Lighten flywheel or campulley?

Ken4555

Unless you track everyday, does daily driving along street roads require that high performance from your car? [wave][:p]

Actually, sometimes need performance. Every evening, I travel along grange road and cut into Irwell Bank road. Have to cut from left to right and turn into River Valley road. Traffic there is very heavy in the evening. Need power else very difficult to cut.

I have to red till 4-5K on my celica (there where turbo kicks in and I get full boost).

Edited by Nmnhnlm

Actually, sometimes need performance. Every evening, I travel along grange road and cut into Irwell Bank road. Have to cut from left to right and turn into River Valley road. Traffic there is very heavy in the evening. Need power else very difficult to cut.

I have to red till 4-5K on my celica (there where turbo kicks in and I get full boost).

I agree that performance is needed and required from our rides when the circumstances warrant it....

Any mod is always a compromise and I believe for most people, 2 out of 3 of the following will normally apply:

Cost, Reliability, Power

It is always good to research/read more on proposed mods and not take at face value what strangers say on forums :)

I kinda heard many people changing to aluminium crank pulley and till date, noone actually complain but keep saying pick-up is much better.

But for that kinda price, I think not worth buying it..~

That's because you didn't go find those threads/topics...

In some of the forums I frequent, got ppl complain until siao, change to crank pully initially no problem, then slowly after a few months the car start to vibrate more and more and then later change back to stock ok liao. Got 1 guy lagi best, drive to NSHW for a few trips, feel engine making funny noise, go workshop check and found the pully cracked....

Worst is those companies who made the crank pulley all never hear before one.....except maybe "summit" but it's a TW coy. You don't see more est coys like HKS, BLITZ, TRUST, etc make them right?

change at your own risk.

Edited by Pocus

That's because you didn't go find those threads/topics...

In some of the forums I frequent, got ppl complain until siao, change to crank pully initially no problem, then slowly after a few months the car start to vibrate more and more and then later change back to stock ok liao. Got 1 guy lagi best, drive to NSHW for a few trips, feel engine making funny noise, go workshop check and found the pully cracked....

Worst is those companies who made the crank pulley all never hear before one.....except maybe "summit" but it's a TW coy. You don't see more est coys like HKS, BLITZ, TRUST, etc make them right?

change at your own risk.

hey i've seen HKS, BLITZ and TRUST cam pulleys.... from MY workshops.... omg.... it MY.... must be fakes... [laugh]

Then u support me by listing down all your mods, both legal and illegal ones (if any)? [sly][laugh]

There are a lot of aspiring racers or fast drivers on the roads.... [drivingcar]

Like what one bro said above, not every mod for tracking is applicable for daily driving. Understand what it is and see if it can achieve what your mod can do for your car.

hey bro... why change ur pic... i see you have installed more stuff in your car... or did you change your car?

by the way... my car not a high performance car... although i always drive it as if it is.... haha.... [:p]

I changed to lightened crank pulley for more than 2-yrs/60,000km mileage.

Fortunately no problems, car (AT) just hit 100K mileage with no issues at all.

Maybe I'm just lucky, or I don't push my car hard.

Worth it or not, i guess it's pretty subjective.

I changed to lightened crank pulley for more than 2-yrs/60,000km mileage.

Fortunately no problems, car (AT) just hit 100K mileage with no issues at all.

Maybe I'm just lucky, or I don't push my car hard.

Worth it or not, i guess it's pretty subjective.

i think one of the problems with many ppl who mod their cars and instantly think that the car can fly is the reason behind many mech failures... simple as that... [laugh]

hey bro... why change ur pic... i see you have installed more stuff in your car... or did you change your car?

by the way... my car not a high performance car... although i always drive it as if it is.... haha.... [:p]

That is the WWE pic. [:p]

My stuff is usually music and better driveability....Still learning from people in this forum.

hey i've seen HKS, BLITZ and TRUST cam pulleys.... from MY workshops.... omg.... it MY.... must be fakes... [laugh]

Ok wait.... could be understanding

You talking about CAM PULLEYS or CRANK PULLEYS??

Forummer "Ladykillerz" is talking about CRANK PULLEYS and I'm replying about his comment on CRANK PULLEYS.

Then I realise you initial comments is about CAM PULLEYS.

