Driver of red chevrolet S*S1740 (red plate)

Rooneytoon

wow, u must be such a persistant hogger, everyday kena cut many times, until need to get DVR .

haha

Good what. From my old Hyundai until today, don't know how many free cosmetic upgrades already. All paid by the impatient people who wanna "teach me a lesson". So I don't mind driving in 90km/h in lane one.

No DVR no proof. Got DVR 99% win. $400+ for 99% free damage claims from the other guy's insurance.

For those who think they are not hogging when driving at speed limit, there is also a law that said, Keep Left Unless Overtaking. If you think that your licence is in danger, then stick to the limit but stay out of lane 1, the fast lane. Let the daredevils risk their licence. I have witness many times accident happening becos one party wants to overtake but had to filter to left lane, another driver on the slower lane slammed into the overtaking vehicle. What irks me is that the cause of the accident, the hogger, normally got of scot free leaving the other two to settle the damage and TP would usually just wave the hoggers to the left but will summon anyone caught speeding.

Aiyah! This arguement has been going since the beginning of time and NO satisfactory resolution has EVER been reached. The fact remains that hoggers have a certain mannerism that is selfish to the core. You can bet that in an accident like the one you described above, the hogger will simply looked shocked and say "What, ME??? The cause of the accident?? Who ask you to speed in the first place?" This skewed form of reasoning stems from an ego so immense, that he/she fails to comprehend the very basic principal of "Keep Left Unless Overtaking"

This skewed form of reasoning stems from an ego so immense, that he/she fails to comprehend the very basic principal of "Keep Left Unless Overtaking"

Which is funny because the moment I mention "I drive at 90km/h on Lane 1" I get called a road hogger. :D

You are evil!!! But seriously, driving at 90km/h on lane 1 is ok if

1. You are trying to overtake lane 2's car who is driving <90km/h

2. The whole stretch of lane 1's cars are travelling at 90km/h

If there's no car in front of you on lane 1 and an ambulance is right behind you, would you give way? Think of others who ferries any sick person in their private cars. Just give way to those who are faster than you for god damn s--t. :D

Aiyah! This arguement has been going since the beginning of time and NO satisfactory resolution has EVER been reached. The fact remains that hoggers have a certain mannerism that is selfish to the core. You can bet that in an accident like the one you described above, the hogger will simply looked shocked and say "What, ME??? The cause of the accident?? Who ask you to speed in the first place?" This skewed form of reasoning stems from an ego so immense, that he/she fails to comprehend the very basic principal of "Keep Left Unless Overtaking"

I second that :D

You are evil!!! But seriously, driving at 90km/h on lane 1 is ok if

1. You are trying to overtake lane 2's car who is driving <90km/h

2. The whole stretch of lane 1's cars are travelling at 90km/h

If there's no car in front of you on lane 1 and an ambulance is right behind you, would you give way? Think of others who ferries any sick person in their private cars. Just give way to those who are faster than you for god damn s--t. :D

Thank you for using some brains!

I only said I drive at 90km/h on lane one, but I never stated ALL THE TIME. Kudos for those with sharp reading skills. [laugh]

Good what. From my old Hyundai until today, don't know how many free cosmetic upgrades already. All paid by the impatient people who wanna "teach me a lesson". So I don't mind driving in 90km/h in lane one.

Many accidents before? Are you very suay, and keep on encounter gangsters on road?

anyway, this is not directed to you, but i can't stand people who like to provoke others into accidents just because they got camera, or if not, cut into lane and jam brake thinking that "u bang me, u sala and u will pay for my repairs. claim u gao gao!"

in my opinion, there is no winner and loser in an accident, even if one party claims the other 100%. One day you will encounter one siao lang, he bang you push you into tree or railing, your car flip and you and family can claim him 100% from the underworld....

drive safe and defensively!!!!!

Many accidents before? Are you very suay, and keep on encounter gangsters on road?

anyway, this is not directed to you, but i can't stand people who like to provoke others into accidents just because they got camera, or if not, cut into lane and jam brake thinking that "u bang me, u sala and u will pay for my repairs. claim u gao gao!"

in my opinion, there is no winner and loser in an accident, even if one party claims the other 100%. One day you will encounter one siao lang, he bang you push you into tree or railing, your car flip and you and family can claim him 100% from the underworld....

drive safe and defensively!!!!!

I had 2 major big ones (needed panel beating at least) and several less severe ones (bumper crushed, lights smashed). Had quite a lot of headlight bumper style changes because of that. [laugh]

No worries, my camera is only there should I encounter with drivers who cut-lane-jam-brake (which I encountered many times, but that's because my previous job needed a lot of road time, now fewer cause I have a desk-based job). I had DVR's installed after my first major rear-ending which the taxi driver tried to claim from my insurance. Fought damn hard to stop him from doing it (I was lucky as I had my colleague in the passenger seat to testify)..

