Moving from HDB to Condo...why?

Thargor

yea, i thought if privacy is what u are looking for, landed would be a better option. both are about the same district. one amk one paya lebar.

This one really true. Bad neighbours can make your life hell. I used to have one siao charbor neighbour. Whole floor cannot tahan her. Lucky she rents out her unit. Last time to a female PRC (nice neighbour) and now to a M'sian couple (ok lah, just that they don't seem to like cleaning their place).

at least such nonsense u can complain to the mgmt...in hdb, call the spf?? haha..

anyw im now living in HDB but will aim to move condo...its not for me tho as i rather have money in pocket but for parents, at least let them in their lifetime live in a private estate..

siam ah tiongs and ABNNs!

at least those blue collared ah tiongs n abnn.

those GM in MNC or directors in companies tat stays condo, then L L lo

my side..more of koreans and ang mohs..and some dead gorgeous ones.. :wub: :wub:

Edited by Shull

Size-wise: New condos are SOOOOOOOOO small. What's the point of buying a more expensive home than your HDB and yet it is so much smaller?

Facilities-wise: These are the facilities typically seen in ECs...

1. BBQ pit - Can go East cost park or book chalet for these pits <-- it's more convenient to have a BBQ pit downstairs..rather than lugging every single BBQ item to whatever park/chalet. Forget something, just go up and take..

2. tennis court - if you dun play tennis then what's the point? <-- the tennis court at my condo is always fully utilised..so, quite alot of condo dwellers played tennis..

3. swimming pool - Not enough swimming complexes izzit? Should join a country club membership if you want a not-many-people pool instead. Much more class. <-- country club membership are not cheap to come by either..and some may think, if i am going to spend so and so amount of money, might as well buy a condo, use it as an investment and can use the facilities somemore..and again, it's the problem with distance.. also why travel so far to go and have a swim when it's more convenient to just go downstairs to have a swim. My swimming pool gets cleaned up weekly, and with lesser people using, i am sure it's cleaner than public pool

4. steam room - Kills sperm. And country clubs should have much better steam rooms bah. Got jacuzzi if you want too. Or can go for spa treatments. Better. <-- most condo have jacuzzi too..and the killing sperm argument..seems like you're just trying to find some argument for the same of arguing..

5. gym - Alot of places have gym already, in case you don't know. <-- you need to pay, either membership or pay-per-use

6. garden - Even HDB nowadays have such good landscaping... what's the point? <-- only the newer ones have..also, since HDB gardens are open to public, chances of public nuisance like "bengs/lians hanging around at parks smoking" is higher too

7. Near MRT, bus interchange, shopping malls - Like machiam HDB flats very far from these places like that. <--very much depends on location

8. playground - this one no need explain bah. <--same for both HDB and Condo..

yes, condo dwellers pay month maintenance for all the facilities..which also include parking(and when we wash car, we don't need to put in 20cents/use cashcard for limited amount of water)..so do HDB dwellers pay for season parking and conservancy charges..

i guess it boils down to privacy, peace and quiet ba..you don't get ah long harrasing you when your neighbours owe money, you don't get door-to-door salesman selling whatever nonsense to you..chances of cars being vandalised is lower..

I fully agreed with this. Personal experience.!!!!!

i can agree to disagree...

basically i have done enough comparisons and also I am only using an average level for each type of dweller. i know when i posted this there are bound to be people who disagree. on an average level, i still stand by my observation.

nah, don't get me wrong. my hdb neighbours were also good...

just that overall the impression builds up looking at the estate and community as a whole. admittedly it may not be a fair comparison because the difference in % of singaporeans living in HDB & Condo is quite disparate to make a meaningful satistical comparison. and even between different hdb estates, the difference is also there. so averaging is not always a very fair way to compare.

Edited by Acemundo

Please state name of your condo. You will see MCF bros queueing there soon. [grin]

all the tikos...i think some of the bros here know which condo i'm staying liao.. [laugh]

i'm not tiko but just guessing.

near geylang?

nope..let me give you a clue..it's near bt timah..but i'm not affected by the recent flooding..in fact, flooding will be the last of my concern.. [laugh]

good for you.

flooding is bad.......lucky i moved out of Bukit timah early this year

Yes... and its a 5 mins drive from my place [idea]

i'm aiming for a condo not for face or anything but i just prefer the privacy and environment. personal preference for each individual i guess. i dun really need a big big living space