Droozy Neutral Newbie October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 Deciding between E63 and E 71 but i think I will get E71 Need advice from all here Does E71 hang easily ? Is it a must to subscribe BBM ? any free GPS that I can install in this phone ? Need any valuable feedbacks from all of u..thanks so much ! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekybelle Neutral Newbie October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 I've been using E71 for more than 6 months now, love it! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermit 1st Gear October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 Turn off the 3D tone application, else the volume can be wavy.. er, soft. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verve 1st Gear October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 er e72 launching any day from now you sure still want to get, its a very old model Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Droozy Neutral Newbie October 4, 2009 Author Share October 4, 2009 (edited) does it hang easily ?? are u a heavy user ? battery life span abt 4-5 days rt ? Camera gd ? Edited October 4, 2009 by Droozy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Droozy Neutral Newbie October 4, 2009 Author Share October 4, 2009 oh dun mind old model as long as its gd. But still pricey for singtel $298 ! :P Any feedback from u ? thanks ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 I have been using E71 since 7/08. It's a good phone. Does hang once in a while. Battery life is about 3 days with normal usage. Keypad peeled out once but was changed to a new one under warranty. Used it mainly for calls, sms and wi-fi only. Camera quality is so-so only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jailbird005 1st Gear October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 surely a gd hp...no doubt abt it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Droozy Neutral Newbie October 4, 2009 Author Share October 4, 2009 Do u use gps in this camera ? Was thinking whether can install free gps program in this hp for short usage in overseas.. My usage will be roughly the same as u :) Then do u know is E 63 also as gd as E71 ? Thanks ! I have been using E71 since 7/08. It's a good phone. Does hang once in a while. Battery life is about 3 days with normal usage. Keypad peeled out once but was changed to a new one under warranty. Used it mainly for calls, sms and wi-fi only. Camera quality is so-so only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Droozy Neutral Newbie October 4, 2009 Author Share October 4, 2009 Bro.. can help me to elaborate further the gd points and no bad points ?? Coz normally I do use hp quite a long time..like till end of contract. I also dun like to change hp .. so many things to move over or copy over.. :) surely a gd hp...no doubt abt it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 Do u use gps in this camera ? Was thinking whether can install free gps program in this hp for short usage in overseas.. My usage will be roughly the same as u :) Then do u know is E 63 also as gd as E71 ? Thanks ! No, I never use the GPS. Have to ask other bros here who are using it. The casing of the E63 is made of plastic and there's no volume buttons at the side. Why not wait for the E72? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_cow 3rd Gear October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 http://asia.cnet.com/reviews/mobilephones/...3607669p,00.htm full review in the link. been using it for abt a yr, dependable phone tt seldom gives me problem. however if camera quality is impt to u, den this phone shld not be an option. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackforte Neutral Newbie October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 mine did not hang on me so far. at least,not yet. camera is decent,considerin its only 3.2mp,but still fail in comparison to a SE's 3.2mp. wi-fi connection is pretty fast. batt life is fine. overall im happy with the phone,except for the really really small buttons. E63?forget about it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ElDiablo Clutched October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 Mine hangs once in a while...still in pretty good condition although just recently it has seized to display my message notifications on the main screen...then again I've dropped it both on carpeted floors and hard tiles accidentally many times...has the soul of 3310 i tell you...never lets up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 Been using the E71 many moons already: 1. Phone - is ok - lasts for about 2 days on heavy use, otherwise can tahan 3 days. 2. Camera - 3MP but quality sucks (need to have device in earphone socket to switch off camera sound - otherwise there is audible click when taking photos). And the flash lights up even when taking a no flash photo - so unless covering the flash, can't take any secret photos. 