CRANK PULLEYS, I've already said what I want to say

CAM PULLEYS? No comments as I didn't research on them.

Edited by Pocus

[laugh] haha...

i guess the modern petrol engine is an extremely complicated machine that all parts need to run in harmony to produce the best drive possible.... so unless the change is a race proven method.... 'ridiculous' mods by less then experienced mechs in our workshops whose main priority is probably to earn $... will cause more damage to our cars...

^_^

Ok wait.... could be understanding

You talking about CAM PULLEYS or CRANK PULLEYS??

Forummer "Ladykillerz" is talking about CRANK PULLEYS and I'm replying about his comment on CRANK PULLEYS.

Then I realise you initial comments is about CAM PULLEYS.

CRANK PULLEYS, I've already said what I want to say

CAM PULLEYS? No comments as I didn't research on them.

Oh OK, I also blur. Kept thinking TS is talking about crank pulleys. He is actually asking CAM pulleys. Never read thread title properly.

If TS is planning to change to adjustable cam pulleys, he can gain a few more ponies for high end, but at the expense of low end. TS can change cams as well for more high end power. But low end will suffer.

omg break?????? must be really hard driving?... stainless steel? more for visual shiok? and smaller?? tune again? :wacko:

yes, it broke on my ride, see this TOPIC

if you intend to do it, get a more reputable, tested and proven brand. It helps the RPM to raise faster as lesser engine power is used to turn the crank pulley. Remember, this do not increase power, it just reduce parasite power loss to the pulley.

Oh OK, I also blur. Kept thinking TS is talking about crank pulleys. He is actually asking CAM pulleys. Never read thread title properly.

If TS is planning to change to adjustable cam pulleys, he can gain a few more ponies for high end, but at the expense of low end. TS can change cams as well for more high end power. But low end will suffer.

hey bro... ur 4WD turbo i guess.. maybe slight turbo lag... then its power all the way up till red line... for an NA car like mine... after some light mods i lost my low end... but the power is not really lost correct? its just gone to the top end correct? so if i do the cams properly for high end... then it should be a massive pull at the top range rpm correct? if change gear too early car will jerk a hard one.... but if smooth right rpm changes at high rev then car should be even more shiok to drive correct?... ^_^

Not exactly though. It depends on what you want. I used to have en E36 318is and did all the mods for high end. Cams, manifold, ECU tuning, flywheel lighten etc.....

gone thru that route but frankly I wasn't exactly happy with the performance. Because everytime I want to accelerate, I have to wait for the RPM to increase because I can feel some power. Same thing with my Turbo lag now. So, I am coming up with something to get rid of the lag......hehe

Actually I was most happy when I own the E39.... Drop in a 2.8L engine and its awesome. Step and go.....

Thats why I said no point wasting your money on these mods. The power you gain is so minute. You spend thousands of dollars and you gain just a miserable 20-30HP or maybe slightly more. In just a short while, you get used to the power and you don't even feel its there.

You want power? Get a supercharger (roots or twinscrew) and run low boost (7-8PSI). This way your engine is safe and you get even better acceleration compared to Turbo or even 2L engine.

Not exactly though. It depends on what you want. I used to have en E36 318is and did all the mods for high end. Cams, manifold, ECU tuning, flywheel lighten etc.....

gone thru that route but frankly I wasn't exactly happy with the performance. Because everytime I want to accelerate, I have to wait for the RPM to increase because I can feel some power. Same thing with my Turbo lag now. So, I am coming up with something to get rid of the lag......hehe

Actually I was most happy when I own the E39.... Drop in a 2.8L engine and its awesome. Step and go.....

Thats why I said no point wasting your money on these mods. The power you gain is so minute. You spend thousands of dollars and you gain just a miserable 20-30HP or maybe slightly more. In just a short while, you get used to the power and you don't even feel its there.

You want power? Get a supercharger (roots or twinscrew) and run low boost (7-8PSI). This way your engine is safe and you get even better acceleration compared to Turbo or even 2L engine.

hmmm... i'm not exactly familiar with superchargers... other than its noisy.... like shhhhhhhhhhhhhhh correct?

i would feel better with a turbo i think... without the whistle sounds... actually you really make sense... spend so much $ but only so little increase.... than i shall stopped wasting $ and maybe save up for a turbo kit... and also save up for the damages the turbo might cause... haha

thanks for our info bro....