Army field rations

Ahtong

Dog biscuit still have just abit different i think....during my time, we would open the top part of the packet nicely then pour water into the dog biscuit...squeeze everything out to eat...taste like cake LoL. The worse green packet I've tasted would have to be that Chicken Pongteh rice...wonder if they still have that now......U.S. MREs even have cigarettes if I'm not wrong....shiok~!

Edited by NightFox

i like the braised chicken...dipped into the "dog biscuit"...yummy....do SAF still issue those green packets kong guan "dog biscuit" for field rations?? ROD too long leow.

Yes, dog biscuits are still around. But not as hard as last time. The butter flavoured ones taste better than the chocolate ones.

US MRE (Meal Ready to Eat/Meal Rejected by Everyone)

Wheat bread, crackers, cheese spread, meat patties, milk shakes, bad-luck sweets that they dont like to eat, etc.. some I've forgotten. They have this brown plastic spoon that is very durable too.

You don't "rehydrate" it. There is a heater bag that reacts with water and allows you to warm your food (gets very hot). You can use any ground water for that purpose since it is not going to touch your food anyway.

If you throw the heater into a sealed container with water, it "pops" eventually due to expansion.

The marines said that there is a country that has wine in their army rations, forgot which country though.

Edited by Iisterry

My BMT sargeant also taught us the trick to eating the dog biscuit and at the same time water conservation...pour water into the biscuits..

hv to trial and error to get it right, too much and it becomes really soggy. get it right and the texture is really taste like cake (at that time of course. can't say the same now).

Dog biscuit still have just abit different i think....during my time, we would open the top part of the packet nicely then pour water into the dog biscuit...squeeze everything out to eat...taste like cake LoL. The worse green packet I've tasted would have to be that Chicken Pongteh rice...wonder if they still have that now......U.S. MREs even have cigarettes if I'm not wrong....shiok~!

Last time my unit men...

Draw ration...the only thing they take out is pocari sweat, ice lemon tea instant pack, kopi or tea pack..

the rest all throw in dustbin..

haiz..waste of tax payers money..

Last time my unit men...

Draw ration...the only thing they take out is pocari sweat, ice lemon tea instant pack, kopi or tea pack..

the rest all throw in dustbin..

haiz..waste of tax payers money..

I still do that for my ICT. the only thing that saved my life during those long walks to objective points was pocari sweat.

Disgusting.

I survived 7 days in the wild eating nothing but the dessert and biscuits. Traded all my combat rations with some of the people who needed more food and got biscuits from them.

Another trick is to report sick during lunch time :D Can sneak to the canteen/cookhouse for food

i also take pocari sweat, ice lemon tea, tissue paper, biscuits, desserts (green/red bean soup) only.

The rest keep in bunk. [grin]

My BMT sargeant also taught us the trick to eating the dog biscuit and at the same time water conservation...pour water into the biscuits..

hv to trial and error to get it right, too much and it becomes really soggy. get it right and the texture is really taste like cake (at that time of course. can't say the same now).

this one i heard and tried before. i dont find it nice also.

dessert nice meh? i find its normal lor. in fact i feel ration foods are very 'dry' and often i feel consipated eating the rations for a few days.

my favorite field ration is black pepper chicken noodles. basically black pepper spaghetti with chicken pieces.

wtf u guys have these to eat now?? i last time is only biscuit+water to make it soft.. lol..

What i usually do when outfield is to take a packet of the chocolate biscuits, open the top, pour a little bit of water inside...let it soak a few seconds...

then open up the packet...you will get a rather nice chocolate cake to eat..the same works for the butter biscuits but not as nice as the chocolate :)

wtf u guys have these to eat now?? i last time is only biscuit+water to make it soft.. lol..

haha... yes. its in the green preserved pack. and on top of that in the accessory pack (where you find the biscuits) we have 1 packet/can drink (ribena or coffee) and cookies or chocolate or smt. the best combination was M&Ms with Nescafe Mocha can.