Yaloryalor 5th Gear November 10, 2009 Share November 10, 2009 Hi All, I am using Denso Iridium sparkplug. I dunno wat model but today I went to a workshop the guy recommend me to use K24 model. Saying the normal iridium is only K20. K24 is for colder temp (something like tat). Cost more expensive but very good respond. Any bro can share your experience and comments? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear November 10, 2009 Share November 10, 2009 What car model and boost are you running? IK24 is very cold iridium plugs, not really suitable for street usage unless engine extensively modify. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 i'm using denso iridium too... IK20... most of the ppl use IK16 for my ride and my mech say i very different when i ask for IK20 cos most of his customers only ask for IK16... lolx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 It's ok to increase the heat range up or down 1 grade due to your operating condition. You must have been a heavy footer to choose a slightly colder plugs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 Heat range plays impt roll in choosing plugs. Wrong heat range would deteriote performance and combustion. Normal copper plugs are better imho Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 Now you have me worried. I changed during the last servicing from Denso to OWS, hopefully it will not have the adverse effect you mention of engine seizing or deteriorating. ps: The OWS commercial SUCKS! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 Just use the normal NGK or Denso Copper plugs. Best! [thumbsup] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 IMO you should use only the plugs recommended in your manual. Playing around with different plugs can ruin your engine. As I found to my cost years ago when having my first 'go faster' car and having it serviced by a garage who knew less than they thought about technical stuff. They said I should use a certain plug because it was better for performance cars. Less than 100 km later the engine seized. Yap, stock plugs is still the best . Have no worries using them too. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear November 11, 2009 Author Share November 11, 2009 Mine is stock CL7A, no mod. I also dunno what is the rating of IR sparks I am using now.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 Using too cold a plug will not help your engine operate optimally. Your spark plug will also not be able to self-clean. It will be coated with a layer of carbon. Follow your manual spec is the best advice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 (edited) Mine is stock CL7A, no mod. I also dunno what is the rating of IR sparks I am using now.. Stock plug for CL7A (K20A) is IK22G so using IK24 is still ok, except that during very cold early morning, engine may start up and run a bit rough, after warm up, it should be ok. Edited November 11, 2009 by Vtim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear November 11, 2009 Author Share November 11, 2009 Stock plug for CL7A (K20A) is IK22G so using IK24 is still ok, except that during very cold early morning, engine may start up and run a bit rough, after warm up, it should be ok. Jus now went to MW, according to the guy he say for my K20A engine should be using IK20L. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 read your sparkplug... if the sparkplug head is black and oily, changing to a cooler plug will make your car performance worst cos its already too cool.... if your sparkplug head is white/milky/yellowish colour and its very dry/a bit powdery, then you should change to a cooler spark plug. An experience mech can advise you accordingly by looking at the sparkplug... but if the person tell you to up or down the plug rating without seeeing the sparkplug physically... ask him to go and fly kite... if you are still not to sure, simply follow the user manual. You wont get wrong with the manufacturer recomendation if you didnt mod your car... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noelleon69 Clutched November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 Now you have me worried. I changed during the last servicing from Denso to OWS, hopefully it will not have the adverse effect you mention of engine seizing or deteriorating. ps: The OWS commercial SUCKS! Wha OWS not cheap right... how much you spent on those? Back to topic, I only heard that plugs use the correct heat range and that's it. It is not something you really opt to take a higher or lower heat range to get better performance out of it. If that's the case then manufacturers just make 1 type can liao, universal best heat range for all. Hahaha... For spark plugs I believe don't meddle, just stick to what the manual says. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 I'm using Bosch Super 4 plugs... Luckily for me these plugs come quite standard.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chiangauto Clutched November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 A lot ppl are go for NGK,however, i would suggest you try Nology. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 It's ok to increase the heat range up or down 1 grade due to your operating condition. You must have been a heavy footer to choose a slightly colder plugs. haha, depends on mood... anyway oso not really too heavy foot lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinworkx Clutched November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 I'm also using the IK20L on the K20 engine. So far i've tried the NGK and also the Brisk Premium...but ultimately went back to the Denso Iridiums.... The NGKs came stock so can't really comment but they didn't feel that smooth so i changed to IK20L...then backside itchy went to change to the Bris Premium because of all the hype and that Lambos use it la....got 4 tips la etc...they were rather expensive also.... I must admit, they felt good and more powerful..the only problem...and it's a BIG problem...they're silver tip, so they last at most 20k...and to change plugs every 20k on an FD2, is madness la..need to take out so many things just to change sparkies...troublesome... So at 15k, i changed back to the Densos because they last long and are cheap and are relatively consistant in terms of performance from brand new till i change them at 60k... The brisk....good new but as time goes on, they start to lose their "spark" and when i took them out, all black like nobody business :) Expensive, dun last long but good....so unless you can afford to change every 15k, i dun suggest Brisk...Heard Volker is good too but also heard horror stories about them so they're manufacturing not consistant....Densos...so far have not heard anything really bad and since i've used them twice before...i can say yes...they're not the best performance, but they're reliable ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...