Ghostrider 3rd Gear March 5, 2010 Share March 5, 2010 Even if I am going beyond speed limit....if the car behind is faster....give way. Simple rule...simple logic...but why so many cannot understand and do it ? Very hard to understand meh ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear March 6, 2010 Share March 6, 2010 I don't see the need in Singapore road to to give way. It's not really road hogging if there are a long line of cars in front of me! The rear car CANNOT demand that lane1 cars all give way to him! A road hogger is someone who keeps side by side with the lane2 cars, and a big gap of at least 100meters to the car in front. But it will not happen in Singapore as the road are usually packed, and lane1 cars are stuck to follow the long line of cars infront. If you talk about road hogging in other country where the road are long and cars are spaced out further distance, then the road hogging case might be reAsonable. I think there is no way to call a car roadhogging in the day time when the traffic is heavy and overtaking is not going to bring u to your destination faster! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 6, 2010 Share March 6, 2010 (edited) I don't see the need in Singapore road to to give way. It's not really road hogging if there are a long line of cars in front of me! The rear car CANNOT demand that lane1 cars all give way to him! A road hogger is someone who keeps side by side with the lane2 cars, and a big gap of at least 100meters to the car in front. But it will not happen in Singapore as the road are usually packed, and lane1 cars are stuck to follow the long line of cars infront. If you talk about road hogging in other country where the road are long and cars are spaced out further distance, then the road hogging case might be reAsonable. I think there is no way to call a car roadhogging in the day time when the traffic is heavy and overtaking is not going to bring u to your destination faster! i think Throttle2 did told us to replace stupidity with Leepee... now i know why. Edited March 6, 2010 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic March 6, 2010 Share March 6, 2010 (edited) I don't see the need in Singapore road to to give way. It's not really road hogging if there are a long line of cars in front of me! The rear car CANNOT demand that lane1 cars all give way to him! A road hogger is someone who keeps side by side with the lane2 cars, and a big gap of at least 100meters to the car in front. But it will not happen in Singapore as the road are usually packed, and lane1 cars are stuck to follow the long line of cars infront. If you talk about road hogging in other country where the road are long and cars are spaced out further distance, then the road hogging case might be reAsonable. I think there is no way to call a car roadhogging in the day time when the traffic is heavy and overtaking is not going to bring u to your destination faster! The reason you have a long line of cars all tooling along in Lane 1 is exactly because everyone thought the same way. First car is an unrepentant road-hog (think Wayward or Honeybuns) who doesn't think he needs to give way in Lane 1 because he thinks he's following his notion of the law. The second car thinks like you do - there's a car in front of me, so why should I yield? Then another car joins the procession, and so forth. It's like mathematical induction - a long chain of inconsiderate idiots form one behind the other all thinking the same way. What I would do (what I've done) in this case, is, if I see a guy coming up fast behind me, I would put my signal to the left, and move over the first chance I get. Too bad if the poor chap gets stuck behind the idiots who refuse to move out of lane 1 - at least I've done my part to alleviate the situation. So learn to be more considerate- there may be a real emergency for the chap behind, and, even if not all the cars hogging lane 1 give way, he'll find it easier to undertake a short line of cars than a long one. Come to think of it, in a hogger's mind, there is absolutely no circumstance under which he would feel compelled to leave his lane (other than to exit the e'way). If there's a car in front of him, too bad, he's just following traffic, ma! If there's no car in front of him and lane 2 is clear, "speedster" can undertake, ma! Really fantastic - hoggers have really got it made. Edited March 6, 2010 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear March 6, 2010 Share March 6, 2010 Do you give way on Lane 1 if already at speed limit? Please state your arguments in logical order. Flame posts by speedsters not allowed. Note: This is only for constructive posts stating your arguments whether to give way or not and why. This is a question only HOPELESS drivers will ask... tsk tsk.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 6, 2010 Share March 6, 2010 Honeyboy, so how?? are you going to continue road hogging?? Also have you figure out what you are driving?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear March 6, 2010 Share March 6, 2010 i know what he drives!... he drives ppl up the wall.... tsk tsk... