Xtrocious 1st Gear June 14, 2010 Share June 14, 2010 Ello, that "Nonya" thing on teh you know what worked ok! Serious. Wah! DAMN SUUURRRDUP!! I'm making 3kgs tomorrow! Hey MO, what's this nonya thingie? Sounds interesting and sedap...hahah PM me leh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear June 14, 2010 Share June 14, 2010 Mark Sisson, author of the Primal Blueprint, being interviewed on CBS news: http://cbs2.com/video/[email protected] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear June 14, 2010 Share June 14, 2010 Great video on bottled water: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 14, 2010 Share June 14, 2010 DOWAN! [laugh] Hey MO, what's this nonya thingie? Sounds interesting and sedap...hahah PM me leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear June 14, 2010 Share June 14, 2010 DOWAN! [laugh] Wah lao eh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged June 14, 2010 Share June 14, 2010 DOWAN! [laugh] Eh MO, is this something shiok to eat? share lah.. pic also good. best if got recipe.. orgas if can eat also.. hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 14, 2010 Share June 14, 2010 After writing all that, come my house eat faster lah. [laugh] Wah lao eh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 14, 2010 Share June 14, 2010 Yeah it is something to makan, but the trouble in cooking it, just doesn't justify putting it up here at all. It took me 4hrs to cook, excluding the 2 day marinate time. And guess what ok, all 4kgs of hard work, finished in one night!! To even start in writing out the recipe I'll have a hail storm of questions about this and that. Let it be as that, because I'm not going back to cooking this item again. Sorry brother. Eh MO, is this something shiok to eat? share lah.. pic also good. best if got recipe.. orgas if can eat also.. hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear June 17, 2010 Share June 17, 2010 http://www.marksdailyapple.com/leptin/ A Primal Primer: Leptin Just about every physiological process occurring under the hood can be attributed to one hormone or another. Hormones are like software programs, directing our bodily processes, modulating our reactions to foods, and guiding energy metabolism and balance. We don Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topgun Neutral Newbie June 22, 2010 Share June 22, 2010 (edited) People, I've slipped a bit and hasn't been as disciplined as I would've like to be, or wanted to be. (MO, come whack me ) I weighed myself this morning and it's 65.1kg with clothes on. Well, maybe not slipped that much...anyway I don't weigh myself evry day or even every week. And definitely I don't count my calories. I was 63? the last time I weighed a month ago? Since my m'sian holidays over 2 weeks ago, when I'd gave in to the temptation of some Ipoh goodies, I've more or less gone back to the low carb/paleo eating before the trip. But recently with celebrating my mother's birthday, Father's Day, I consciously took cakes celebrating those occasions and also I've been taking more fruits (hence, sugars and fibre) last 2 weeks as well. Ok, just thought I provide an update and also bump this thread up again Edited June 22, 2010 by Topgun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic June 22, 2010 Share June 22, 2010 Confession: I had 1 of e mother of all sinful food down my tummy..................... high in carbo high in fats proly also high in sugar Its DURIAN.......xo durian to b exact......darn, is e bitterness tats so sinful Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 Don't worry about it guys. Just get back on track and the benefits will come back. It's a matter of time if you just eat right. I know it's difficult in our modern day context to avoid eating birthday cake and all that. But 1 piece of cake won't kill you unless you let yourself slide down the slippery slope after that piece of cake. That being said, the people whom I celebrate birthdays with know I don't eat sugar or flour in any form, so they don't mind, and sometimes even prepare a plate of roast pork for me, haha. It simply boils down to the fact that these are people whom I love and treasure and spend time with and they have no qualms about me not eating their cake. I don't celebrate birthdays with people who might be offended with me not wanting to eat cake cos I don't spend enough time with them or know them well enough. So, to put it bluntly, I don't give 2 hoots. I guess it's my personal situation... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 http://www.drbriffa.com/blog/2010/06/18/fo...eaking-the-law/ Food companies that put trans fats in food may be breaking the law Posted on 18 June 2010 Common sense dictates that fats found naturally in the diet that we Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 http://wholehealthsource.blogspot.com/2010...contribute.html Low Micronutrient Intake may Contribute to Obesity Lower Micronutrient Status in the Obese Investigators have noted repeatedly that obese people have a lower blood concentration of a number of nutrients, including vitamin A, vitamin D, vitamin K, several B vitamins, zinc and iron (1). Although there is evidence that some of these may influence fat mass in animals, the evidence for a cause-and-effect relationship in humans is generally slim. There is quite a bit of indirect evidence that vitamin D status influences the risk of obesity (2), although a large, well-controlled study found that high-dose vitamin D3 supplementation does not cause fat loss in overweight and obese volunteers over the course of a year (3). It may still have a preventive effect, or require a longer timescale, but that remains to be determined. Hot off the Presses A new study in the journal Obesity, by Y. Li and colleagues, showed that compared to a placebo, a low-dose multivitamin caused obese volunteers to lose 7 lb (3.2 kg) of fat mass in 6 months, mostly from the abdominal region (4). The supplement also reduced LDL by 27%, increased HDL by a whopping 40% and increased resting energy expenditure. Here's what the supplement contained: Vitamin A(containing natural mixed b-carotene) 5000 IU Vitamin D 400 IU Vitamin E 30 IU Thiamin 1.5 mg