Byond 1st Gear October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 I felt that E63 is more robust.... Form factor wise, is handy however, its thicker than e71... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackforte Neutral Newbie October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 I was having the same dilema as you abt 6 months ago. After abt 1 month of reseach, i chose the e63 and nv look back. Alot of ppl prefer the e71 so you can ask them wats their advantages compared to e63, i will jus state the latter's gd points compared to the former: 1. Thicker, easier to hold (for me at least) 2. Plastic body, no interference frm calls and a tad lighter too i think. 3. LED as torchlight 4. 2 extra keys on key pad. 5. keypad seems bigger 6. Finally, a whole lot cheaper. Got it free frm M1's Take 3. I hav been using the phone for almost everything. Surf net, Msn, Music, Radio, Video, Alarm. Best companion so far. But, i recently experience a problem. Whn my Mum sms me, i will see her name(cos i saved it, duh). But 2 days ago, her name dont appear anymore! It jus shows her number. My dad's number also like tat abt 3 mths ago, plus another of my friend. ANyone got e same prob? Hw to fix ahz? Nw still ok la, but i scared later my phonebook contacts slowly depleting thn jia lat liao...Help anyone? change to E71 [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Droozy Neutral Newbie October 4, 2009 Author Share October 4, 2009 oh not waiting for E72 coz sure very ex like 450++ ? though look nicer.. but new ones sure got problem :) thanks for your advice No, I never use the GPS. Have to ask other bros here who are using it. The casing of the E63 is made of plastic and there's no volume buttons at the side. Why not wait for the E72? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Droozy Neutral Newbie October 4, 2009 Author Share October 4, 2009 Thanks bro for long reply Re the GPS function, can i ask you in more detail after I buy the phone .. like making sure not incuring expensive charges when using google maps overseas... i pm u ok ? The rest of the functions are mostly likely used by me too. really appreciate yr ans !! [bounce1] Been using the E71 many moons already: 1. Phone - is ok - lasts for about 2 days on heavy use, otherwise can tahan 3 days. 2. Camera - 3MP but quality sucks (need to have device in earphone socket to switch off camera sound - otherwise there is audible click when taking photos). And the flash lights up even when taking a no flash photo - so unless covering the flash, can't take any secret photos. 3. video cam - VGA, but quality so, so (same thing with camera regarding sound and flash) 4. GPS - not bad- can download free google map using wifi, and then use the onboard GPS navi system to use these maps - so no need to subscribe to addn nokia maps, etc. But because screen is small - not that efficient - need to zoom in and out to find certain directions - useful when walking, but not for driving. Need to remember to remove link to GPRS otherwise if do not have BBM, will encounter heavy GPRS charges when auto-downloading maps. 5. qwerty keyboard - useful for SMS 6. form factor - very thin, so quite cool 7. MP3 - so,so. Searches and adds MP3s in the phone and memory card - but some trouble in trying to hammer down a proper playlist 8. voice recorder - useful for meetings - but has limit of 1hr recording, then auto off. need to remember to click record button again. record quality is ok. 9. Wifi - so,so - as screen very small, and sometimes not easy to establish good signal lock with free wifi services. 10. internet so, so as screen very small - need to zoom in and out to use browser effectively. Email is ok. 11. SMS is ok can type fast with keyboard, but selecting and deleting old SMS is a pain. 13. MS word/Excel - is slightly painful due to small size - but can use effectively - I read a lot of ebooks on its word processor, and do daily expenses on the spreadsheet. 14. clock - useful alarm clock - can set several alarms. I use it to wake up in the morning, and add other timed alarms for weekend, etc.. Has support for multiple clocks (eg. various countries) 15. Sync with MS Outlook on PC - i use this to set appts, phonebok addresses, delete SMS, copy ebooks etc. - quite ok to use. 16. Calculator - so/so. cannot store functions, and no scientific calculations. 17. conversion - has some conversion facilities, can set your own -like various currencies - but cannot update conversion rates on its own - need to download 3rd party for better conversion facilities. 16. bugs - have encountered several bugs. Sometimes when remove memory card and reinsert, certain functions cannot work, and need to reboot the phone. Anotther bug recently encountered cannot access phone book, and a few other functions, all installed apps dissappeared, but most functions still working - need to reformat(I think). The above are the functions i constantly use - not sure of other functions like games, etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Droozy Neutral Newbie October 4, 2009 Author Share October 4, 2009 oh i do GPS at times maybe more useful in overseas when walking ... finding my way. so that i probably have to choose E71 , E63 no GPS ? I guess u have to subscribe BBM monthly.. that I will have to enquire the charges again.. If like the other bro said I can use wifi to dl the google maps and use it without any gprs or internet connection then its good ! Coz I dun really have time to use internet on hp while working :P How to update the software ? tot I would have to bring down to nokia service centre to update ? thanks for your reply too ! I have the E71 and my collegue uses the E63. Both are good phones. If you don't use GPS and connect your phone to your comp, i would say the E63 is more than sufficient. Overall with all the extras the E71 comes with, it is cheaper than the E63. Batt life is good for me. about 2.5 to 3 days on normal usage, and about 1.5 days max on heavy usage. Mind you i use it to surf the net, log onto msn, gps, as an e-book reader, have pushmail set-up, and have an average of 600mins a month in call on it. On a busy day I will be on the net, on msn, taking and answering calls plus handling email and sms's and I havent had the need to charge it till I get home (which is what I do everynight). One thing I've realised is that I will never go back to another touchscreen or standard keypad unless it has a qwerty keyboard as well. I haven't had the phone hang although there have been instances with apps hanging. I updated the software and the camera seems much better than before too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Droozy Neutral Newbie October 4, 2009 Author Share October 4, 2009 oh yes . I did take a look at my fren's E63 also nice that is why I am in a deliamma to which one I should choose.. but would like a hp with GPS functions coz I may need to use it.... thanks ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Droozy Neutral Newbie October 4, 2009 Author Share October 4, 2009 thanks for your link http://asia.cnet.com/reviews/mobilephones/...3607669p,00.htm full review in the link. been using it for abt a yr, dependable phone tt seldom gives me problem. however if camera quality is impt to u, den this phone shld not be an option. