Xtrocious 1st Gear June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 After so many deaths from carbs, finally. But is society going to accept it? Nope and that's really sad... Open their eyes liao but they choose to ignore the facts... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 Eyh, what you cooking lately? Nope and that's really sad... Open their eyes liao but they choose to ignore the facts... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 I don't subscribe to everything he says, but most of it is worth considering.... http://fitness.mercola.com/sites/fitness/a...n-more-fat.aspx Are You Making This "Fat Storing" Mistake Before You Exercise? Posted by: Dr. Mercola | June 29 2010 | 86,450 views Some scientists argue that if you want to get rid of more fat, you should skip pre-workout eating. Several studies suggest exercising while your body is low on food may be a good way to trim excess fat. In a recent study, researchers found that cyclists who trained without eating burned significantly more fat. According to USA Today: "Muscles usually get their energy from carbohydrates ... if you haven't eaten before exercising, your body doesn't have many carbohydrates in reserve. That forces it to burn fat instead, scientists say." Sources: USA Today June 4, 2010 Dr. Mercola's Comments: As you can tell from reading the USA Today article above, there's plenty of controversy on this issue. There's general agreement that exercising on an empty stomach will help burn more fat, but that's about where the general consensus ends. Some experts believe it's a bad idea because exercising vigorously when you're blood sugar is low could lead to dizziness and poor performance. Others warn that exercising while hungry can lead to overeating afterwards. I believe the best approach is to use some common sense and listen to your body. A number of individual factors can play a role, such as your age, when you last ate, whether or not you're pregnant, taking medications, your medical history, level of fitness, and the type of workout you engage in. For example, if you feel weak or nauseous while exercising on an empty stomach, you may want to at least eat a small meal before exercising, and I'll address this further in just a moment. But first, let's look at the science behind this theory. There's actually quite a bit of evidence supporting the theory that you'll burn more fat if you don't eat prior to your workout. USA Today mentions several such studies. So, how does it work? How Fasting Forces Your Body to Shed Excess Fat All fat burning processes in your body are controlled by your sympathetic nervous system (SNS). The SNS is inherently activated by exercise and lack of food. The combination of fasting and exercising maximizes the impact of cellular factors and catalysts (cyclic AMP and AMP Kinases), which force the breakdown of fat and glycogen for energy. So yes, training on an empty stomach is actually a very effective way to force your body to burn fat. It's also important to realize that eating a full meal, particularly carbohydrates, will inhibit the SNS and reduce the fat burning effect of your exercise. Instead, eating lots of carbs activates your parasympathetic nervous system (PSNS), which promotes energy storage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 Eyh, what you cooking lately? Been trying your chicken thigh recipe...no convection oven so not that crispy but still passable Otherwise, it's just plain steak or grilled pork belly Waiting for you to give me more recipes to try...hahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 You really damn terok man, got to come out with new stuff, if not you keep eating the same thing, you will give up in the end also. This is asparagus rolled up with pork belly strip then pork collar, fried in a small slice of butter, with garlic, then some natural chicken soup (I had leftovers from the previous night's meal) into the pan, steamed for 5-6 mins. Serve hot. I cooked curry fish last week, natural rampa. Troublesome, but you knwo what's going in, using a tombolt, (mortar and pastel) to pound. Good arm workout also. Been trying your chicken thigh recipe...no convection oven so not that crispy but still passable Otherwise, it's just plain steak or grilled pork belly Waiting for you to give me more recipes to try...hahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 http://www.proteinpower.com/drmike/supplem...ness/#more-4202 Heliophobe Madness 25. June 2010, 10:24 My last blog post reviewed a book by Dr. Michael Holick, one of the world Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 You really damn terok man, got to come out with new stuff, if not you keep eating the same thing, you will give up in the end also. This is asparagus rolled up with pork belly strip then pork collar, fried in a small slice of butter, with garlic, then some natural chicken soup (I had leftovers from the previous night's meal) into the pan, steamed for 5-6 mins. Serve hot. I cooked curry fish last week, natural rampa. Troublesome, but you knwo what's going in, using a tombolt, (mortar and pastel) to pound. Good arm workout also. I am actually quite easy as to what I eat...hahah Some people live to eat, I just eat to live However, I think I have the discipline not to give up - haven't had any temptation to break my diet yet... In fact, I was in China last week for a short business trip and I didn't touch any carbs (except some fruits) - imagine doing that in the land of rice and noodles...hahah But thanks for the new recipe - sounds easy enough to prepare and cook...I will definitely try that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 I eat to live as well, but I cook to change around, have a set menu for two weeks, each day's meal is this dish and this amount, that's it. Fruits is not carbs then what? I broke off to see how things would go, and paid the price, all sorts of nonsense came onto me, because I was eating clean for so long, now back again, and I'm saying hello to ketosis again, on zero carb again. it's fuging torture to go thru sheet eating all that crap, nice as it was, but not worth the suffering. I don't know about the rest, but CBS and myself are some what sensitive to carbs, not kidding, even how hungry, outside, I'd wanna have that chicken wing, thigh etc... I'd have this thought flash in my mind.... "it's not worth going thru the sheet again, hold till you get home and tahan that 20-30mins of preparation and cooking to cook your meal, then when you eat, makes it all worth while. Fruits not carbs ah? New one to me. I don't even eat fruits! I am actually quite easy as to what I eat...hahah Some people live to eat, I just eat to live However, I think I have the discipline not to give up - haven't had any temptation