Solution to solve rising HDB prices

Wind30

PR or no PR it does not make the different.

there is serious problem with supply to meet demand.

It seems that they dont communicate.

One says more PR, but another is still Bo Chap(dont care)... So demand outstripped supply... Now the Bo chap starts to wake up, but damage already done..Building houses is not like buying grocery, it takes time, average 2 years to build.

its just a guess :

all if not most of the members who posted or replied to this thread do not own a place of your own yet, right ?

becoz if you already bought your unit, you won't be discussing on how to lower the value of your home.

its clear cut demand and supply; a buyer will always hope to get that cheaper buy, whereas a seller will always hope to find that filthily rich willing buyer !!

Friend, so what if your 4rm HDB went up in value to say $1mil if you need to upgrade to 5rm for $1.5mil? Unless you just sell your 4rm and live with your kid but then i doubt your kid can afford a $1mil 4rm HDB without your help.... so it's a LPPL situation

the trick is you sell at 1mil then move to out skirt get 5 room at 0.8million lor.

or you sell at 1mil, Downgrade to 3 room at 0.8 million lor.

the trick is you sell at 1mil then move to out skirt get 5 room at 0.8million lor.

or you sell at 1mil, Downgrade to 3 room at 0.8 million lor.

I tell you what the trick is, sell at $1mil and go Australia buy at 0.5mil. make 1/2 a million easily. Good for quiter like me :D

Edited by Trex101

I tell you what the trick is, sell at $1mil and go Australia buy at 0.5mil. make 1/2 a million easily. Good for quiter like me :D

problem is do they want us whinner?? [:p]

someone wrote to media about a solution, which makes some sense and its feasible to implement:

all buying and selling of resale flats will be handled by HDB. No open market or whatever...

HDB will set the resale price, do the valuations, no agents intervention, no COV......

if there are more than one buyer for the flat, HDB will do balloting....

the problem with the crazy resale prices is due to agents' way of selling the flats... this is the real problem.... we get rid of agents, we will get rid of rising prices......

we buy from HDB, we sell through HDB. the flats belong to HDB in the first place...

1. Increase the number of ppl allowed to buy flat beyond the $8k salary cap will put upward pressure on prices. U sure u want? Furthermore that would mean that more than 80% of ppl will live in HDB. Very unhealthy for a country when more than 80% live in public housing.

I agree - dunt let people who can afford private buy HDB, but the real problem now is that the price of new HDB flats is much too high for 8k household familly.

maid about - 1k (need maid cause 2 parents working + grandparent also got to work)

last time no such thing as maid.... and though prices were lower... but so were the pay

Last time mothers dun have to work, families of 15 can survive on singale income. Now Dual income is needed. how i know? Cause i have 13 uncles and aunties. My Grandma never worked all her life.

Childcare - 1k per kid include pampers n milk

can't comment.. dun have but i last time no childcare though i have 2 working parents and i still turn out fine i am sure pampers n milk wun cost 1k/mth

Again dun talk about last time, last time my mum buy her 3 rm in marine parade for 20k only. U ask any responsible parents weather 1k/mth is needed for a child. How i know although i dun have kids. Cause my niece and nephew child care is 1K/mth/child. this is child care only exclude makan at home buy soup wash hair. How i know again, cause my mother in law is helping this malaysian PR couple take care of 2 children. The older one (3.5yrs old) $700 and the younger one ( 4mths old)1K. This is not about pamper n milk it is about taking care of the child, bring him up with proper education from young. You should have one children then come back and tell me if 1k is enough.

give parents - $600

i tot you say the parent or the child's grandparent is working? so is either maid or grandparent will look after the child.. so is double counting

Give parents as in giving your parents a small token for bring u up. Cause you love them and let them buy candies. You mean you don't give ur parents $$$$$ to spend?

Sorry wrong accounting $600 + $300 (left out my mother-in-law)

Car - 1.2k -

this is a luxury.. if no money take bus... i now taking bus to work too.

Some plp just need a vehicle to work. Just like me i go to work at 3a.m in the morning no cheap public transport in the wee hour. can not expect me to ride bicycle mah.

housing - 1.6k loan 3ook over 30yrs

CPF based on 8k should be sufficient to pay.

I agree should be enough, then what about retirement? Since most of ur CPF goes to house what about ur old age funds? Buy flat at age of 27 finish loan at age 57. Maybe you work for another 10 yrs. retire at 67. 10yrs savings enough?

makan whole family - 1.2k

eat less eat cheaper...

Makan average (whole day 3 meals a day) adult one day $10 one child $5 (so a family of 4, 2 adult + 2 children = $30 average.) 30*30=900. $900 is coffeshop makan then sometimes the kids want happy meal or wife wants to pamper the family go restaurant? So 1.2k is not unreasonable.

misc -$500

have less misc then....

Hp bills ($60 for 2 adluts) cheapest plan, HDB SCC charge ($60) Electric bills( $200), SCV ($30) Internet for surfing MCF ($50), Property tax ($20)= $480 ( if i am wrong correct me)

=$7.1k

left with $900

Rubbish calculation.... playing very hard with numbers to try to prove your point.