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 oh dun mind old model as long as its gd. But still pricey for singtel $298 ! :P Any feedback from u ? thanks ! $298? I thought it is $178? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 oh yes . I did take a look at my fren's E63 also nice that is why I am in a deliamma to which one I should choose.. but would like a hp with GPS functions coz I may need to use it.... thanks ! Sold off my new E63. It is really a nice phone but really need a bigger screen ! Now back to my old non-cam E61. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 from what i know, E63 is budget version of E71 :x have been using E71 for 3 months no problems. teething problem of symbian os hanging especially the famous "click menu button no menu appear" syndrome was resolved after i did firmware flashing to latest version 300.21.012. build quality is top notch, good user interface (imo) and good interoperability with many software as well as with web 2.0 makes me deep in praise for this nokia workhorse. i just installed GMXT 5.0 on it and it works like a charm. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear October 4, 2009 Share October 4, 2009 oh i do GPS at times maybe more useful in overseas when walking ... finding my way. so that i probably have to choose E71 , E63 no GPS ? I guess u have to subscribe BBM monthly.. that I will have to enquire the charges again.. If like the other bro said I can use wifi to dl the google maps and use it without any gprs or internet connection then its good ! Coz I dun really have time to use internet on hp while working :P How to update the software ? tot I would have to bring down to nokia service centre to update ? thanks for your reply too ! The GPS works anywhere in the world. Just download google maps for whichever country you need using the free wifi (by scrolling to the country and zooming in, the maps automatically download and save to your phone cache). I went to Melbourne a couple of months ago, and I d/l the google map for melbourne, and the GPS worked fine. The builtin GPS application allows the GPS satellite to pinpoint your location in respect to whatever MGR you are at with reference to google map. Thus, wherever you are in the world, you can see your exact location as a red dot on google map. Using the google map - you can even plan routes and set waypoints. The map application will work to show your movement along the route as your device tracks the GPS satellites whilst on the move. This is free, as there is not access to internet - just your phone line of sight with GPS satellites. It works in my car. The only problem is that the screen is small. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 The GPS works anywhere in the world. Just download google maps for whichever country you need using the free wifi (by scrolling to the country and zooming in, the maps automatically download and save to your phone cache). I went to Melbourne a couple of months ago, and I d/l the google map for melbourne, and the GPS worked fine. The builtin GPS application allows the GPS satellite to pinpoint your location in respect to whatever MGR you are at with reference to google map. Thus, wherever you are in the world, you can see your exact location as a red dot on google map. Using the google map - you can even plan routes and set waypoints. The map application will work to show your movement along the route as your device tracks the GPS satellites whilst on the move. This is free, as there is not access to internet - just your phone line of sight with GPS satellites. It works in my car. The only problem is that the screen is small. Interesting, I never know that it can work this way. Is it only restricted to Nokia phone or any other phone? How can you ensure the map in the cache will not be deleted? If it works on my Omnia, that will be good Thanks for sharing [thumbsup] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peaceracer 1st Gear October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 change to E71 [laugh] Wahahahaz. Later e71 also like tat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MLS Clutched October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 $298? I thought it is $178? Good question. That was what it shows. But when i was at Hello, i was told that $178 is exculsively with data plan. $5 monthly addtional. If no data plan, it's $298. Find it quite steep for a relatively old phone considering the newer one is coming out soon. The $5 data plan is suitable for light users. In the end, didn't go for E71 though i know it really is good. Got the iphone instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 Good question. That was what it shows. But when i was at Hello, i was told that $178 is exculsively with data plan. $5 monthly addtional. If no data plan, it's $298. Find it quite steep for a relatively old phone considering the newer one is coming out soon. The $5 data plan is suitable for light users. In the end, didn't go for E71 though i know it really is good. Got the iphone instead. I saw it at Singtelshop.com selling for $178. Which version of iPhone you got and under which plan? I am keen to get one. I was told the stock for iPhone 3GS will be available from 7th Oct. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MLS Clutched October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 I saw it at Singtelshop.com selling for $178. Which version of iPhone you got and under which plan? I am keen to get one. I was told the stock for iPhone 3GS will be available from 7th Oct. Yup $178 is with the $5 data plan monthly. I was told it is under the terms and conditions written. Abit grey I got the 3GS 16 GB. Mine is the iflexi plan. Ya you need to book and wait for singtel to call you up to collect. Then you can upgrade or sign up new line all one go. It depends on which you like, for me i like E71 too. I think it looks great and symbian is great. For iphone, full of apps Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear October 5, 2009 Share October 5, 2009 Interesting, I never know that it can work this way. Is it only restricted to Nokia phone or any other phone? How can you ensure the map in the cache will not be deleted? If it works on my Omnia, that will be good Thanks for sharing [thumbsup] Don't know about other phones.. this is my first and only phone with GPS. It's still working fine so I don't think I shall be changing phones anytime soon. As for the cache... not sure how to ensure it will not be deleted - but I my maps are still on the phone, even when the wifi is off and I use the GPS in the car. And everytime I happen to be in wifi area and the wifi connects - and I happen to use the GPS, i notice that data is being downloaded... so i guess my phone cache gets refreshed periodically anyway. So not really bothered about cache.. there are many wifi hotspots around in Singapore. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...