Huat138 2nd Gear December 28, 2009 Share December 28, 2009 Would like to share what had happened to my ride recently. My car is about 1 yr 2 months+ and mileage around 45k+ km. I started to notice strange noise coming from the driver's side of my car, not knowing what's the problem, I continue to drive for about 3 days before sending in for check up. The service crew told me its the hydraulic pump leaked after checking. He said most likely its the hose broke and resulting in empty reservior. Subsequently, he said this is due to wear and tear problem and hence the dealer is not covering this damage as part of the warranty. The pump, if failed and need to change will cost estimate $800+. i would like to ask if anyone have encountered a leaking hose in your ride which will damage the hydraulic pump and not covered by the warranty. Do note that my last servicing is a major one at 40k and is it a routine not to check tell tale sign of a leaking hose? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 28, 2009 Share December 28, 2009 is it for the clutch? can check if clutch oil is leaking? or you mean the brake then check brake oil lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huat138 2nd Gear December 28, 2009 Author Share December 28, 2009 Its for the steering wheel. What I meant was for such a relatively new car, is it possible to have leak hose? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 28, 2009 Share December 28, 2009 Its for the steering wheel. What I meant was for such a relatively new car, is it possible to have leak hose? it should be covered under warranty ba... PI car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huat138 2nd Gear December 28, 2009 Author Share December 28, 2009 it should be covered under warranty ba... PI car? No, its not a PI car, reputatble major AD for a Japanese car. When the service guy told me the if the hydraulic pump write off due to the leak hose. I have to fork out $800+ to replace the pump. My milage was less than 50k km and only a yr plus old. Very disappointed in this AD. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 28, 2009 Share December 28, 2009 Should be under warranty leh. Nissan, Toyota, Honda or Mistubishi? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched December 28, 2009 Share December 28, 2009 I personally don't think the agent is technically wrong. It's like saying you got a flat tyre but you continue driving which caused the rims to be broken and so the warranty for rims is invalid. But I would think most agents would still allow you to claim for the steering pump as they can still claim towards the manufacturer cos it's probably hard to tell or expensive to prove. But if it's a PI it's a different story unfortunately. Any claims, most likely they will have to absorb. Of course they will try to save cost.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 28, 2009 Share December 28, 2009 No, its not a PI car, reputatble major AD for a Japanese car. When the service guy told me the if the hydraulic pump write off due to the leak hose. I have to fork out $800+ to replace the pump. My milage was less than 50k km and only a yr plus old. Very disappointed in this AD. under warranty if you ask me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched December 28, 2009 Share December 28, 2009 No, its not a PI car, reputatble major AD for a Japanese car. When the service guy told me the if the hydraulic pump write off due to the leak hose. I have to fork out $800+ to replace the pump. My milage was less than 50k km and only a yr plus old. Very disappointed in this AD. Oh....sorry to hear that. So meaning they have replace the hose, refilled the power steering fluid and its still not working? But when you sent your car in, did you drive it in or was it towed in? I used to have the "Ooooo Oooo" sound on my old car when the steering wheel fluid is low. (slight leak). But once you topped it up, its back to normal again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huat138 2nd Gear December 28, 2009 Author Share December 28, 2009 I personally don't think the agent is technically wrong. It's like saying you got a flat tyre but you continue driving which caused the rims to be broken and so the warranty for rims is invalid. But I would think most agents would still allow you to claim for the steering pump as they can still claim towards the manufacturer cos it's probably hard to tell or expensive to prove. But if it's a PI it's a different story unfortunately. Any claims, most likely they will have to absorb. Of course they will try to save cost.... I agreed that driving a flat tyre and cause the rim to be broken is not valid for warranty claim, cause it is obvious to any normal driver to notice a flat tyre. A leak hose is not something which is so obvious to a normal driver (I must admit I didn't realise the reservior is leaking oil until the service guy told me about it) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raja2116 Neutral Newbie December 28, 2009 Share December 28, 2009 How could the hose wear off in 1 1/2 years? If that was the case the guys who did the serviceing before did not do a complete check for wear and tear parts? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shanhz 3rd Gear December 28, 2009 Share December 28, 2009 No, its not a PI car, reputatble major AD for a Japanese car. When the service guy told me the if the hydraulic pump write off due to the leak hose. I have to fork out $800+ to replace the pump. My milage was less than 50k km and only a yr plus old. Very disappointed in this AD. quite lame. it's not a typical fault, unlike say leaking absorbers for the T brand, very famous. this one sure can bang table. you have to exert your rights. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huat138 2nd Gear December 28, 2009 Author Share December 28, 2009 How could the hose wear off in 1 1/2 years? If that was the case the guys who did the serviceing before did not do a complete check for wear and tear parts? I wonder why the hose is of such a quality that result in such a short life span. My last servicing was a major one at 40k. Beats me on the guy completed the servicing checklist. I can accept wear and tear to happen in the normal course of driving and part's lifespan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear December 28, 2009 Share December 28, 2009 Lets be real, nowadays most car manufacturers no longer focus on long term reliability with their cars. If you can drive through 10 years with no problem, what can they earn. Gone are the days where long term reliability is on the manufacturers' mind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huat138 2nd Gear December 28, 2009 Author Share December 28, 2009 quite lame. it's not a typical fault, unlike say leaking absorbers for the T brand, very famous. this one sure can bang table. you have to exert your rights. The service advisor or manager told me very balantly in the face, that this is due to wear and tear and they can't forsee when the hose will start to leak. Hence, no claim on the pump which costs $800+. This price was estimated by the servicing crew. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huat138 2nd Gear December 28, 2009 Author Share December 28, 2009 Lets be real, nowadays most car manufacturers no longer focus on long term reliability with their cars. If you can drive through 10 years with no problem, what can they earn. Gone are the days where long term reliability is on the manufacturers' mind. If they don't build quality car, then it must be fair to the consumer that they don't charge premium price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 28, 2009 Share December 28, 2009 The service advisor or manager told me very balantly in the face, that this is due to wear and tear and they can't forsee when the hose will start to leak. Hence, no claim on the pump which costs $800+. This price was estimated by the servicing crew. talk to someone more senior..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huat138 2nd Gear December 28, 2009 Author Share December 28, 2009 Oh....sorry to hear that. So meaning they have replace the hose, refilled the power steering fluid and its still not working? But when you sent your car in, did you drive it in or was it towed in? I used to have the "Ooooo Oooo" sound on my old car when the steering wheel fluid is low. (slight leak). But once you topped it up, its back to normal again. Hi, I drove in with the nasty noise coming out from the bonnet. The steering wheel hydraulic reservior was already empty by then. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...