3. video cam - VGA, but quality so, so (same thing with camera regarding sound and flash) 4. GPS - not bad- can download free google map using wifi, and then use the onboard GPS navi system to use these maps - so no need to subscribe to addn nokia maps, etc. But because screen is small - not that efficient - need to zoom in and out to find certain directions - useful when walking, but not for driving. Need to remember to remove link to GPRS otherwise if do not have BBM, will encounter heavy GPRS charges when auto-downloading maps. 5. qwerty keyboard - useful for SMS 6. form factor - very thin, so quite cool 7. MP3 - so,so. Searches and adds MP3s in the phone and memory card - but some trouble in trying to hammer down a proper playlist 8. voice recorder - useful for meetings - but has limit of 1hr recording, then auto off. need to remember to click record button again. record quality is ok. 9. Wifi - so,so - as screen very small, and sometimes not easy to establish good signal lock with free wifi services. 10. internet so, so as screen very small - need to zoom in and out to use browser effectively. Email is ok. 11. SMS is ok can type fast with keyboard, but selecting and deleting old SMS is a pain. 13. MS word/Excel - is slightly painful due to small size - but can use effectively - I read a lot of ebooks on its word processor, and do daily expenses on the spreadsheet. 14. clock - useful alarm clock - can set several alarms. I use it to wake up in the morning, and add other timed alarms for weekend, etc.. Has support for multiple clocks (eg. various countries) 15. Sync with MS Outlook on PC - i use this to set appts, phonebok addresses, delete SMS, copy ebooks etc. - quite ok to use. 16. Calculator - so/so. cannot store functions, and no scientific calculations. 17. conversion - has some conversion facilities, can set your own -like various currencies - but cannot update conversion rates on its own - need to download 3rd party for better conversion facilities. 16. bugs - have encountered several bugs. Sometimes when remove memory card and reinsert, certain functions cannot work, and need to reboot the phone. Anotther bug recently encountered cannot access phone book, and a few other functions, all installed apps dissappeared, but most functions still working - need to reformat(I think). The above are the functions i constantly use - not sure of other functions like games, etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 I have the E71 and my collegue uses the E63. Both are good phones. If you don't use GPS and connect your phone to your comp, i would say the E63 is more than sufficient. Overall with all the extras the E71 comes with, it is cheaper than the E63. Batt life is good for me. about 2.5 to 3 days on normal usage, and about 1.5 days max on heavy usage. Mind you i use it to surf the net, log onto msn, gps, as an e-book reader, have pushmail set-up, and have an average of 600mins a month in call on it. On a busy day I will be on the net, on msn, taking and answering calls plus handling email and sms's and I havent had the need to charge it till I get home (which is what I do everynight). One thing I've realised is that I will never go back to another touchscreen or standard keypad unless it has a qwerty keyboard as well. I haven't had the phone hang although there have been instances with apps hanging. I updated the software and the camera seems much better than before too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 What format are your ebooks in??? I've converted all of mine to txt and use Q Reader. I can't stand scrolling line by line. Also if you surf the net, try using opera mini. It makes it a lot more user friendly and pages load quicker as everything gets compressed before it goes to your phone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peaceracer 1st Gear October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 I was having the same dilema as you abt 6 months ago. After abt 1 month of reseach, i chose the e63 and nv look back. Alot of ppl prefer the e71 so you can ask them wats their advantages compared to e63, i will jus state the latter's gd points compared to the former: 1. Thicker, easier to hold (for me at least) 2. Plastic body, no interference frm calls and a tad lighter too i think. 3. LED as torchlight 4. 2 extra keys on key pad. 5. keypad seems bigger 6. Finally, a whole lot cheaper. Got it free frm M1's Take 3. I hav been using the phone for almost everything. Surf net, Msn, Music, Radio, Video, Alarm. Best companion so far. But, i recently experience a problem. Whn my Mum sms me, i will see her name(cos i saved it, duh). But 2 days ago, her name dont appear anymore! It jus shows her number. My dad's number also like tat abt 3 mths ago, plus another of my friend. ANyone got e same prob? Hw to fix ahz? Nw still ok la, but i scared later my phonebook contacts slowly depleting thn jia lat liao...Help anyone? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...