Riboflavin 1.7 mg Vitamin B6 2 mg Vitamin C 60 mg Vitamin B12 6 mcg Vitamin K1 25 mcg Biotin 30 mcg Folic acid 400 mcg Nicotinamide 20 mg Pantothenic acid 10 mg Calcium 162 mg Phosphorus 125 mg Chlorine 36.3 mg Magnesium 100 mg Iron 18 mg Copper 2 mg Zinc 15 mg Manganese 2.5 mg Iodine 150 mcg Chromium 25 mcg Molybdenum 25 mcg Selenium 25 mcg Nickel 5 mcg Stannum 10 mcg Silicon 10 mcg Vanadium 10 mcg Although the result needs to be repeated, if we take it at face value, it has some important implications: * The nutrient density of a diet may influence obesity risk, as I speculated in my recent audio interview and related posts (5, 6, 7, 8, 9). * Many nutrients act together to create health, and multiple insufficiencies may contribute to disease. This may be why single nutrient supplementation trials usually don't find much. * Another possibility is that obesity can result from a number of different nutrient insufficiencies, and the cause is different in different people. This study may have seen a large effect because it corrected many different insufficiencies. * This result, once again, kills the simplistic notion that body fat is determined exclusively by voluntary food consumption and exercise behaviors (sometimes called the "calories in, calories out" idea, or "gluttony and sloth"). In this case, a multivitamin was able to increase resting energy expenditure and cause fat loss without any voluntary changes in food intake or exercise, suggesting metabolic effects and a possible downward shift of the body fat "setpoint" due to improved nutrient status. Practical Implications Does this mean we should all take multivitamins to stay or become thin? No. There is no multivitamin that can match the completeness and balance of a nutrient-dense, whole food, omnivorous diet. Beef liver, leafy greens and sunlight are nature's vitamin pills. Avoiding refined foods instantly doubles the micronutrient content of the typical diet. Properly preparing whole grains by soaking and fermentation is equivalent to taking a multi-mineral along with conventionally prepared grains, as absorption of key minerals is increased by 50-300% (10). Or you can eat root vegetables instead of grains, and enjoy their naturally high mineral availability. Or both. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topgun Neutral Newbie June 24, 2010 Share June 24, 2010 Don't worry about it guys. Just get back on track and the benefits will come back. It's a matter of time if you just eat right. I know it's difficult in our modern day context to avoid eating birthday cake and all that. But 1 piece of cake won't kill you unless you let yourself slide down the slippery slope after that piece of cake. That being said, the people whom I celebrate birthdays with know I don't eat sugar or flour in any form, so they don't mind, and sometimes even prepare a plate of roast pork for me, haha. It simply boils down to the fact that these are people whom I love and treasure and spend time with and they have no qualms about me not eating their cake. I don't celebrate birthdays with people who might be offended with me not wanting to eat cake cos I don't spend enough time with them or know them well enough. So, to put it bluntly, I don't give 2 hoots. I guess it's my personal situation... ya, it's a darn slippery slope... it's so easy to give in, so difficult to go back to 'zero' carb but really can feel the effect almost immediately, the weight, the waist?? ...my stomach felt bloated, full of gas today, but maybe is just coincidental, something I ate... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic June 26, 2010 Share June 26, 2010 6 mths ago,b4 i started on tis paleo thingy, mi blood sugar level was still a slightly high despite on full medication 4 mths ago, aft into on tis paleo diet , my sugar blood reading was at acceptable level on full meducation. 2 mths later, i decide to halve my medication n sugar level rose abit for 2 wks but now has stabilised back to acceptable level. mayb mi body needed time to adapt to it... hopefully, i will b off e medication in another few mths time. Frankly all tis trials were done under no supervision from health practitioner [sweatdrop]r, but i do check mi sugar level regularly to make sure all is on track . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topgun Neutral Newbie June 26, 2010 Share June 26, 2010 6 mths ago,b4 i started on tis paleo thingy, mi blood sugar level was still a slightly high despite on full medication 4 mths ago, aft into on tis paleo diet , my sugar blood reading was at acceptable level on full meducation. 2 mths later, i decide to halve my medication n sugar level rose abit for 2 wks but now has stabilised back to acceptable level. mayb mi body needed time to adapt to it... hopefully, i will b off e medication in another few mths time. Frankly all tis trials were done under no supervision from health practitioner [sweatdrop]r, but i do check mi sugar level regularly to make sure all is on track . Bro hanbaobao, Hope you don't mind me asking, but are you monitoring your BP and cholesterol levels? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear June 26, 2010 Share June 26, 2010 ok jus to share....these is the picture of my home gym Uploaded with ImageShack.us Added straight bar $30 (can do a multitude of exercises with it, so its quite a steal) Added 2 X 10kg $50 (this is expensive, i could do well with cast iron plates which are cheaper) Added floor mats = 19.99 approx 20 (quite a bargain, no more dusty cardboard boxes) Total home gym cost to date 335 + 80 + 20 = 435 (cheaper than most gym memberships or all, less than cali, truefitness and fitness first, but not cheaper than clubfitt (310 annually). Cost is escalating, so wait until i can clean and press 110kg first, then see wat is needed Total weights 110kg (added 2 X 10kg for clean and press and deadlift and legs) 1 ez bar 1 straight bar and 2 adjustable dumbells and 1 skipping rope (important for warmup and getting blood flowing) no membership fees or contract, unlimited life time membership and of course weights last for life and no travelling time needed to gyms, only once a week. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...