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vogelspinen Neutral Newbie March 6, 2010 Share March 6, 2010 One day, when one of your "gym mates" needs to be rushed by you to the hospital, and you are fervently trying to horn that auntie driving at 90km/h in front of you, and its impossible to cut from the left, then you will understand. You will feel so torn that the very road-hogger you are, is now the reason you can't feel your appendage in your gym mate's Gluteus Maximus ever again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear March 6, 2010 Share March 6, 2010 Lane split lah. What's the big deal. Hogging or not just give a couple of blows from your throttle and lane split the bugger. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear March 6, 2010 Share March 6, 2010 I don't see the need in Singapore road to to give way. It's not really road hogging if there are a long line of cars in front of me! The rear car CANNOT demand that lane1 cars all give way to him! A road hogger is someone who keeps side by side with the lane2 cars, and a big gap of at least 100meters to the car in front. But it will not happen in Singapore as the road are usually packed, and lane1 cars are stuck to follow the long line of cars infront. If you talk about road hogging in other country where the road are long and cars are spaced out further distance, then the road hogging case might be reAsonable. I think there is no way to call a car roadhogging in the day time when the traffic is heavy and overtaking is not going to bring u to your destination faster! I don't see the need in Singapore road to to drive in Lane1, unless for overtaking. It's not really allowing anyone to drive faster since cars in Lane2 are generally already driving near the speed limit anyway! The front car CANNOT assume that just because he/she is travelling at the speed limit in Lane1, that excuses him/her from not giving way to a faster vehicle! A road hogger is someone who thinks he/she don't need to give way to a faster moving vehicle behind him/her. Period And it is happening in Singapore as the road are usually packed with selfish people like LeePee and honeyboy If you talk about road hogging in other country where the road are long and cars are spaced out further distance, it's even less reasonable as the roads are so wide. I think there is a sure way to call a car roadhogging at anytime when that roadhogger tries to justify he/she not giving way by assuming he/she 'knows best' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear March 6, 2010 Share March 6, 2010 One day, when one of your "gym mates" needs to be rushed by you to the hospital, and you are fervently trying to horn that auntie driving at 90km/h in front of you, and its impossible to cut from the left, then you will understand. You will feel so torn that the very road-hogger you are, is now the reason you can't feel your appendage in your gym mate's Gluteus Maximus ever again. Err... not true hor. KPE limit : 70 km/hr ECP @ Rochor exit: 70/80 km/hr I think some parts of other expressways are also at 80 km/hr only hor... Worse still when they filter out to normal roads ... 50km/hr And please, the auntie is not road hogging hor .... dun believe, ask honeyboy/Leepee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvinlev Neutral Newbie March 6, 2010 Share March 6, 2010 What had happened to the previous road hogging thread? cannot find after I last post yesterday morning, deleted by mod? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 6, 2010 Share March 6, 2010 What had happened to the previous road hogging thread? cannot find after I last post yesterday morning, deleted by mod? Bro.. explore the website a bit lah.. http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...p;#entry3063736 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvinlev Neutral Newbie March 6, 2010 Share March 6, 2010 Paiseh.............. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched March 6, 2010 Share March 6, 2010 Paiseh.............. Unaware of surroundings.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reivad Neutral Newbie March 6, 2010 Share March 6, 2010 I always travel on lane 2. Only if the car in front of me is travelling at below 10km/h lower than the speed limit do I use lane 1 to overtake. Then I immediately go back to lane 2. Following speed limit and not road hogging. Quite simple what. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvinlev Neutral Newbie March 6, 2010 Share March 6, 2010 Don't worry, If Im at lane one cursing at 120, If I see a Chery ( just an example) coming from behind fast, I will give way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 6, 2010 Share March 6, 2010 I always travel on lane 2. Only if the car in front of me is travelling at below 10km/h lower than the speed limit do I use lane 1 to overtake. Then I immediately go back to lane 2. Following speed limit and not road hogging. Quite simple what. if only Leepee, Edwards and Honey boy is like you... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...