Therefore I justified my DVR purchase as a "friend" who's always with me in the car, of course the "good friend" type lah.. choy...

Here we are again lamblasting the TS for "road hogging". Seeing as there are so many replies that are slamming the TS, one could come to the mistaken conclusion that the replies are from learned drivers who actually know what they are talking about, rather than just jumping on the bandwagon and taking a potshot at him. So before I take aim and slam him as well, I figured that it was only fair to him that I understand exactly what "road hogging" is.

Therefore, to these learned drivers, let me ask you what the definition of "road hogging" is?

I didn't really know so I checked it out. The big Google machine is there for some purpose after all.

I found out that the term "road hogging" refers to a vehicle that takes up more than one lane. So on a one way 2 lane road, if I drive right in the middle, I am considered to be a road hogger. Whether I straddle lanes 3 and 2 or lanes 2 and 1 on a 3 lane road, I am road hogging. It doesn't have to be an expressway. Hmm... looks like TS doesn't fall into that category. Ok, so he is not that type of road hogger.

I also found out that "road hogging" also refers to travelling much slower than the speed limit such that you impede traffic flow, say more than 20kph BELOW the posted speed limit (e.g. in Australia, it is an offence to travel at less than 90kph on a 110kph freeway).

Re-reading his post again, I felt he certainly doesn't fall into the 2nd category either, as he was tavelling at the posted speed limit. In fact, I doubt very much that the police would book him for driving at the speed limit in lane 1 as he wasn't (i) blocking an emergency vehicle, (ii) driving like a road hogger.

No where do I see that driving at the speed limit is construed as "road hogging".

I was so looking forward to hurling insults at the TS and f***ing him for road hogging but from his account, he wasn't actually doing that.

So not so learned after all then.

Dang, there must be something I can f*** him for right!!!?

Oh yeah, it's for a "failure to keep left unless overtaking".

But hey, if he's going at the speed limit but not keeping left (assuming it's empty on the left), and I want to go faster than him (i.e. exceeding the speed limit), can I fairly f*** him? What moral high ground do I have to do that seeing as I am breaking the law by exceeding the speed limit?

What do you think?

Can he be more considerate and keep left? Yes he can. Can I be more considerate and not speed? Mais oui bien sur (but yes of course). I do find it hard to believe the argument that everyone is rushing to see someone on their death bed. Certainly not at 7.25am in the morning when there are more manic parents on the road sending their kids to school and are already late.

So now I have totally lost all interest in f***ing him for "road hogging" so I'll just write this:

TS, please keep left unless overtaking. I'm sure it'll help.

And for the rest who have slammed him for "road hogging", you don't really have a leg to stand on.

Speed limit applies to all lanes. [rolleyes] Unless Singapore has magically introduced a Autobahn lane on ALL roads hor? Don't remember seeing such news in the news paper.

are you one of those who travel 90km/hr in lane 1 on the expressway?

the "oh i am travelling at the MAX speed limit already, therefore i am not road hogging" mentality.

...for the rest who have slammed him for "road hogging", you don't really have a leg to stand on.

Very well written Bummer. Just want to add in some details that you have left out.

As advised, a simple google on the term 'roadhog' will throw up several definitions. The primary and common one across all sites is "a driver who obstructs others". Here's the link:

Google 'roadhog definition'

A driver can obstruct others in many ways, two of which you have described, but surely 'obstruction' is not limited to those two descriptions.

A quick check on the SPF-TP website shows that hindering or obstructing traffic flow remains an offence which carries a penalty of 4 demerit points. Here's the link:

dips

Looks like it's considered as serious as exceeding the speed limit by 20km/h.

Apparently, this kind of road-hogging behaviour is not only prevalent in Singapore. Here's an article describing such anti-social behaviour in the States and how their authorities are dealing with it:

Roadhog tickets

Well, I think there are some basis why so many different posters have been blasting the TS in this thread. Their grievances may not exactly be groundless. [wave]

Edited by Littlered

And people who think 70km/h in lane 1 is hogging are...?

Either damn pro or just have no balls to reach 110km/h.

Talk big in forums, might not even have car in real life.

Too poor to own a car, borrow parent's car.

Some elitist b------d who can do anything cause he can afford everything. [laugh]

Someone who can bluff his way through the Basic Theory test... speed limit sign also cannot read... makes you wonder how useless the license is...

[sleeping][sleeping][sleeping]

Littlered,

I agree with you that obstructing traffic is not entirely limited to those descriptions I put up, however, with reference to "road hogging", those two descriptions are exactly what the term refers to.

