Vextan 1st Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 for me, if the civic tailgate me in this situation whereby i cannot go faster, i will either slow down a bit, to keep a safe distance from the car in front, or i will choose to move to lane 2. it is better to be a live chicken than a dead duck. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wheeler Neutral Newbie January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 (edited) To frequent victim of tailgates, Please note that if you are using some aftermarket 'mount-on original' rear view mirror is that back vehicle tends to be magnified and thus seemed to be tailgating u. Do check if your mount on mirror have this function. If above do not apply, do give way if you wanna slow cruise. Edited January 7, 2010 by Wheeler Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7007 2nd Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Put the road hoggers aside, dun you agree a lot of accidents are generally caused by the tailgaters and haolian speeders changing lanes like theirs fathers owned the road? Want to be tailgater also must have skills & guts else be prepared to kiss somebody backside lor! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanyeo 1st Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Hi all, I am driving a 1.1Lit car.. Small cc.. From my experience, in a heavy traffic situation, if I'm travelling in lane 1, those bigger cc cars behind will start to tailgate.. However, once they realise that there is no space in front, they will start to keep a distance.. Therefore, in my opinion, the key thing is that if you are travelling in lane 1, do ensure that you do not leave a big gap in front.. Big gap to others means road hogging.. Once road hogging occurs, tailgating will start.. In the expressway, traffic situations may change from heavy to smooth traffic in an instant.. The car in front will start to speed up.. If I find that I cannot catch up with the car in front, I will switch to the 2nd lane and let the bigger cc cars have the first lane.. In this way, you prevent inconvenience to others and help the traffic to flow smoothly.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ed2win2 Neutral Newbie January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Tailgate at your own risk. There are cases where workshops send out their drivers to look for tailgaters & jam brake on them. You know what happen next. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prostcode Clutched January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 That time I saw one QQ tailgate a Lambo in lane 1. Big balls of steel, he has. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 That time I saw one QQ tailgate a Lambo in lane 1. Big balls of steel, he has. the lambo do a full rev n the QQ become a vibrator Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeleburacer Neutral Newbie January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Tailgate at your own risk. There are cases where workshops send out their drivers to look for tailgaters & jam brake on them. You know what happen next. Wow! salary how much... I want to work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 That time I saw one QQ tailgate a Lambo in lane 1. Big balls of steel, he has. Hahaha He's got nothing to lose what! The lambo smoke him also nevermind lah, lose to lambo where got shy? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 cause everyone want to admire from far mah. too near cannot see much of the car liao. Also kia-see. Hit one of those and you can lose your house. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Also kia-see. Hit one of those and you can lose your house. haha very true. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xeryh 3rd Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Only problem is if the Lambo wants to play punk with him and jams brake, the QQ insurance will > 10,000 next year lol Hahaha He's got nothing to lose what! The lambo smoke him also nevermind lah, lose to lambo where got shy? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_b20 6th Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 TS already mentioned that in front of his car is full of cars, so base on this, he is not road hogging. so there is no valid reason for the civic to tailgate him to pressure TS to go faster, as he cant (due to the cars in front of him). So I can understand why TS tap on his brake to tell the civic off to not to tailgate him. Because if TS has to do a emergency stop, perhaps due to the car in front stopping, then the civic behind may not be able to stop in time. As such, it is only right that TS try to ward off the civic behind him. Hoggers will never admit that their front is empty. It is ALWAYS full of cars, and that is very subjective. To a hogger, a few cars 10-car-lengths infront of him will be considered "full of cars", and he/she must maintain their "10-car-length safety distance" I still dont understand why on KPE there are tons of idiots who will travel 70kmh at LANE 1, moving at same speed as lane 2 and 3. why cant they keep left since the other lanes are also moving at 70kmh steadily? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy-T 1st Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 (edited) maybe the reason is becoz lane 2 and 3 cars move at speed slower then 70km/h Edited January 7, 2010 by Sleepy-T Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 he merely tap for the brake light only he did not mention he jam brake mah. dont need to get so angry. read his post again. he said he gave a "meaty tap" on the brakes. i take that to be a forceful tap on the brake instead of just tapping enough to get the brake lights on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qinglong 1st Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 if you think people are tail-gating u, it means u r too slow........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 read his post again. he said he gave a "meaty tap" on the brakes. i take that to be a forceful tap on the brake instead of just tapping enough to get the brake lights on. Fair enough comment. yes jam brake is bad. The only time that should be use should be in emergency. Or the bugger like to tailgate you from lane 1 to lane 3 and then back to lane 1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikethm Clutched January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Tailgating is the reason for those multiple car accidents where car A brake, car B bumps into car A, car C bumps into car B, car D bumps into car C, car E bumps into car D, car F bumps into car E etc. If you are in a hurry, you should have just started your trip at most 10mins earlier. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...