2nd hand V50 worth it?

Lolex_king

considering to get a 4~5yr old V50 for between $50~60k ..

in terms of reliability is it safe?

also, with OMV averaging $33~34k .. is it worth it?

normal maintenance and servicing wise .. what's the damage?

yep, i'm driving the T5.

why not consider the T5 instead of the 2.4i? road tax and FC (abt 8km/l 90% city driving) abt the same and cost onli a few k more used. but the diff in driving pleasure is like night and day plus u get better specs i.e twin-scroll turbo, full traction control (the 2.4i doesn't hv the active yaw control), higher OMV, etc. the reliability on mine has been tops and servicing is easily done at many places outside for not much more than what it costs for a jap exec car. and insurance is cheap too (most insurers do not make a diff between the non-turbo 2.4i and the T5).

serious??? most insurer don't differentiate between 2.4i and T5 ???

if true can consider liao .. coz my NCD kena reset .. now only 10% ...

do you know roughly the body value of a v50?

appreciate your inputs and advice so far .. :)

body value prob 5-7k if u trade-in to ah beng dealer specialising in mass market car like corolla or sunny type. but unless you are a dealer, pls dun expect to buy off any wowo owner at that price hor. as a ref, i was offered abt $15k above paper as a trade in to another conti.

yep, i'm driving the T5.

why not consider the T5 instead of the 2.4i? road tax and FC (abt 8km/l 90% city driving) abt the same and cost onli a few k more used. but the diff in driving pleasure is like night and day plus u get better specs i.e twin-scroll turbo, full traction control (the 2.4i doesn't hv the active yaw control), higher OMV, etc. the reliability on mine has been tops and servicing is easily done at many places outside for not much more than what it costs for a jap exec car. and insurance is cheap too (most insurers do not make a diff between the non-turbo 2.4i and the T5).

Bro, u remember me? I'm driving T5 now too...share yr lobangs for cheap servicing/parts please!! Do you use Zenith Motor? I ask because its near my office.

looking at 2.4i ..

you driving a T5?

what's the running cost of a volvo like? servicing .. FC .. reliability ..??

Like you, I was initially looking at even another make A4 Avant 1.8T but saw a V50 2.4i beside the Avant. The Avant wanted 20K more in selling price so I compared OMVs and its only $4K more. Later, did more research and realised the fun of T5...no regrets, used car sure needs some small $$$ here and there to get it tiptop unless you don't give a damn like my current colleague who drives a KIA RIO...steering wheel shake until the passenger side can feel vibrations, still don't want to pay $$$ for balancing. Saves his $$$ for other things, I will try to never sit in his car as its a road hazard!!!

Edited by GDIzen

Like you, I was initially looking at even another make A4 Avant 1.8T but saw a V50 2.4i beside the Avant. The Avant wanted 20K more in selling price so I compared OMVs and its only $4K more. Later, did more research and realised the fun of T5...no regrets, used car sure needs some small $$$ here and there to get it tiptop unless you don't give a damn like my current colleague who drives a KIA RIO...steering wheel shake until the passenger side can feel vibrations, still don't want to pay $$$ for balancing. Saves his $$$ for other things, I will try to never sit in his car as its a road hazard!!!

bro, so you bought a used T5 also ??

insurance leh?? anywhere near the same as the 2.4i??

$7.5k depreciation for a used v50 2.4i reasonable??

Bro, u remember me? I'm driving T5 now too...share yr lobangs for cheap servicing/parts please!! Do you use Zenith Motor? I ask because its near my office.

tink so. u bought the '08 V50 T5? i used zenith b4, cheaper than SM but still not considered cheap-cheap. if u go to volvosgclub, u can find the lobangs there. for me, no major replacements so far as my T5 has been very well behaved.

bro, i'd suggest u test drive a T5 b4 deciding on the 2.4i. many ppl who got the 2.4i regretted. i mean, would u buy an impreza 2.0R if the WRX cost juz a few k more? btw, i got my T5 for 8k/yr so u can decide if 7.5k for the 2.4i is worth it. [;)]

Edited by Soya

Yep ard 1.3K only/yr, think my T5 dep is ard that figure as OMV higher.

bro, i'd suggest u test drive a T5 b4 deciding on the 2.4i. many ppl who got the 2.4i regretted. i mean, would u buy an impreza 2.0R if the WRX cost juz a few k more? btw, i got my T5 for 8k/yr so u can decide if 7.5k for the 2.4i is worth it. [;)]

Agree with Soya, initially test drove the 2.4i but found it wanting of more horsies so testdrove T5 and WOWWEE!!!! [laugh]

Edited by GDIzen

tink so. u bought the '08 V50 T5? i used zenith b4, cheaper than SM but still not considered cheap-cheap. if u go to volvosgclub, u can find the lobangs there. for me, no major replacements so far as my T5 has been very well behaved.

Nope, mine's older than the car I sold by 1/2yr, its 3yrs+ so pre-facelift, I heard frm VolvoSG forum that the 08 models AC had a clicking noise when driving due to the temp sensor working...not sure if accurate or not?

mine ard $1k onli which incl zero excess and NCD protector wif AXA. and that's after the recent steep insurance hikes. i reckon that's considered damn cheap to insure for a TC car.

Hi guys,

Sorry to dig up this old thread. I'm also looking to switch to my first wowo.

V50 T5

Just wish to check how is the maintenance like? FC I'm not worried. Planning to drive this car for 3 yrs or to scrap.

Need advise from owners here as volvo forum can't join. Thanks!

Around June 2009, my friend sold away the same model for S$69K when it is only 2.5yrs old.

mileage less than 28,000km.

Per litre around 8 to 9km.

Parts can buy from stockist (Unico) or the volvo forum guy called danny which is much more cheaper.

Edited by Mcf777