Jerms Clutched December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 yes... because the new iphones that are shipped from week 40 onwwards have new bootroms in them and the hackers havent found a way to bypass that yet. also.. please note that blackrain is not very stable yet because Geohot rushed the JB out to "win" other hackers. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zac Neutral Newbie December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 it's sad how people like to hack their iPhones... Anyway, it's their decision and I should not feel sad for them when their iPhone gets the virus and a few million people have lost their iPhones! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiida_31 Clutched December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 its not true... you can reset the iphone to the same as before JB have anyone tried to restore the iphone back to factory setting after JB and bring the phone back to Apple for servicing? will they be able to detact that the phone have been JB before and void the warranty? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 yes... because the new iphones that are shipped from week 40 onwwards have new bootroms in them and the hackers havent found a way to bypass that yet. also.. please note that blackrain is not very stable yet because Geohot rushed the JB out to "win" other hackers. Okay... I am glad cause i dont like to JB my iphone. The reason why i buy Iphone is because its more convinent than other Smart phone. (as in application can be found in 1 place.) If not i will stick with Win mo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerms Clutched December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 have anyone tried to restore the iphone back to factory setting after JB and bring the phone back to Apple for servicing? will they be able to detact that the phone have been JB before and void the warranty? if you can restart your iphone to restore factory settings then its fine. but there are casing where ppl JB and they cant restart the phone thus when apple reboot.. they might see that you JB your iphone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerms Clutched December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 Okay... I am glad cause i dont like to JB my iphone. The reason why i buy Iphone is because its more convinent than other Smart phone. (as in application can be found in 1 place.) If not i will stick with Win mo. you are correct that applications can be found at 1 place.. but also bear in mind apps that are found on itunes are mostly limited in what they can do and if you want a better version you will need to pay... and alot of them doesnt allow you to make changes like run apps in the background or change the way ur springboard looks... so alot of ppl want to JB to customize and as well get even better apps... anyway.. different strokes for different folks... i still havent JB my 3GS yet.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davinci Clutched December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 it's sad how people like to hack their iPhones... Anyway, it's their decision and I should not feel sad for them when their iPhone gets the virus and a few million people have lost their iPhones! Either you work for apple or you just full of s--t. You don't know what you are talking about. If you are not sure, don't go around warning others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerms Clutched December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 Either you work for apple or you just full of s--t. You don't know what you are talking about. If you are not sure, don't go around warning others. chill man... why get so angry... its a forum afterall rite... :) dun believe everything you read and dun read everything. tis the season to be jolly.. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 you are correct that applications can be found at 1 place.. but also bear in mind apps that are found on itunes are mostly limited in what they can do and if you want a better version you will need to pay... and alot of them doesnt allow you to make changes like run apps in the background or change the way ur springboard looks... so alot of ppl want to JB to customize and as well get even better apps... anyway.. different strokes for different folks... i still havent JB my 3GS yet.. Yes, but another reason i choose Iphone is also because their paid app is cheap compare to other OS. Which even if you can find it cheap, it might not be able to work. I dont mind paying for apps. But that is just me lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 So many people gotten iPhone, you guys bought from Singtel/M1/Starhub? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeochris Clutched December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 hi guys, one question... if i jailbreaked my iphone using blackrain... the only way to un-JB it back to normal is to go itune and click on "restore'?? or can i just uninstall Cy*** from my iphone? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear December 17, 2009 Author Share December 17, 2009 So many people gotten iPhone, you guys bought from Singtel/M1/Starhub? mine is frm SH Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 iphone is not for idiots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 i have jb my iphone [lipsrsealed] and never looked back since [sly] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 those who jb..dun log in online first change the password b4 online..then wont kana the virus.. most of the jb liao dont know..end up go online.tio liaoz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 no need for jb lah..... under the app store, got free one also... anyway the some of the games are beri cheap... You using Iphone meh, thought you bought Samsung? Mine no JB lah, what for? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 (edited) the virus is by SSH. so it only affects jailbroken iphones with openSSH software. it spreads only when you are on an unsecured wireless network & failed to change the default password of your openSSH, allowing iphones with the virus (on the same network) to spread it to you. basically SSH is a way of accessing the directories in your iphone with a computer through wireless or usb. so leaving it on the default password, means that anyone on the same wireless network as you can access your phone. potential damage is higher than this relatively harmless virus. :) on the bright side, it is not hard to change the p/w especially if you jailbroke your phone yourself. in the alternative, always leave openSSH off unless you are on your own private secured wireless network, i.e. don't use public wi-fi to do SSH. so actually, the loophole is not very major. don't need to be scared. just be tech savvy before you jailbreak; don't ask your kids/friends to do for you & you don't know what is going on. if you know what is going on, even warranty claims are not an issue because you will only send it in after you uber f-ed up your iphone, i.e. brick set; and singtel won't be able to boot it up :) Edited December 17, 2009 by TandemAssassin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 the virus is by SSH. so it only affects jailbroken iphones with openSSH software. it spreads only when you are on an unsecured wireless network & failed to change the default password of your openSSH, allowing iphones with the virus (on the same network) to spread it to you. basically SSH is a way of accessing the directories in your iphone with a computer through wireless or usb. so leaving it on the default password, means that anyone on the same wireless network as you can access your phone. potential damage is higher than this relatively harmless virus. :) on the bright side, it is not hard to change the p/w especially if you jailbroke your phone yourself. in the alternative, always leave openSSH off unless you are on your own private secured wireless network, i.e. don't use public wi-fi to do SSH. ya 100% correct...if not alot tot jailbreak is sure up lorry ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...