to break my diet yet... In fact, I was in China last week for a short business trip and I didn't touch any carbs (except some fruits) - imagine doing that in the land of rice and noodles...hahah But thanks for the new recipe - sounds easy enough to prepare and cook...I will definitely try that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Okay, just a rave - something to get off my chest...hahah Read the "Health" supplement in today's ST... There was an article titled "Middle-age spread" which basically says that it's getting harder to fight the flab when we enter middle age due to slowing metabolism... And a certain Dr Khoo Chin Meng, an endocrinologist at the Centre for Obesity Management and Surgery at NUH, believes the "solution" boils down to simple math - burn more calories than you consume Diet-wise, Dr Khoo advises drinking more water and eating more fibre-rich foods to help with digestion and metabolic processes Guess Dr Khoo hasn't been keeping up to date with the latest studies and findings... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Don't say like that where got business? Okay, just a rave - something to get off my chest...hahah Read the "Health" supplement in today's ST... There was an article titled "Middle-age spread" which basically says that it's getting harder to fight the flab when we enter middle age due to slowing metabolism... And a certain Dr Khoo Chin Meng, an endocrinologist at the Centre for Obesity Management and Surgery at NUH, believes the "solution" boils down to simple math - burn more calories than you consume Diet-wise, Dr Khoo advises drinking more water and eating more fibre-rich foods to help with digestion and metabolic processes Guess Dr Khoo hasn't been keeping up to date with the latest studies and findings... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 I eat to live as well, but I cook to change around, have a set menu for two weeks, each day's meal is this dish and this amount, that's it. Fruits is not carbs then what? I broke off to see how things would go, and paid the price, all sorts of nonsense came onto me, because I was eating clean for so long, now back again, and I'm saying hello to ketosis again, on zero carb again. it's fuging torture to go thru sheet eating all that crap, nice as it was, but not worth the suffering. I don't know about the rest, but CBS and myself are some what sensitive to carbs, not kidding, even how hungry, outside, I'd wanna have that chicken wing, thigh etc... I'd have this thought flash in my mind.... "it's not worth going thru the sheet again, hold till you get home and tahan that 20-30mins of preparation and cooking to cook your meal, then when you eat, makes it all worth while. Fruits not carbs ah? New one to me. I don't even eat fruits! Okay, I stand corrected...hahah I don't touch rice, bread, noodles and other starchy food I still enjoy a bit of fruit once in a while Anyway, I don't think I entered ketosis at all leh - my ketostix always show negative ketones... But I am still losing weight - 1kg a week Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 I don't know, but what suits you, so long as you're fine. I'm more strict with myself on the food side. and I've hated fruits since a very long time ago, best save the energy biting an apple, to chew on chunks of meat instead. I hit ketosis in 4 days on my first round, then went sidetrack to see how it would "kill" me, and it almost did, took me 6 days to go full ketosis. Something I don't want to go thru ever again, lost of energy, headaches, loss of strength and power. But good thing is, I dropped off all that crap I took in, and feel much cleaner. Back to my meats. Mutton curry this weekend. YUMMMY!! Okay, I stand corrected...hahah I don't touch rice, bread, noodles and other starchy food I still enjoy a bit of fruit once in a while Anyway, I don't think I entered ketosis at all leh - my ketostix always show negative ketones... But I am still losing weight - 1kg a week Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 What a miserable way to live life... All that water and fibre, makes you spend half your life in the toilet while feeling hungry... Okay, just a rave - something to get off my chest...hahah Read the "Health" supplement in today's ST... There was an article titled "Middle-age spread" which basically says that it's getting harder to fight the flab when we enter middle age due to slowing metabolism... And a certain Dr Khoo Chin Meng, an endocrinologist at the Centre for Obesity Management and Surgery at NUH, believes the "solution" boils down to simple math - burn more calories than you consume Diet-wise, Dr Khoo advises drinking more water and eating more fibre-rich foods to help with digestion and metabolic processes Guess Dr Khoo hasn't been keeping up to date with the latest studies and findings... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Backside, change your avatar lah, everytime I see your replies, make me damn hungry to bite into a chicken thigh leh! [laugh] What a miserable way to live life... All that water and fibre, makes you spend half your life in the toilet while feeling hungry... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Me?? Everytime I see your post is about how to make shiok food and got picture some more... Who make who hungry? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahleon Neutral Newbie July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Ehh..Mazdaowner,can share share your recipe for the mutton curry? PM me also can.. Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 I don't know, but what suits you, so long as you're fine. I'm more strict with myself on the food side. and I've hated fruits since a very long time ago, best save the energy biting an apple, to chew on chunks of meat instead. I hit ketosis in 4 days on my first round, then went sidetrack to see how it would "kill" me, and it almost did, took me 6 days to go full ketosis. Something I don't want to go thru ever again, lost of energy, headaches, loss of strength and power. But good thing is, I dropped off all that crap I took in, and feel much cleaner. Back to my meats. Mutton curry this weekend. YUMMMY!! That's why I always salute you So far, I never experienced any loss of energy or have headaches... No longer sleepy after lunch and I usually head straight into the pool once I get home (weather permitting of course)... On the topic of meats, caught the Buffetlicious show the other day - they showcased a restaurant (Barcotta or something) at Esplanade that has a meat buffet on Wed (they mentioned Sun) nights... Grilled Waygu beef, t-bone steak and ribs for S$39 per person... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Barossa ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...