactly very eco-friendly. Hehe ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...