I tell ur my personal monthly rubbish calculation(me n wife no kids). Starting from big ticket items like my house to little things like buying toilet pappers.

Hdb flat ($1740) (8mths loan left till ord :wub: )

Car ($1400)

maid ($800) (maid is for my mum)

Personal Insurance ($600)

Give parents both sides ($1000)

Makan and entertainment ($1000)

Misc ($500)

daily ness ($100) soap, darliee, shaving cream, toilet papers.........

total= $7140/mth

exclude travelling and oter luxuries.

So i never pluck the figure out from thin air (this calculation is without kids). i admit i although i live in a HDB my life is quite comfortable.

6. Many of those whining in My Complain Forum dont really have a HDB issue. I suggest ppl hold their tongue. 80% of singaporeans own flats and can make money thru resale. Those newbies are sufferring. Life's unfair. Rock the boat, gahmen support new families, those of us who already own flats will take to the streets.

I agree i have no HDB issue but i feel for the newbies.

I am the newbie... just got married and just shifted into a place of my own last nov but i am not suffering, in fact, i am very comfortable financially..... i bought resale. bought from PR... but i dun give a damn how much he earn... i only care that i paid what i feel is a decent price now. the ex ex owner just came over last week.. she ask how much i bought the place.. i told her the price then she say like that the PR earn.. i told her... of cuz lar..... you sell that time you also earn mah....

so if dun want to earn then dun sell lor..... dun sell then PR no place to buy.... simple right.... it mostly all boils down to greed of human.... regardless of PR or SGP

someone wrote to media about a solution, which makes some sense and its feasible to implement:

all buying and selling of resale flats will be handled by HDB. No open market or whatever...

HDB will set the resale price, do the valuations, no agents intervention, no COV......

the problem with the crazy resale prices is due to agents' way of selling the flats... this is the real problem.... we get rid of agents, we will get rid of rising prices......

we buy from HDB, we sell through HDB. the flats belong to HDB in the first place...

do you know that valuation of HDB flats are solely control by HDB?

My friends working as a valuator mention that they are given a list of price every month. they only variable is only aroudn 10K. beyong that, they have to write report and request for HDB to approve before sending you the valuated price.

This i agree. Cause i bought my 5rm punggol for 200k 7years ago. Although i am sitting on a profit of 250k i have no intention of selling. Great idea buy from hdb sell back to hdb. Public housing anyway

do you know that valuation of HDB flats are solely control by HDB?

My friends working as a valuator mention that they are given a list of price every month. they only variable is only aroudn 10K. beyong that, they have to write report and request for HDB to approve before sending you the valuated price.

Yeah of coz i know that.

but the main culripts are the bloody agents..... they just anyhow whack a COV over the valuation price and hope that some suckers will bite.... and obviously we have ALOT of suckers in SG....

so if HDB takes over the entire resale market, its alot more transparent. HDB fixed the valued price and sells at that price. everyone can see it very transparent.

Any grievences, HDB will kena from the public.....

isn't it a better idea than the current situation??

now in the current situation, ppl are blaming each other.... agents blame the market, HDB blames the agents, market blames HDB........

Sadly there seems to be none....

No matter what we say,comment,suggest...Ah Kong would like to do their things their way.......

Looks like no choice...

Want stay here ....

Keep quiet and be a good boy???

I think thats the case.... [bigcry] [bigcry] [bigcry] [bigcry]

My colleague told me this when she bought a flat recently.

She dealt directly with the owner who asked for 35k COV which she bargained down to 30k. She also found some ads online for the same unit and called up agents who placed them. Guess what, the agents asked for 50k COV or more for the same unit! My colleague double check with the owner who confirmed that she did not gave that instruction to those agents.

So it looks like there are rouge agents trying to jack up prices themselves. I guess that is to be expected.

Yeah of coz i know that.

but the main culripts are the bloody agents..... they just anyhow whack a COV over the valuation price and hope that some suckers will bite.... and obviously we have ALOT of suckers in SG....

so if HDB takes over the entire resale market, its alot more transparent. HDB fixed the valued price and sells at that price. everyone can see it very transparent.

Any grievences, HDB will kena from the public.....

isn't it a better idea than the current situation??

now in the current situation, ppl are blaming each other.... agents blame the market, HDB blames the agents, market blames HDB........

Main culprit are still the greedy owner. Agents are just the chemical reactions.

this will make ppl hate HDB more.....

ppl are already screwing them for setting the new HBD prices in such a ways liao

they dun need to have another problem with setting resale prices HBD flats

in the current system, they can just push all the blame to "market forces" when in fact they can control the market demands...

Main culprit are still the greedy owner. Agents are just the chemical reactions.

yeah, so when this proposed idea, we eliminate all greed....

everything will be transparent....

this will make ppl hate HDB more.....

ppl are already screwing them for setting the new HBD prices in such a ways liao

they dun need to have another problem with setting resale prices HBD flats

in the current system, they can just push all the blame to "market forces" when in fact they can control the market demands...

so do we want to hate HDB more or we want to keep on paying highly inflated prices???

choose one.....