Boon Tiong Kee vs Yeo Keng Nam

Picanto

actually chicken rice is a kind of cannot go wrong kinda food. all over also have, $2 in hawker centres to branded ones to hotel chicken rice. But do you think the branded and hotel ones taste 20X better than the $2 ones? I'd eat the $2 ones anytime.

I don't agree with "cannot go wrong"..the same kind of food will taste different in different hands. Its not so much the pricing but the way of preparation.

Yup, I agree with you - the simpler the food, the harder to get it "right"...hahah

But then again, taste is very subjective - one of my favourite chicken rice stalls is at Empress Road food centre at Farrer Road...the chicken is very succulent and tender

Jus went BTK....hb n I swear nt to go again....ex n not up to our expectation.

1 roast chicken, 3 bowl of rice, 1 kang kong....bill is abt $60 liaoz....

i also kena

expensive and standard drop

like kena sia nowadays

I never going back again

wasted my moeny

should have gone to kopi shop instead

thought giving my family a good surprise

bloody h e l l

I kena surprised myself

backfired

Yeo Keng Nam is at where?

isit Meiling St one?his bro at West Coast..both nice

Bro, YKN is at the junction of Upper Serangoon Road and Bartley Road (there is a row of old shophouses there)...

Oh, got typo in my previous reply to Darthrevan...

That hawker centre is not Empress Road, probably Queen's Road...hahah

Too long never go there liao

Edited by Xtrocious

actually chicken rice is a kind of cannot go wrong kinda food. all over also have, $2 in hawker centres to branded ones to hotel chicken rice. But do you think the branded and hotel ones taste 20X better than the $2 ones? I'd eat the $2 ones anytime.

yes ah seng i agreed with u, once my fren said he can differentiate btw BTK and other chicken rice, we bought two packs (both not BTK) and let him try and he got it wrong..! haha..

Yeo Keng Nam is at where?

isit Meiling St one?his bro at West Coast..both nice

Yeo Keng Nam is at 8, Braddell Road to be exact. Parking is free, though very limited..

Used to eat at YKN for many years when the old lady was there, now standards have dropped.. <_<

have not been there for a long time as always cannot find parking space....sad to know that the standard have drop.

For BTK, i think standard have drop a lot, and it is also over-priced.

altho BTK is expensive, we must understand that we are also paying for the service and ambience and settings, i.e. comfort. we cannot compare it to a hawker centre stall la. that is also why the one in mandarin cost $25+ for each serving.

support Yeo Keng Nam!! eaten there several times until all the people knows me.... haha

not easy to find the place though

I find Loy kee food way too oily overall. I like the chicken rice stall at whampoa market and the 5 star at east coast road + serangoon garden.

Used to be a huge fan of BTK but the standard really going down.

anyone tried before the chicken rice at Chevron House opposite IBP?

supposed to be a retired sergeant major who specialises in making great chicken rice...

been a long time since i last ate it (too far for me now, during lunchtime)

thinking of it makes me drool

last year went to balestier with my parents.. initially want to go boon tong kee (i have not tried BTK although have heard loads abt it)... when i reached the entrance.. saw that they have renovated the shop.. air-con.. table with table cloths.. and staff wearing uniform! my alarm bell start ringing.. i dun wanna kana chop! so make a u-turn and go to eat bakut-teh at the coffeshop beside

my fav is Loy Kee beside shaw plaza.. many years ago work in balestier.. almost eat at LK everyday [:p]

another of my fav chicken rice is the one located at central amk hawker ctr.. the hawker ctr beside the old broadway cinema.. been having it since young and the standard is still as good :D

support Yeo Keng Nam!! eaten there several times until all the people knows me.... haha

not easy to find the place though

Unless you grew up in that area like me...hahah

Been eating there since I was a kid too [laugh]

I love their chili and my girlfriend loves their rice...

Another "okay" chicken rice is Pow Sing at Serangoon Gardens...