Going to Polyclinic

Picanto

On 3/14/2023 at 2:53 PM, 13177 said:

What is the difference between the two? 😂

Different healthcare groups.

Central region – National Healthcare Group (NHG)

Eastern region –Singapore Health Services (SingHealth)

Western region – National University Health System (NUHS)

On 3/14/2023 at 2:54 PM, 13177 said:

It means now go polyclinic see doctor must book time slot? Cannot walk-in?

Yeah. Walk-in is most likely hopeless. It is unless some patient reschdule or didnt turn up.

The number of patients is overwhelming. But ppl save money(subsidy) by going to polyclinic.

Just doctor consultation alone, no medicine included is like $20+ less than $30 after subsidy. Private gp maybe they will match the consultation fee but their medicine has no subsidy. So what you are paying more is likely on medicine(private gp)

On 3/14/2023 at 2:56 PM, Watwheels said:

Polyclinic is slow. If you are in a hurry, see private.

Dont be like the mother in the article, cannot get a time slot then dont wait there.

Even for nuhs there is no guarantee you will get a time slot. Time slots may be reserved for follow up appointments. No guarantee, needs luck. 

Well, SingHealth polyclinics don't even have the convenience of next day appointments.

On 3/14/2023 at 2:58 PM, Watwheels said:

Yeah. Walk-in is most likely hopeless. It is unless some patient reschdule or didnt turn up.

The number of patients is overwhelming. But ppl save money(subsidy) by going to polyclinic.

Just doctor consultation alone, no medicine included is like $20+ less than $30 after subsidy. Private gp maybe they will match the consultation fee but their medicine has no subsidy. So what you are paying more is likely on medicine(private gp)

Based on my Sept 2022 visit to NHG polyclinic, the consultation was $14.80. In Oct 2020 it was $13.20.

Blood tests also went up; for e.g. lipid panel went up by $0.50 for the same period as above to $9.50

On 3/14/2023 at 3:00 PM, Windwaver said:

Well, SingHealth polyclinics don't even have the convenience of next day appointments.

Not sure about Singhealth Group, for NHG, one could try for the same day appointment via Healthhub for a chosen polyclinic, no guarantee will get but can try. So if there is an acute situation, perhaps GP may be more immediate I would guess. 

For chronic illnesses, for me, I will still go back to polyclinic for consultations and medicines.

Edited by Rm2s

On 3/14/2023 at 2:56 PM, Watwheels said:

Polyclinic is slow. If you are in a hurry, see private.

Dont be like the mother in the article, cannot get a time slot then dont wait there.

Even for nuhs there is no guarantee you will get a time slot. Time slots may be reserved for follow up appointments. No guarantee, needs luck. 

Like i said before, even go private also might need to wait. Unless that GP no business. 😂

On 3/14/2023 at 2:58 PM, Windwaver said:

Different healthcare groups.

Central region – National Healthcare Group (NHG)

Eastern region –Singapore Health Services (SingHealth)

Western region – National University Health System (NUHS)

Until now i still cannot remember which healthcare group got where and what. 😅 And i still don't understand why there is a need for different healthcare groups? And make it so complicated. Thought all are under MOH and providing health care to public.

On 3/14/2023 at 2:36 PM, Jman888 said:

37.8 deg want to have priority?  take panadol will do lah. 17 yrs old liao wait become princess or 妈宝.

walau... drink a hot kopi will also increase temp to 37+degC lor 😂

On 3/14/2023 at 2:58 PM, Watwheels said:

Didnt know now cannot walk-in to polyclinic to see doctor and must make an appointment. So what if suddenly fall sick on that day, then cannot get to see doctor liao since no more slot, and no money to go see private GP. 😅

Ya, the medicine in polyclinic is really cheap. I remember common medicine like panadol dirt cheap as compared to a private GP.

