Genie47 1st Gear January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 And he did not attempt to use any unconventional means to get to the bottom of it. Instead, they used unconventional means to prevent him. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopitam Clutched January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 And he did not attempt to use any unconventional means to get to the bottom of it. Instead, they used unconventional means to prevent him. either the government or should I say the ruling party is deaf (blur) or they are just ignoring all this "noise" because the real issue is "so what - what can you people do" "how bad it is we still get 66.6%" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 Imagine if we got a president who would stoop to their level. Wah! Poitics in SG will indeed be very interesting! But it is good that OTC is a gentleman. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 exactly..has that issue been forgotten? the current president does not seem to have ordered something similar to be done..after how many years already if I am holding a key to something..and it concerns a nation (of course, not MM's definition)..then I would want to know, key to what.. think ex-president ong was along the same vein..kudos to him wonder how he felt..wanting to do an audit and have those obstacles =============== So it gives the impression the "issue" has been quietly swept under the carpet then. Well maybe the question has died with Mr. Ong? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 so when are we going to import a FT ministar(minister)? Seriously. can some opposition member address this at next parliament sitting? i think just like us lowly peasants who have gotten too complacent in life and needs some stoking from foreign competition who works harder, better and smarter for lower pay, its time for us to introduce elite foreign talent to remind our current leaders to strive even harder and better for the future of singapore! why keep increasing pay when 1 local ministar pay can pay 5 foreign talent ministars? got logic? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xW_GKgGPS4Y MP SALARIES GOING TO INCREASE AGAIN !!! KNN Ministers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peqasus 1st Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 well wonder if this is a gambit. it's obvious such a statement is IMPACTFUL on 1st Jan and they should know election's rd the corner. would it be a wayang show?? Eg ministers volunteer not to increase pay etc citing to serve the country or "donate" the increase away. So with zero $, they score political pts :) but think this only happens in my dreamland. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 Big money is in their performance bonus man... Ministar smelly2 think at least 6 months bonus, best part its confidential. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 you are saying people like me are screwed better wear stainless steel or kelvar underwear from now on long live the heartlanders sadly many heartlanders are indeed screwed..jobs will b more difficult...cost of living def wont drop...living in a HDB high on paper gains only attracts higher ppty tax...on and on.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 if they didn't give face to ex-president ong when he wanted to do a proper audit of all assets..how complete the info do you think the auditor general has? it's abit hilarious..like you going to your bank and asking how much is in your bank account and they tell you, you have lots, don't worry ok..we can't give you an exact figure though, it might take 56 man-years yup so still need the auditor general for?? but no choice, who dares to challenge such things in parliament? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 ================ So many "Ivory Towers" standing so high & pretty in SG. Nice to look at but what purpose do they serve to the common man? Maybe we need more commoners as Ministers & MPs to b able to really u'stand what the majority of the pple face on a day to day basis. Get down from your Ivory Towers & feel the needs & wants of the pple. But then its quite hard when u already so used to living in the Penthouse to go down to the basement & see what life is like down there. act few weeks ago the ST writeup on Mr Chiam was abt this...a down to earth politician serving his people, still tending to things himself..kudos! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 btw..do all these minister pay tax or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ichibawa 5th Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 btw..do all these minister pay tax or not? Have dun have I dunno. Maybe one day when I am at that level I will let you know. What I know is PUB bills increased by 5.4% since new year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mindbox33 1st Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 wat to do... who ask most of the singaporeans keep voting for *** Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 i prefer they leave and join private sector with better pay rather than keep having issue with their lower pay. i believe they can get much higher pay in the outside commercial world than working in the government in this tiny island. So if they really go for that, i will be very happy and have celebration for them. if they really leave the government, i dont mind "less" capable ppl willing to take in much lower pay to do the same job. ppl like US president, UK prime minister, etc will be acceptable. At least, on and off they will be not unhappy to work on and keep having a feeling of being underpaid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Higgsboson Clutched January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 but private sector higher pay will get sack one wor! scare leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xpose Clutched January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 wondering which company in the private sector would pay them that high pay per year? Temasek holding? or GIC? Would be more convincing if they could show some reference to the public that some private sector company would hire them for that lump some per year.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mits_jc 5th Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 The amt of tax they pay is what some pple earn in a few yrs... btw..do all these minister pay tax or not? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...