The article you linked to in the North County Times, refers solely to the freeway and for the failure of keeping right (US style). Nowhere does it refer to road hogging.

The fact that you can be cited in the US for keeping to the speed limit on the fastest lane of the expressway is due to the failure to keep right (edited - removed left) and not for road hogging.

The article quotes Harrison, "The guy sitting out there doing 65 mph, with his car set on cruise control, is actually posing a greater danger than the guy talking on his cell phone doing 90 because that guy at least knows what is happening around him," Harrison said. "But the guy going 65 has no clue that he is backing up traffic for two or three miles behind him."

Seriously, it is suspicious how credible a source this person is or how 'good' a rag NC Times is, as I am very sure that his comparison of someone driving at 65mph on cruise control to the guy speaking on his cell while going at 90mph is invalid and quite ludicrous. They could have just interviewed the California Highway Patrol if they were really serious about informing the public instead of a driving school. If the prevailing speed on the expressway is the way to go, then they might as well remove all the limit signs and let everyone determine what that prevailing speed is. Save them a bunch of money and time. I also find it odd that the prevailing speed when a TP is around suddenly reduces to be the speed limit. Go figure!

A long time ago, I wrote to the TP regarding travelling at the speed limit on lane 1 of the expressway and if that constituted road hogging. I don't have the reply any more but IIRC, they replied that road hogging is obstructing vehicles by going slowly or by occupying more than one lane. They also added that all vehicles should keep left and give way to emergency vehicles and all overtaking vehicles should do so without breaking the speed limit. I never bothered to follow up on asking them who they would book first - speedster or some guy driving at the limit and failing to keep left.

Maybe someone here could write to them to get an update?

Edited by Bummer

If everyone follow rules strictly, no speeding, no tailgating. There'll probably be less jams due to accidents. However, nothing is perfect in this world, especially humans.

no need to do so much googling on the defination of road-hogging.

i will define road hogging for everyone :

when

the distance between your car and the car infront of you, is more than the distance between your car and the the car behind you

= your road hogging

simple

pls move left , or close up the gap

no need to do so much googling on the defination of road-hogging.

i will define road hogging for everyone :

when

the distance between your car and the car infront of you, is more than the distance between your car and the the car behind you

= your road hogging

simple

pls move left , or close up the gap

i love your definition. concise & frank. [thumbsup]

bottom line is, we should give way if we see a car coming up fast behind us, knowing we can't keep to his/her speed. we don't know why he/she is at such a speed, but it should matter little to us as the driver must have his/her reason.

who cares if he/she is above speed limit, leave that task to the TP! [:)]

Mr_b20, et al:

It is precisely the kind of viewpoint that you have and the way you put it across that isn't very convincing. Since you have so kindly defined it for everyone (that's a lot of people), let me ask you something about your definition then:

"when

= your road hogging"

1. Does this mean that the car following should dictate the gap for the car in front? In other words, if the car following is 10m behind me, I should be 9.9m behind the guy in front who should be 9.8m behind the car in front and so on... so that your definition of "road hogging" does not occur.

2. So if you have a long line of cars, with each one in front getting successively closer than the one behind, at some point in time, you would have two cars touch nose to tail right?

If we leave speeding to the TP, we should also leave "road hogging" (as defined for everyone by Mr_b20) to the TP as well. Let the TP handle everything lah. No need to get uptight. Just drive any way you want (just don't get caught - which seems to be the mentality here).

Who cares about signalling? I only care that if I put on my hazard lights, I can stop anywhere I like. Everyone else can drive around me. I want to get ahead, so I will weave in and out of traffic. Who cares if the guy at the back jams brake because of my weaving? I'm still in front of him mah. I win liao. But I don't see that weaving causes cars to brake to avoid me thus causing more jams. Who cares about getting into the lane early to exit? I am expert, last minute from lane 1 cut to exit can already! Who cares leaving kids unbelted and standing up? My kids what? Not yours. Sure won't kenna accident one lah. Who cares about tailgating? My car zheng super Brembo 6 pot front and 4 pot rear, sure can brake from 100 to zero in 2 meters. Better than Lambo man! Don't play play.

I observe this every day. Does this mean that our drivers here suck at driving safely and with consideration? Are we a first world country with third world drivers?

If you reflect that those who fail to keep left are selfish and have an ego, then those who also want to go faster but cannot due to those who fail to keep left are also selfish and have an ego.

I want to go faster, I want you to get out of my way, better f*** off otherwise I will label you as a "hogger". I I I <- so many 'I's.

Sama sama leh.

Give and take and overtake lah... live longer, lower blood pressure. Heh heh [:p]