Edited by 13177

On 3/14/2023 at 2:36 PM, Jman888 said:

37.8 deg want to have priority?  take panadol will do lah. 17 yrs old liao wait become princess or 妈宝.

You can see why polyclinic so many patients and this kind of ignorant moms. Wo ah boh also see doctor.

On 3/14/2023 at 3:59 PM, 13177 said:

Didnt know now cannot walk-in to polyclinic to see doctor and must make an appointment. So what if suddenly fall sick on that day, then cannot get to see doctor liao since no more slot, and no money to go see private GP. 😅

Still got the religious free clinic. Dont say dont have.

On 3/14/2023 at 3:22 PM, Rm2s said:

Based on my Sept 2022 visit to NHG polyclinic, the consultation was $14.80. In Oct 2020 it was $13.20.

Blood tests also went up; for e.g. lipid panel went up by $0.50 for the same period as above to $9.50

Not sure about Singhealth Group, for NHG, one could try for the same day appointment via Healthhub for a chosen polyclinic, no guarantee will get but can try. So if there is an acute situation, perhaps GP may be more immediate I would guess. 

For chronic illnesses, for me, I will still go back to polyclinic for consultations and medicines.

For chronic illnesses, definitely go see polyclinic doctor is so much cheaper, esp those chronic medicines price is much cheaper.

On 3/14/2023 at 4:00 PM, Watwheels said:

You can see why polyclinic so many patients and this kind of ignorant moms. Wo ah boh also see doctor.

Thats why polyclinic and govt A&E super long queue, due to these ignorant people.

On 3/14/2023 at 4:02 PM, Watwheels said:

Still got the religious free clinic. Dont say dont have.

These religious free clinic queue i think even longer than polyclinic. 😅

On 3/14/2023 at 4:07 PM, 13177 said:

Thats why polyclinic and govt A&E super long queue, due to these ignorant people.

Kiasee too. LoL

On 3/14/2023 at 4:08 PM, 13177 said:

These religious free clinic queue i think even longer than polyclinic. 😅

I think KBW has been to one opening ceremony at his previous ward in Sembawang many years ago. Lagi popular.

On 3/14/2023 at 1:40 PM, Windwaver said:

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/forum/forum-long-wait-at-polyclinic-but-still-did-not-get-to-see-doctor

Forum: Long wait at polyclinic but still did not get to see doctor

I wish to express my concern about the accessibility of public healthcare at polyclinics in Singapore.

Recently, I took my 19-year-old daughter who had a fever of 37.8 deg C to Bukit Batok Polyclinic and was told to queue for a time slot to see the doctor.

But we ended up not getting a time slot because my daughter was not considered a priority case, as she was neither a child nor an elderly person running a high fever.

While I acknowledge the need for prioritisation in a busy healthcare system, I am concerned that this may prevent people from accessing the healthcare they need, particularly for minor illnesses that could escalate into more serious conditions.

For many families, polyclinics may be their only option for healthcare, and not getting treatment could have dire consequences.

In my recent experience, being in the queue for nearly an hour before being told we would not get to see the doctor was frustrating.

Many Singaporeans, like myself, have employee benefits at polyclinics that can help defray the cost of healthcare. Even with the Community Health Assist Scheme benefit, private healthcare costs are still higher than those for public healthcare.

Policies on public healthcare accessibility at polyclinics should be reviewed to ensure that everyone can receive timely and appropriate care.

Patricia Goh

lawrence-wong-edmw.gif

On 3/14/2023 at 1:54 PM, 13177 said:

Aiya, fever at 37.8 only, can just take panadol la, why go see doctor? 😅

But don't say polyclinic long queue or wait very long to see doctor. Sometimes even you go to private GP also need to wait quite long before can get to see a doctor. Even i go to see private specialist doctor with an appointment can also can ended up waiting 1 hour or more to see the doctor esp if the business is very good at that specialist doctor. 🙄

Ironically, it is cases like his that makes the long queue.