E71 users come in !

Droozy

Yup $178 is with the $5 data plan monthly. I was told it is under the terms and conditions written. Abit grey [laugh]

I got the 3GS 16 GB. Mine is the iflexi plan. Ya you need to book and wait for singtel to call you up to collect. Then you can upgrade or sign up new line all one go.

It depends on which you like, for me i like E71 too. I think it looks great and symbian is great.

For iphone, full of apps [;)]

Yah, E71 is good [thumbsup]

ButI want to get iPhone for its apps and hopefully it is user friendly. I have an Omnia, which is quite difficult to use, although it has so many features.

Singtel has announced on their website and that can walk in to buy iPhone 3GS from 7th Oct, but I need to wait as my contract expired next month.

Which iFlexi plan to get? I likely going for iFlexi value, but sian, no CalledID and Auto-roaming, all are pay and pay.

Don't know about other phones.. this is my first and only phone with GPS.

It's still working fine so I don't think I shall be changing phones anytime soon.

As for the cache... not sure how to ensure it will not be deleted - but I my maps are still on the phone, even when the wifi is off and I use the GPS in the car.

And everytime I happen to be in wifi area and the wifi connects - and I happen to use the GPS, i notice that data is being downloaded... so i guess my phone cache gets refreshed periodically anyway. So not really bothered about cache.. there are many wifi hotspots around in Singapore.

Ok, will try to set it up and see whether it works for my Omnia. I prefer Google map.

Yah, E71 is good [thumbsup]

ButI want to get iPhone for its apps and hopefully it is user friendly. I have an Omnia, which is quite difficult to use, although it has so many features.

Singtel has announced on their website and that can walk in to buy iPhone 3GS from 7th Oct, but I need to wait as my contract expired next month.

Which iFlexi plan to get? I likely going for iFlexi value, but sian, no CalledID and Auto-roaming, all are pay and pay.

Yes iphone is very user friendly. I was looking at Jet and Omnia II too but didn't go for it because it lags quite abit, keypad not that sensitive and apps are not free. Correct me if i'm wrong.

Looks like by the time you walk in, the iphones should all be gone already. Maybe you can reserve?

I got the Value plan. 1GB is sufficient for me. Ya the caller ID is free for 3 months only and 12 months free for auto-roaming. So ya, pay and pay [rolleyes]

oh not waiting for E72 coz sure very ex like 450++ ? though look nicer.. but new ones sure got problem :) thanks for your advice [thumbsup]

the problems will be about the same lah. It just a faster version of the E71, no major upgrades

oh but i do like the navigation button on the E72 [thumbsup]

oh i do GPS at times maybe more useful in overseas when walking ... finding my way. so that i probably have to choose E71 , E63 no GPS ?

I guess u have to subscribe BBM monthly.. that I will have to enquire the charges again.. If like the other bro said I can use wifi to dl the google maps and use it without any gprs or internet connection then its good ! Coz I dun really have time to use internet on hp while working :P

How to update the software ? tot I would have to bring down to nokia service centre to update ?

thanks for your reply too ! [thumbsup]

I've never used google maps as I'm using Garmin XT. There would be no data charges if I turned A-GPS off for this.

Software update is easy. install the Nokia PC suit, connect phone, launch program, then click on "update phone software" and its done.

Good question. That was what it shows.

But when i was at Hello, i was told that $178 is exculsively with data plan. $5 monthly addtional.

If no data plan, it's $298. Find it quite steep for a relatively old phone considering the newer one is coming out soon.

The $5 data plan is suitable for light users.

In the end, didn't go for E71 though i know it really is good. Got the iphone instead.

LOL might as well get the $178 with data plan then as it ends up being the same price but you get data usage.

I was having the same dilema as you abt 6 months ago. After abt 1 month of reseach, i chose the e63 and nv look back.

Alot of ppl prefer the e71 so you can ask them wats their advantages compared to e63, i will jus state the latter's gd points compared to the former:

1. Thicker, easier to hold (for me at least)

2. Plastic body, no interference frm calls and a tad lighter too i think.

3. LED as torchlight

4. 2 extra keys on key pad.

5. keypad seems bigger

6. Finally, a whole lot cheaper. Got it free frm M1's Take 3.

I hav been using the phone for almost everything. Surf net, Msn, Music, Radio, Video, Alarm. Best companion so far.

But, i recently experience a problem. Whn my Mum sms me, i will see her name(cos i saved it, duh). But 2 days ago, her name dont appear anymore! It jus shows her number. My dad's number also like tat abt 3 mths ago, plus another of my friend. ANyone got e same prob? Hw to fix ahz? Nw still ok la, but i scared later my phonebook contacts slowly depleting thn jia lat liao...Help anyone? [confused]

I did a calculation of the extra's that come with the E71, and found that if I bought the all the individual bits, the E71 would be cheaper.

