Looking to change tires for my civic

Silklee

Was quoted $214 (before GST) ea for bridgestone GR90 by Kah Motors.

Is that a good price?

Any other shops that I should pay a visit to? what about doing it in JB?

Was reading other threads and seems like quite a few talks about the RE001 and RE11. Are they very much more expensive and better?

Sorry if my questions sound very newbie cos its my first drive and thus my first time changing tires.

Check at tyre and rim thread. There are many discussion and recommendation on different tyre.

To change the tyre, you need to what type of tyre you want. Comfort/quiet or performance tyre.

The last thing I will do is change the tyre with the AD service center, prepare to be chop by them.

Is that a good price?

Was reading other threads and seems like quite a few talks about the RE001 and RE11. Are they very much more expensive and better?

Sorry if my questions sound very newbie cos its my first drive and thus my first time changing tires.

===============

Doing anything at Agent wil always b more ex than getting it outside.

The tire u getting GR90 is a new model & is selling at a premium.

U can get better tires for that price if u look around.

Check the threads here for a better deal.

For good grip, I recommend Michelin PP2. Another tire is Yokohama A Drive R1. Cheaper but also good grip. I am using this tire now.

GR 90 is a silent tire with decent wet/dry grip but price is [sweatdrop]

Is that a good price?

its not a good price. i am sure you can get a better price outside.

Is that a good price?

My frnd changed his honda civic tyres at Teh Guan for $140 - Sumitomo HTR H4 (MIJ) before CNY. Was quoted $150 for Dunlop VE301 (MIJ) but went for Sumitomo cos of the tread..

Is that a good price?

What is your tyre size?

BTW, i've never liked Michelin PP2 as they are just above average tires for the high price. Noise levels and wet/dry grip are just average. And you pay a premium for the Michelin. PP2 made in Thailand right?

Yrs the latest model?

If latest shld be 205/55/16

what u looking for in yr tyres?

performance or comfort?

performance = more grip but noisy

Edited by Mugen85

Stock rims, thus 16 inch tyres.

================

U can get Michelin PP2, 205/50/16 for about $165 each. If u want more comfort, try Michelin XM1.

I using Yokohama A Drive R1 205/45/16. Only about $115 each.

Why u want to pay so much to agent for your tires?

I was there for something else so I just enquired.

Will ask around for a better price.

I think what I am looking for will be more for comfort, since I am using it as a family car.

Try Korean tires. Was on Kumho when I was driving Honda Accord. After 10k, noise still acceptable. Honda sound insulation are quite good. so dun wori abt tire noise. Hankook i heard is good too for comfort. Shld go to shc-forum n see wat type of tires the civics like to change to.

Sumitomo only $130

Dunlop - only $140

I am trading in my accord with PI for new car. I have newly Bridgestone RE001 tyres done 15% (225/55/16). Still can see the red and yellow dots at side tyres (never patch). Interest to swap your old tyres for only $300 for 4pc or offer? RE001 is sport tyres for best wet performace and offer quietness still. I love it better than GR80 that I have been used before.

Edited by Beachboy7718

Is that a good price?

WA LAN LEH, DUN KENNA CUT CARROT HEAD BY THOSE AGENT . we driver are not carrot, DUN ALWAY TRY TO CUT OUR HEAD LOL.

b/s gr90 is a very new and high end tyre , but 214 b4 gst is taking a parlang tou , chopping ppl head liao LOL .

lucky u ask here , we driveRS need to stand up and make a stand we will not be chop by agent . YEAH .