In the E63 vs E71 stakes this is my take-

E63 advantages

1) 3.5mm earphone jack

2) Almost smudgeproof

3) LED torchlight

E71 advantages

1) Size

2) GPS

3) Finish and weight (looks sleek and doesnt feel like a toy)

4) Bigger SD card and additional accesories that come with it.

The keys btw are the same size. Its just the bottom row that different with the additional two keys.

LOL might as well get the $178 with data plan then as it ends up being the same price but you get data usage.

Yes afterall it amounts to the same.

But then the data limit is quite small. Unless you are a light user. If not when the bill comes.. sure [sweatdrop][furious]

I was having the same dilema as you abt 6 months ago. After abt 1 month of reseach, i chose the e63 and nv look back.

Alot of ppl prefer the e71 so you can ask them wats their advantages compared to e63, i will jus state the latter's gd points compared to the former:

1. Thicker, easier to hold (for me at least)

2. Plastic body, no interference frm calls and a tad lighter too i think.

3. LED as torchlight

4. 2 extra keys on key pad.

5. keypad seems bigger

6. Finally, a whole lot cheaper. Got it free frm M1's Take 3.

I hav been using the phone for almost everything. Surf net, Msn, Music, Radio, Video, Alarm. Best companion so far.

But, i recently experience a problem. Whn my Mum sms me, i will see her name(cos i saved it, duh). But 2 days ago, her name dont appear anymore! It jus shows her number. My dad's number also like tat abt 3 mths ago, plus another of my friend. ANyone got e same prob? Hw to fix ahz? Nw still ok la, but i scared later my phonebook contacts slowly depleting thn jia lat liao...Help anyone? [confused]

I did a calculation of the extra's that come with the E71, and found that if I bought the all the individual bits, the E71 would be cheaper.

In the E63 vs E71 stakes this is my take-

E63 advantages

1) 3.5mm earphone jack

2) Almost smudgeproof

3) LED torchlight

E71 advantages

1) Size

2) GPS

3) Finish and weight (looks sleek and doesnt feel like a toy)

4) Bigger SD card and additional accesories that come with it.

The keys btw are the same size. Its just the bottom row that different with the additional two keys.

Yes afterall it amounts to the same.

But then the data limit is quite small. Unless you are a light user. If not when the bill comes.. sure [sweatdrop][furious]

I'm not familiar with Singtel plans. Can the data plan be upped to suit? How much data are they given?

Their rates are bloody messy and exp for heavy users. The only $5.25 plan is a supplementary line. Does this mean u have to pay the $26 as well???

Ya that's what i feel too. It could be $26 in the end.

You need to give ST a call to [furious] them [rolleyes]

I have just ask Singtel.. its yr monthly plan (eg ione plus bill) plus additional of $5.25 for the data plan. Data plan is 200mb each month. She said for E71 would not exceed for light user as screen is smaller as to compared to iphone.

Ya that's what i feel too. It could be $26 in the end.

You need to give ST a call to [furious] them [rolleyes]

ya this is wat I am thinking too..

mm so is it that I use E71 , on wifi and type http://www.googlemaps.com and then click on the country I want . The next time I want to use the map , I do not have to on wifi at all. But i jz have to click the map or bookmark then I can do waypoints etc on my E71 . Sorry for being so specific as me really noobie in all this. Thanks for being patience with me. Mostly I will buy the phone by end of this wk !

BTw I read that some bros here update software for the phone , which website to download or I should bring to nokia shop to do it.. dun know how to do it too. ITs my first phone with symbian os.. thanks so much !!! [bounce1][thumbsup]

The GPS works anywhere in the world. Just download google maps for whichever country you need using the free wifi (by scrolling to the country and zooming in, the maps automatically download and save to your phone cache). I went to Melbourne a couple of months ago, and I d/l the google map for melbourne, and the GPS worked fine.

The builtin GPS application allows the GPS satellite to pinpoint your location in respect to whatever MGR you are at with reference to google map. Thus, wherever you are in the world, you can see your exact location as a red dot on google map.

Using the google map - you can even plan routes and set waypoints. The map application will work to show your movement along the route as your device tracks the GPS satellites whilst on the move. This is free, as there is not access to internet - just your phone line of sight with GPS satellites. It works in my car. The only problem is that the screen is small.

Where do u download garmin XT for E71 ? Is it free ? Can use it offline too ? Sorry for being specific. me not IT term trained . THanks for so many advice too [thumbsup]

I've never used google maps as I'm using Garmin XT. There would be no data charges if I turned A-GPS off for this.

Software update is easy. install the Nokia PC suit, connect phone, launch program, then click on "update phone software" and its done.